BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 50d, 5h, 10m | CPU: 14% | MEM: 6174MB of 11234MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: A Hardware problem at Chicago Beta 1        Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 4:53 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
Hey all!
I have Windows Chicago Beta 1 running on a 486 laptop. My problem is that there's no floppy drive. (Damaged)
So, when I try to export/import info, it's just kinda impossible.
Yesterday I bought a PCcard (40mb) and to my surprise it reads it.
After some problems I had with the card, I had to Low level Format it.
Then I deleted (I thought so) the driver from the device manager.
Now, it appears as "removed"
and I can't use the card.
What can I do?
Thanks!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 6:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:33 pm

Posts
3899

Location
Where do you want to go today?

Favourite OS
All Microsoft operating systems!
You might want to try reinstalling Chicago, since Hardware Detection was part of the Setup Routine, so if you try reinstalling Chicago, it might redetect the PC Card.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun May 25, 2008 9:40 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
I can't.
As I said
I can't read any floppys, nor CDs, nor nothing.
Just that PC Card


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 4:48 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
How can I remove it from the ini files or so, so that I just need to reinstall it?
Thanks a lot.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue May 27, 2008 10:39 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Make a temporary parallel connection (interlink?) to another computer, and transfer the driver file(s) back to the computer.

Just look through all of the .ini files until you find the appropriate one, Windows doesn't carry that many.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue May 27, 2008 10:43 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
Nono,
the problem is that the drivers ARE located in the computer, but
I had a problem with the card, so I tried to uninstall them, unfortunately, the driver was not uninstalled correctly, so after Low Level formatting the card, I can't reinstall it, because its "half-installed"
haha
I must now delete any trace of that install, so that the computer runs again and displays it with the new hardware to install.
Thanks!


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS