Page 1 of 2

Windows Powered

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 7:28 pm
by stuntmaster
i have seen screenshots of this, what is it exactly, and what does it do?

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 7:39 pm
by ___
i think it is a version of 2000 (or something from around that time). not really designed to run on pc's

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 7:54 pm
by stuntmaster
oh ok, I see what you mean, i'll see if i can get some screenshots.

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:24 pm
by ___
upload them to the 'Build Screenshots' section

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:38 pm
by KenOath
Windows Powered = Network Attached Storage server.
Microsoft on Windows Powered
Another MS link on the OS


ImageImageImage
ImageImage

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:42 pm
by pr0gram the pr0grammer
Windows 2000 Powered was for network attached storage devices and things like that if I remember correctly...

EDIT: Yeah, what Ken said

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:45 pm
by ___
i was getting to that......

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:58 am
by baso
Yes, you can download Server Appliance Kit 2.0 Add-on Pack (63.6MB) from Microsoft to upgrade your Win2000 -> "Windows Powered"

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:03 am
by Kenny McCormick
baso wrote:Yes, you can download Server Appliance Kit 2.0 Add-on Pack (63.6MB) from Microsoft to upgrade your Win2000 -> "Windows Powered"
You can also download Server Appliance Kit 3.0 Add-on Pack from Microsoft and upgrade Windows Server 2003 -> "Windows Powered"

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:09 am
by kichimi
Kenny McCormick wrote:
baso wrote:Yes, you can download Server Appliance Kit 2.0 Add-on Pack (63.6MB) from Microsoft to upgrade your Win2000 -> "Windows Powered"
You can also download Server Appliance Kit 3.0 Add-on Pack from Microsoft and upgrade Windows Server 2003 -> "Windows Powered"
Yes, but where could you download this Server Applicance Kit Add-on Pack (63.6MB) from Microsoft to upgrade your Win2000/03 -> "Windows Powered"?

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:07 pm
by The Distractor
The Microsoft download center with a genuine version of Windows.

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:16 pm
by Vista Ultimate R2
The Distractor wrote:The Microsoft download center with a genuine version of Windows.
I think this is it: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en - you don't even need to validate if that's a problem for you.

Posted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:28 am
by Deathwarder
so if I put this on a laptop, I can use it as network attached storage?

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 6:30 am
by ewan275
In theory I did I ran an old Toshiba Satellite A30 With Windows 2000 server downladed the pac as it fixed a acpi.sys problem and got rid of that ugly Windows Server Family Boot up screen Worked well I am gonna re attempt it.

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:53 am
by empireum
Well, I tried it and I didn't succeed. I installed the Server Appliance Kit 2.0.1 on a Windows 2000 Server SP4 machine and it didn't convert the OS to Windows Powered. There's also no tool (as it's in the SAK 3.0 for Windows Server 2003) to do this.

Does anybody know how Win2k Server can be "converted" to Windows Powered using the SAK?

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:58 am
by dirtwarrior
If all you want to do is change the screenies to say window powered all that needs to be done is change the name of 2 files in the root. The bitmaps are on the cd. If you want to know the name of those 2 files and the name they must be changed to PM KenOath. It was his hack.

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 8:05 pm
by empireum
OK, thanks!

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 2:00 am
by Namronia
is it a fake??? i never heard that...

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 2:03 am
by empireum
Moderator Warning: Again, don't post in topics that are more than a month old.

And to answer your question: It has already been prooved that Windows Powered is real.

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 3:35 am
by dirtwarrior
KO what files needs to be changed in 2k to make it read windows powered. I remember you posted it once but forgot.

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:26 am
by KenOath
dirtwarrior wrote:KO what files needs to be changed in 2k to make it read windows powered. I remember you posted it once but forgot.
I don't know why you posted above that it was my hack, it wasn't a
hack at all. it's a legit installation of it...

I'm sure if you were to look in places like the
ntoskrnl.exe , ntkrnlmp.exe, you'll find the boot screens, explorer for
the start menu, & perhaps the other usuals like shell32.dll & whatnot...
There's a ton of files all up with bitmaps but they'll get you started...
What you have to remember though, is that the files will also be in the
service pack cabs, so if you change them in the i386 folder, they'll be
changed back during the installation if you don't also change the one's
in the service pack cabs..

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 8:26 am
by Luckie
empireum wrote:Moderator Warning: Again, don't post in topics that are more than a month old.
why? this is a strange rule

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 8:37 am
by Beta Freak
Its reviving old threads without good reason and pushes the newer threads to the bottom of the list.

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 8:55 am
by ___
and asking questions that have already been answered in the thread

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 2:55 pm
by dirtwarrior
KenOath wrote:Taking a copy of advanced server, changing the root ID tags from
IA to IW, then slipstreaming service pack 2 through to 4 will result
in the service pack thinking its Windows powered, & slipstreaming the
appropriate files leaving you with an installation of Windows Powered...
Wont be a genuine iso, but never the less a working copy...
Which no doubt is what you have.
I have a service pack 1 build of it though, which I imagine was the initial
release of this OS, & most likely why the service packs only had the
updated files from service pack 2 & on...