BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 1d, 20h, 0m | CPU: 33% | MEM: 1850MB of 4291MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: XP EXPLORER.EXE using to much ram        Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 7:03 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am

Posts
520

Location
Glendale KY USA
Is there a way for explorer from using so much ram?


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 7:26 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
How much RAM is too much?

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 8:47 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am

Posts
520

Location
Glendale KY USA
If I can get it to 3 to 7 mb tops will be great


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Thats the normal size yes, but what is it using now?

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:39 pm 
Reply with quote
dirtwarrior wrote:
If I can get it to 3 to 7 mb tops will be great


that will require not having any browser windows open. you should look into alternative shells if more than 10mb used is problematic. a vanilla setup of aston still may use 20-30mb, but it won't increase much with multiple windows.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:40 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
My Explorer.exe is using 14,820KB at the moment, 2FF windows, Outlook and Task Manager.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:50 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am

Posts
520

Location
Glendale KY USA
It uses about 15 mb with IE open and about the same when closed. Do you think cleaning the prefetch then disable it will help?


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:19 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
15MB isnt all that much and I wouldn't worry about it to be honest. Ive seen it at 40MB+ before.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:03 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:14 pm

Posts
112

Location
Westbalkanian Computing Industry Wastelands
Well, I made a current list of my top memory hogs (everything over 10000K) in my Windows XP:
PROCNAME - PID - MEM.COST
explorer.exe - 1916 - 33360 K
svchost.exe - 1068 - 24732 K
opera.exe - 3852 - 19952 K
msnmsgr.exe - 768 - 17544 K
evteng.exe - 1124 - 16348 K
ifrmewrk.exe - 660 - 16024 K
wlkeeper.exe - 1244 - 15788 K
dot1xcfg.exe - 1272 - 14328 K
zcfgsvc.exe - 648 - 13340 K
s24evmon.exe - 1228 - 12932 K
(note: the last 6 entries are belong to intel's WiFi utility)
So in my playground explorer.exe won the memory eating race, but the system runs quick and smooth. (btw. Vista's explorer.exe was much worse with it's 100 megs hunger)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:41 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am

Posts
520

Location
Glendale KY USA
I found a tweak to reduce the memory use by about half it works in 2000 and xp if any is interested. It doesnt affect performance or looks.


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:33 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 26, 2006 11:28 am

Posts
44

Location
Australia
dirtwarrior wrote:
I found a tweak to reduce the memory use by about half it works in 2000 and xp if any is interested. It doesnt affect performance or looks.


I'd Be Very, Very Interested :D

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 9:13 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am

Posts
520

Location
Glendale KY USA
Start>Run>Regedit

Find the key: HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\DefaultIcon

Its current value will be "%1" (minus the quotes). Change it to the following:

%SystemRoot%\System32\shell32.dll,-153

and exit Regedit. Now use the TweakUI program to clear the icon cache. It's the bottom menu item (Repair), and then select "Rebuild Icons" and click the "Repair Now" button. You can also clear the icon cache by deleting the ICONCACHE.DB file located in the

%userprofile%\Local Settings\Application Data

directory. You may need to stop EXPLORER.EXE to do this. Once the icon cache is cleared, reboot, and you should notice that Explorer is using somewhere between 5-15MB less RAM, depending on your system.

This may not appeal to you, but you can save an additional 5MB of RAM, and dramatically improve the performance of your system, by changing your display color quality to 16-bit. This option can be found in the Display applet of Control Panel from the Settings tab. If you decide to do this, you'll need to clear the icon cache once the new setting is in effect, so it would make sense to do it before doing the above.
This tweak came from a friend and works very well


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:05 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
What does the regtweak with the icons actually do though?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
What does the regtweak with the icons actually do though?


By the look of it, it changes the default icon for EXEs so it doesn't load an icon from each EXE, it just uses one icon. I guess that makes sense, only one icon in RAM for exe files instead of hundreds. Nice tweak. :)

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 11:12 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am

Posts
520

Location
Glendale KY USA
I googled for explorer tweaks and didnt find any good ones. So I posted on Bold Fortune and a friend posted this tweak for me.


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:56 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:51 pm

Posts
181

Location
Czech, Moravia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM x86-64
:D :lol: :D

explorer.exe Tomas 81 996kB


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:58 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am

Posts
520

Location
Glendale KY USA
baso wrote:
:D :lol: :D

explorer.exe Tomas 81 996kB


how did you do it?


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:48 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:06 am

Posts
258
yes, that could be incredibly useful, especially if the tweaks carry over to vista.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:37 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:05 am

Posts
146

Location
New York
dirtwarrior wrote:
Start>Run>Regedit

Find the key: HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\DefaultIcon

Its current value will be "%1" (minus the quotes). Change it to the following:

%SystemRoot%\System32\shell32.dll,-153

and exit Regedit. Now use the TweakUI program to clear the icon cache. It's the bottom menu item (Repair), and then select "Rebuild Icons" and click the "Repair Now" button. You can also clear the icon cache by deleting the ICONCACHE.DB file located in the

%userprofile%\Local Settings\Application Data

directory. You may need to stop EXPLORER.EXE to do this. Once the icon cache is cleared, reboot, and you should notice that Explorer is using somewhere between 5-15MB less RAM, depending on your system.

This may not appeal to you, but you can save an additional 5MB of RAM, and dramatically improve the performance of your system, by changing your display color quality to 16-bit. This option can be found in the Display applet of Control Panel from the Settings tab. If you decide to do this, you'll need to clear the icon cache once the new setting is in effect, so it would make sense to do it before doing the above.
This tweak came from a friend and works very well


Hmm, pretty intresting tweak. Saves ram, but doesn't have many noticiable changes either . Nice :D
[EDIT] I think it also saves abit of space (Even if it's really tiny) too :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:30 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
thx for this twaek. I will try this.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:48 am 
Reply with quote
I find that Windows Explorer can use alot of RAM all of a sudden only on my laptop which has one of them mobile cpu's. Have you got Norton installed as since I swapped to McAfee its fine.


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS