BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 6d, 0h, 32m | CPU: 27% | MEM: 6651MB of 12287MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Chicago Boot Up Blinking "_"        Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:53 pm

Posts
1197

Location
Ontario

Favourite OS
anything unix-like
Sometimes when I boot up Chicago build 53, And Always when I boot up Chicago build 73,
It only shows a blinking "_"
Is this normal? If not, can someone please tell me how to fix it.
Thanks

_________________
ClassicOS theme for GTK+ 3.18
A modern version of the Platinum theme from Mac OS Classic


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Chicago Boot Up Blinking "_"        Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:04 pm

Posts
2797

Favourite OS
Anything checked :P
..when you say "53", you mean "58s", right ?

_________________
C H E C K E D . B U I L D S . A R E . A W E S O M E N E S S

Glitch City Laboratories ForumsSoftHistory Forumsirc.rol.im #softhistory,#galaxy

If you like my posts, donate me Dogecoin: DLnZV8DS3CaZmLKAVxL2aMijY2vUZeyjBi


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Chicago Boot Up Blinking "_"        Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:09 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:33 pm

Posts
3899

Location
Where do you want to go today?

Favourite OS
All Microsoft operating systems!
What emulator software did you use? I'm really not sure why this is happening, but try selecting the VGA Driver in Chicago Setup. That might help, since it sounds like it could be a problem with the video.

By the way, to clear things up, what you said is Chicago Build 53 is actually 58s, and Chicago Build 73 is probably 73g.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Chicago Boot Up Blinking "_"        Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:53 pm

Posts
1197

Location
Ontario

Favourite OS
anything unix-like
It is using a VGA driver in Virtual PC 2007, But I have also tried in VMware.
Same Problem. Please note that sometimes Chicago 58s boots (on occasion).
Sorry about the build number mistakes, It is something i frequently do.

_________________
ClassicOS theme for GTK+ 3.18
A modern version of the Platinum theme from Mac OS Classic


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Chicago Boot Up Blinking "_"        Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:55 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:33 pm

Posts
3899

Location
Where do you want to go today?

Favourite OS
All Microsoft operating systems!
I use Microsoft Virtual PC 2004 (as far as I know), and both builds worked fine. Maybe you should try them in Virtual PC 2004, since it might work better.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Chicago Boot Up Blinking "_"        Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:06 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:53 pm

Posts
1197

Location
Ontario

Favourite OS
anything unix-like
WinPC wrote:
I use Microsoft Virtual PC 2004 (as far as I know), and both builds worked fine. Maybe you should try them in Virtual PC 2004, since it might work better.

I am using vista, and Virtual PC 2004 does not run. I tried to install version 2004 [of Virtual PC], but It failed, and I had to install VPC 2007.
I should have gone with XP...

_________________
ClassicOS theme for GTK+ 3.18
A modern version of the Platinum theme from Mac OS Classic


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Chicago Boot Up Blinking "_"        Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:22 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:50 am

Posts
38

Favourite OS
NT 5.1 / 6.1
I booted chicago 112 today in Virtual PC 2007, and it just flashed the blinking underscore at me for a while.. restarting the emulator seemed to fix it though. so :?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Chicago Boot Up Blinking "_"        Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 8:29 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:53 pm

Posts
1197

Location
Ontario

Favourite OS
anything unix-like
Yeah, I Got 58s booted, and saved the state.
Now all i have to worry about is 73 (or a required reboot for 58).
EDIT:
:cry: Reboot!!!!!!!!!!!!
Oh well I guess i'll have to try again
(Yet Another)Edit:
I tried 58 again in VMware: got the following error:
Image

Anyway, I am going to try 73 next

_________________
ClassicOS theme for GTK+ 3.18
A modern version of the Platinum theme from Mac OS Classic


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Chicago Boot Up Blinking "_"        Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:04 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:50 am

Posts
38

Favourite OS
NT 5.1 / 6.1
I got that error all the time trying to install windows 2/386(?) but struggling through archaic issues is part of the fun of installing an old beta, though. :) just keep at it..


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Chicago Boot Up Blinking "_"        Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:01 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
mappy wrote:
I booted chicago 112 today in Virtual PC 2007, and it just flashed the blinking underscore at me for a while.. restarting the emulator seemed to fix it though. so :?

Yeah I've had that problem. I find that booting it in 'fail safe' mode and then rebooting works fine.

I've had that problem with Chicago 58s when trying to get a high-res picture out of it - I'm trying to work towards putting it on a laptop, some time. I used the S3 divers from build 189, which sort of worked, but wasn't at all satisfactory.

Does anyone know how to get a decent resolution out of the early Chicago builds?

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Chicago Boot Up Blinking "_"        Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:13 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:20 am

Posts
40
marktuson wrote:
Does anyone know how to get a decent resolution out of the early Chicago builds?

Is that even possible, everytime I try it, it just crashes.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Chicago Boot Up Blinking "_"        Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:59 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Many early builds of Chicago crashed during resolution change and/or during the reboot.

So if you got it working, you can change the resolution (or sometimes not) but expect it doesn't boot up anymore.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS