BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 28d, 16h, 45m | CPU: 17% | MEM: 5758MB of 10886MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

Which Whistler 2428 do you want?
Professional 37%  37%  [ 7 ]
Personal 63%  63%  [ 12 ]
Total votes : 19
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Which Whistler 2428 do you want?        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 12:30 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2406
I will select the most voted for version to be uploaded


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 12:38 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Posts
786
2428 is already on Andy's Server.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 12:45 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
If you want, I can give you an account to upload it to my server. I'd be happy with any whistler, as I am yet to put any on my server.

PS. 200th Post!

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Last edited by hounsell on Sun May 13, 2007 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 1:35 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
yeah, the professional is on andy's server, up the personal one


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 2:17 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Personal indeed ;)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 4:29 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue May 08, 2007 4:29 pm

Posts
70
sorry to be a n00b, but what is the difference?
is pro like xp pro and personal xp home?
okay think i just answered my own question....
can somebody reiterate please?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 4:44 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
@alisdair: Yes, that's the main difference. Personal is the XP Home beta, and Pro is the XP Pro beta, apparently.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 5:51 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
alisdair wrote:
sorry to be a n00b, but what is the difference?
is pro like xp pro and personal xp home?
okay think i just answered my own question....
can somebody reiterate please?

personal almost same as professional with some fuctions (eg ecryption) disable, removed or modified(1 processor support instead of 2).

Professional builds are alot common than personal builds, since professional is the full edition. That makes personal builds more rare and harder to find.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 7:03 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2406
They just have differences in dosnet.inf, txtsetup.sif, hivesys.inf
In personal, some files for pro features are missing in i386
(gpedit.msc for example) BTW
Timebomb removed. (on accident)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 7:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2406
Sorry, just ran over the disk with my chair


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 10:47 am 
Reply with quote
Windows OCManage wrote:
Sorry, just ran over the disk with my chair
So polish the scratches out of it.
Can't be damaged more than that, It's pretty hard to break a CD these
days without completely folding it in half.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 2:43 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:03 am

Posts
386

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate
Depends if Windows OCManage was sitting on the chair as it went over that is a lot of pressure going on that cd and i wouldn't be surprised if it cracked or snapped in half.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 3:13 pm 
Reply with quote
merty wrote:
Depends if Windows OCManage was sitting on the chair as it went over that is a lot of pressure going on that cd and i wouldn't be surprised if it cracked or snapped in half.

Maybe if it were thick shagpile carpet.
But then, what would a CD of a beta be doing on the ground.
Also why wouldn't you have it backed up on DVD or hard drive.
Pretty much a pointless poll if you ask me. :roll:

Windows OCManage wrote:
BTW
Timebomb removed. (on accident)

How on earth do you "accidentally" remove a time bomb, either you set
out to do it or you didn't.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 4:36 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm

Posts
407

Location
Essex, UK

Favourite OS
Gentoo
Well maybe he tripped? fell on the keyboard and the keys that were pressed just so happened to remove the time bomb :D

_________________
The better candies are in the cage


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 8:24 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue May 08, 2007 4:29 pm

Posts
70
i think what he means is the timebomd was left out of one of the builds by accident.... he couldnt have removed it from all of the pro/personal builds?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon May 14, 2007 5:49 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
he problary mean he was removing the timebomb for himself, but he acciudently removed it from the orginal too


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon May 14, 2007 6:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2406
I had to reformat my HD in that time. Though i removed the timebomb from whistler pro 2428, i also made it unattended.

EDIT: Used Pro CD, Fixed it to personal.

though textmode Setup shows

Code:
Windows Whistler Profssional Setup


rather than

Code:
Windows Whistler Personal Setup.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon May 14, 2007 7:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
Windows OCManage wrote:
I had to reformat my HD in that time. Though i removed the timebomb from whistler pro 2428, i also made it unattended.

EDIT: Used Pro CD, Fixed it to personal.

though textmode Setup shows

Code:
Windows Whistler Profssional Setup


rather than

Code:
Windows Whistler Personal Setup.

btw, what file did you replaced and where are you going to up it to?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 8:02 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2406
hivesys.inf, and andy's server if its ok with him


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 8:14 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
You don't need to ask.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS