BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 0d, 5h, 56m | CPU: 40% | MEM: 2235MB of 3413MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Change Windows XP/2k3 build tag        Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:40 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
I know how to enable/disable desktop build tag in XP and 2k3 but i dont know how to change it. Anybody know how is it possible?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:45 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I'd say have a look at win32k.sys.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:25 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
you can use tweaknt to add a timebomb. make the timebomb 10 years not 180 days, you should be fine. If you don't want it anymore, just remove it again.

this is the easiest way I would say.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 12:23 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
XDude wrote:
you can use tweaknt to add a timebomb. make the timebomb 10 years not 180 days, you should be fine. If you don't want it anymore, just remove it again.

this is the easiest way I would say.
You havent understood me. It will enable the timebomb and the description on desktop will apear but i want to change this what is written there.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
This isn't the easiest way to display the version on the desktop:

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/windows2000serv/reskit/regentry/81207.mspx?mfr=true

EDIT: here's the reg key for anyone wanting it:

Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop]
"PaintDesktopVersion"=dword:00000001


Also, I think it might be ntoskrnl.exe that the build tag is taken from in XP, and others

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Last edited by hounsell on Wed Jul 18, 2007 9:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:58 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yes, PaintDesktopVersion needs to be set to 1 and that's it. But how to change what it is displaying? win32k.sys should be a first start.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:07 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
How would you edit it? Opening it in Notepad only comes up with jibborish.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
mdogg wrote:
How would you edit it? Opening it in Notepad only comes up with jibborish.

Erm... ever heard of a hex editor? Or a resource editor?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:39 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
notepad wont work, you would endend up with a unreadable exe
When you edit, you can change the letters and numbers, but you cannot add or remove any lettering/numbers. This will shift all the codes after it causing the file to corrupt.
This might stop you from doing what you want to do.
In the other hand, a resources editor could allow changes to the file that wonld not cause corruption. It maybe easiler to use and manage, but might now have what you are looking for. It's mainly resign for exracting and editing bitmaps, icons and other UI of the file.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:45 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:21 am

Posts
112
It's possible that you can edit with a resources editor, but unlikely (usually resource text is there for easy localization, and these build strings probably don't need it). Perhaps, if you have a shorter build string, you can fill in the extra character spots with spaces. I'm at a loss as to how to make it longer, however.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:53 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:10 pm

Posts
139

Location
Germania
I have modded my win32k.sys

Original was : Windows Server 2003 Enterprise now it looks better.

Image

If you edit the win32k.sys try to change the checksum to the correct with this tool : modpe081

Im not sure if this tool is required but without it the file would be damaged, also the file was corrupted as I have used resource hacker, If you edit it use resource tuner not reshacker

btw.: shicétools like samurize or other buildtag tools with an external process sucking :P


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:10 pm 
Reply with quote
nice Rhade :)

ill have to get that tool.. i need to edit my tag xD


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS