BetaArchive
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/

What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?
https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=40823
Page 1 of 1

Author:  SebOno [ Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:09 pm ]
Post subject:  What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

In early Chicago builds (58s-73g), there exists an "S3" option in the list of built-in display drivers. The problem is, I don't know what specific S3 display I should select for it to work correctly! I've tried everything, a Trio32, Trio64, but Windows just refuses to load if I select the S3 display driver.

Can someone please say what display I should select for it to work properly? Thank you.
By the way, I am using 86Box to emulate Chicago build 73g.

Author:  TheCollector1988 [ Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Either S3 801 or 805.

Author:  SebOno [ Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

I tried a VLB S3 86c805 and an ISA S3 86c801 (they weren't available with PCI or anything else) and they didn't do anything, it still gave me a black screen when I tried to start Windows.

Just in case they may affect anything, my VM's specs are as follows:

Board: Intel Classic PCI
Processor: i486DX2/66
16MB memory

Author:  LangsamSpieler [ Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

I would try the Trident G4000 once as a try, because for me it was never with problems.

Author:  SebOno [ Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

I can't even see a Trident G4000 in 86Box VM configuration. Even if it was there, it wouldn't work with the S3 display.

Author:  TheCollector1988 [ Mon Feb 10, 2020 9:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

What resolution have you set?

Author:  SebOno [ Mon Feb 10, 2020 9:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

640x480x256 colours. When I select it, it displays a black screen and doesn't even play the startup sound. When I select my preferred resolution (1024x768x16777216 colours), it displays an error loading the video adapter.

Author:  TheCollector1988 [ Mon Feb 10, 2020 9:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

1024x768x24/32bpp isn't supported by the built-in driver, 640x480x8bpp should be supported, try reinstalling the build.

Author:  andrian1994 [ Tue Feb 11, 2020 1:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Use Tseng E400 I'm using PCem actually.

Sent from my Redmi 6 using Tapatalk

Author:  Battler [ Fri Feb 14, 2020 7:45 am ]
Post subject:  Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

- SebOno: Try the Rise Computer R418, it has better PCI support than the Intel Classic/PCI.

Author:  DVINTHEHOUSEMAN [ Sun Feb 16, 2020 6:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Here’s what works for me

Board: AMI WinBIOS 486
CPU: Intel 486DX4 at 100MHz
RAM: 64 MB
Graphics: Tseng ET4000AX
Resolution: 640x480x8bpp

If you think this is overkill, that’s your opinion.

Author:  86Box [ Mon Feb 17, 2020 5:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Use the Rise Computer R418 (66MHz), 16MB RAM, the Tseng ET4000AX graphics (1024x768 with 256 color) and you get better.

Author:  Battler [ Tue Feb 18, 2020 6:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

- 86Box: I'm quite sure that on the Rise machine, you would be able to even use the S3 801 or 805.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/