BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 8d, 14h, 33m | CPU: 43% | MEM: 6669MB of 12287MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 7:14 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
Ludacris wrote:
This confuses me a little bit:
Quote:
You have to take a WinPE image, make and prepare a WIM image of a done XP install and apply that to your partition. Do the hardware detection bit, and you're set

Oh, and with help, i thought about translating the english parts.


I dunno if this is the reason you're confused, but I can't quite get this either... I mean, XP's install does all the h/w detection... so... if you change the hardware (by installing to a new machine, since it's already been installed once to get the WIM) isn't it gonna go nuts about being on different hardware?

Without the whole WGA/activation thing, the 9x line was fairly easy to move to another machine, then you'd just change a load of drivers and you'd have a good install... is that roughly how this would work?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 9:12 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Hmm... I believe the WIM-based install is done like that: The OS image that gets deployed to the HD has been "sysprepped", that means, all hardware drivers have been removed and its thus hardware-independent. When installing the OS, the image is (1) deployed to the target system/partition and (2) in the next step, the setup does a hardware detection and adds all the necessary drivers. At least this is how I believe it's done on Windows FLP and maybe Vista/Longhorn Server. On FLP, you have the step "Copying OS image to partition", and then, there is this step "Installing PnP drivers". And when FLP is installed, it'll run the First Boot Agent doing some new tinkering. And the Windows Activation thing wouldn't be armed until the hardware detection is completely done – and on FLP, there is no activation... :)


Last edited by empireum on Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:30 pm 
Reply with quote
thanks for your helps guys ;)

can you plz post some wallpapers for the PE? i dont like the tree from 4093 but i dont know what i should take...


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:25 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
Thanks for that empireum :)

Namronia - doesn't PE just have the standard blue Windows 2000-esque background? :/


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:31 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
moonlit wrote:
Thanks for that empireum :)

Namronia - doesn't PE just have the standard blue Windows 2000-esque background? :/

He uses the PE from Longhorn 4093 and I believe that's where the wallpaper is from.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:43 am 
Reply with quote
yep, the "ugly" tree :D :D :D


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:53 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Namronia wrote:
yep, the "ugly" tree :D :D :D

Well, I don't consider that ugly actually, I like such wallpapers, but... what type of wallpaper do you want?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:33 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
Ooh, I'd be intersted in seeing that too then, don't remember such a wallpaper. :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:47 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
moonlit wrote:
Ooh, I'd be intersted in seeing that too then, don't remember such a wallpaper. :)

The Longhorn 4093 one? Here it is:
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:53 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
Cool, thanks, I definitely hadn't seen that before. :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:04 pm 
Reply with quote
i need something like "XP MCE PE"


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 2:43 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
601

Location
Vienna, Austria
What do you excactly mean? Do you mean a background?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 2:55 am 
Reply with quote
yep


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 10:29 pm 
Reply with quote
i restarted the project cause i had to many probs with formatting hd. now the install is basing on Windows Home Server, it works much better
i know the text based mode is coming again, but thats no problem, there you have to enter nothing
here, some screens:

format the hd:

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/5920/formatdg9.png

the install of XP:

http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/2828/normna1.png


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 10:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
That's expected to work better based on the WHS install, because it has a graphical partitioning and formatting routine built in. Only downside to this method is that it requires a) ACPI and b) at least 512MB of RAM if using the default WinPE image.

Looking at the screens, I see it shows the WinPE/Aurora background and the WinXP setup screens laid on top of that, was it that way by default or did you do something to the setup (change the background or whatever)? I ask because when installing the original WHS, the grey Server 2003 background is laid on top of the WinPE background image and that's not visible anymore... That's to be expected because all the WHS setup basically does is booting into a GUI, partitioning & formatting the HD & then it launches the bog standard Windows Setup, that's why you have the text mode and everything.

PS: Please use the forum image uploader, ditch ImageShack for posting pictures here... :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:03 pm 
Reply with quote
yes, i edit winntbbu.dll, but its not finished now, you see the "WINDOWS XP" overlay

oh, the board uploader... sorry, i forget


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:07 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Namronia wrote:
yes, i edit winntbbu.dll, but its not finished now, you see the "WINDOWS XP" overlay

Ah, that's what I thought, too. Now to fix that WindowsXP part of the picture...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:34 pm 
Reply with quote
yep, heres a screeny of the first start, i have to remove this "Windows Home Server is installing" with the grey background and so on. but if you click away the errors, itll work!


Image

now ive got a big problem with the serial, after changing pidgen.dll from the XP folder he says he cant test the key, now he can ONLY use Windows Home server keys


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:43 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Quote:
now ive got a big problem with the serial, after changing pidgen.dll from the XP folder he says he cant test the key, now he can ONLY use Windows Home server keys

What? I don't quite get that. You used an (in this context) unmodified source tree of XP to do the install, right? The WHS install is just used to boot & run the setup on top of – how can that interfere with the key the system accepts? I can only think of a post-install process that might mess with the according files...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:47 pm 
Reply with quote
can you please send me a pm in german? i dont understand :oops: :oops: :oops:


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Namronia wrote:
can you please send me a pm in german? i dont understand :oops: :oops: :oops:

No problem :wink:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 4:15 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
So from what I'm understanding you're replacing all of the files in the SVR_2003 folder with ones from an XP MCE 2005 CD?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 4:20 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
TheWahbinator wrote:
So from what I'm understanding you're replacing all of the files in the SVR_2003 folder with ones from an XP MCE 2005 CD?

Yep, that's what he does.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:36 pm 
Reply with quote
TheWahbinator wrote:
So from what I'm understanding you're replacing all of the files in the SVR_2003 folder with ones from an XP MCE 2005 CD?


yes, exactly that i did. but now the problem with the cd key, he does only accept keys from home server and if i change the pidgen.dll i get an error


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
Namronia wrote:

yes, exactly that i did. but now the problem with the cd key, he does only accept keys from home server and if i change the pidgen.dll i get an error


So you have the disc booting WinPE from a WIM file then loading Windows Setup... so the Windows install program might be trying to generate a PID, but its using the pidgen.dll in the \Windows\system32 in the WIM file instead of the pidgen.dll in the setup files? Is that maybe a possibility? :?

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS