BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 28d, 19h, 49m | CPU: 33% | MEM: 2270MB of 3975MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Remote command line in windows        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:36 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Posts
128
You know how a program like putty can access the shell in a linux computer from a remote location, is there a program like that but for the windows command shell?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:52 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
66
Telnet should work the same, hyperterminal is useful as is just doing telnet from the command line.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 6:24 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
Have you tried the Win32 port of NetCat?

A quick google found that all you need to do is this:
nc.exe -L -p 99 -e cmd.exe

then telnet into the machine on port 99. :D

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 6:27 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Posts
128
hey thanks
I'll give this a whirl and see if it works, but i dont know if the telnet port is blocked or not.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
You can also install an OpenSSH server on your Windows box and then "ssh" into it, that will give you a command-line as well AFAIK.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: ...        Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:49 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
If you use telnet on the open internet these days, you're a bloody moron.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 3:44 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:44 pm

Posts
83
Or even simpler: Enable and start the Windows 'Telnet Server' service (which first appeared in 2k I believe). But yes, it's really not a good idea to use this for remote access over the internet!


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS