Windows Powered

Discuss Windows 2000, NT, XP and Windows Server 2000, 2003, SBS 2003.
stuntmaster

Windows Powered

Post by stuntmaster »

i have seen screenshots of this, what is it exactly, and what does it do?

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

i think it is a version of 2000 (or something from around that time). not really designed to run on pc's

stuntmaster

Post by stuntmaster »

oh ok, I see what you mean, i'll see if i can get some screenshots.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

upload them to the 'Build Screenshots' section

KenOath

Post by KenOath »

Windows Powered = Network Attached Storage server.
Microsoft on Windows Powered
Another MS link on the OS


ImageImageImage
ImageImage

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

Windows 2000 Powered was for network attached storage devices and things like that if I remember correctly...

EDIT: Yeah, what Ken said
Last edited by pr0gram the pr0grammer on Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

i was getting to that......

baso
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 181
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:51 pm
Location: Czech, Moravia

Post by baso »

Yes, you can download Server Appliance Kit 2.0 Add-on Pack (63.6MB) from Microsoft to upgrade your Win2000 -> "Windows Powered"

Kenny McCormick

Post by Kenny McCormick »

baso wrote:Yes, you can download Server Appliance Kit 2.0 Add-on Pack (63.6MB) from Microsoft to upgrade your Win2000 -> "Windows Powered"
You can also download Server Appliance Kit 3.0 Add-on Pack from Microsoft and upgrade Windows Server 2003 -> "Windows Powered"

kichimi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Post by kichimi »

Kenny McCormick wrote:
baso wrote:Yes, you can download Server Appliance Kit 2.0 Add-on Pack (63.6MB) from Microsoft to upgrade your Win2000 -> "Windows Powered"
You can also download Server Appliance Kit 3.0 Add-on Pack from Microsoft and upgrade Windows Server 2003 -> "Windows Powered"
Yes, but where could you download this Server Applicance Kit Add-on Pack (63.6MB) from Microsoft to upgrade your Win2000/03 -> "Windows Powered"?
The better candies are in the cage

The Distractor

Post by The Distractor »

The Microsoft download center with a genuine version of Windows.

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

The Distractor wrote:The Microsoft download center with a genuine version of Windows.
I think this is it: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en - you don't even need to validate if that's a problem for you.
Image

Deathwarder
FTP Access
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:06 am

Post by Deathwarder »

so if I put this on a laptop, I can use it as network attached storage?

ewan275
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: UK, Home of RISCOS

Post by ewan275 »

In theory I did I ran an old Toshiba Satellite A30 With Windows 2000 server downladed the pac as it fixed a acpi.sys problem and got rid of that ugly Windows Server Family Boot up screen Worked well I am gonna re attempt it.
Image

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Well, I tried it and I didn't succeed. I installed the Server Appliance Kit 2.0.1 on a Windows 2000 Server SP4 machine and it didn't convert the OS to Windows Powered. There's also no tool (as it's in the SAK 3.0 for Windows Server 2003) to do this.

Does anybody know how Win2k Server can be "converted" to Windows Powered using the SAK?

dirtwarrior
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 520
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am
Location: Glendale KY USA

Post by dirtwarrior »

If all you want to do is change the screenies to say window powered all that needs to be done is change the name of 2 files in the root. The bitmaps are on the cd. If you want to know the name of those 2 files and the name they must be changed to PM KenOath. It was his hack.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

OK, thanks!

Namronia

Post by Namronia »

is it a fake??? i never heard that...

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Moderator Warning: Again, don't post in topics that are more than a month old.

And to answer your question: It has already been prooved that Windows Powered is real.

dirtwarrior
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 520
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am
Location: Glendale KY USA

Post by dirtwarrior »

KO what files needs to be changed in 2k to make it read windows powered. I remember you posted it once but forgot.

KenOath

Post by KenOath »

dirtwarrior wrote:KO what files needs to be changed in 2k to make it read windows powered. I remember you posted it once but forgot.
I don't know why you posted above that it was my hack, it wasn't a
hack at all. it's a legit installation of it...

I'm sure if you were to look in places like the
ntoskrnl.exe , ntkrnlmp.exe, you'll find the boot screens, explorer for
the start menu, & perhaps the other usuals like shell32.dll & whatnot...
There's a ton of files all up with bitmaps but they'll get you started...
What you have to remember though, is that the files will also be in the
service pack cabs, so if you change them in the i386 folder, they'll be
changed back during the installation if you don't also change the one's
in the service pack cabs..

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

empireum wrote:Moderator Warning: Again, don't post in topics that are more than a month old.
why? this is a strange rule
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

Beta Freak
FTP Access
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Post by Beta Freak »

Its reviving old threads without good reason and pushes the newer threads to the bottom of the list.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

and asking questions that have already been answered in the thread

dirtwarrior
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 520
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am
Location: Glendale KY USA

Post by dirtwarrior »

KenOath wrote:Taking a copy of advanced server, changing the root ID tags from
IA to IW, then slipstreaming service pack 2 through to 4 will result
in the service pack thinking its Windows powered, & slipstreaming the
appropriate files leaving you with an installation of Windows Powered...
Wont be a genuine iso, but never the less a working copy...
Which no doubt is what you have.
I have a service pack 1 build of it though, which I imagine was the initial
release of this OS, & most likely why the service packs only had the
updated files from service pack 2 & on...

Post Reply