Page 1 of 1

What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:09 pm
by SebOno
In early Chicago builds (58s-73g), there exists an "S3" option in the list of built-in display drivers. The problem is, I don't know what specific S3 display I should select for it to work correctly! I've tried everything, a Trio32, Trio64, but Windows just refuses to load if I select the S3 display driver.

Can someone please say what display I should select for it to work properly? Thank you.
By the way, I am using 86Box to emulate Chicago build 73g.

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:10 pm
by TheCollector1988
Either S3 801 or 805.

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:45 pm
by SebOno
I tried a VLB S3 86c805 and an ISA S3 86c801 (they weren't available with PCI or anything else) and they didn't do anything, it still gave me a black screen when I tried to start Windows.

Just in case they may affect anything, my VM's specs are as follows:

Board: Intel Classic PCI
Processor: i486DX2/66
16MB memory

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:49 pm
by LangsamSpieler
I would try the Trident G4000 once as a try, because for me it was never with problems.

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:53 pm
by SebOno
I can't even see a Trident G4000 in 86Box VM configuration. Even if it was there, it wouldn't work with the S3 display.

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 9:05 pm
by TheCollector1988
What resolution have you set?

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 9:15 pm
by SebOno
640x480x256 colours. When I select it, it displays a black screen and doesn't even play the startup sound. When I select my preferred resolution (1024x768x16777216 colours), it displays an error loading the video adapter.

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 9:19 pm
by TheCollector1988
1024x768x24/32bpp isn't supported by the built-in driver, 640x480x8bpp should be supported, try reinstalling the build.

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 1:54 am
by andrian1994
Use Tseng E400 I'm using PCem actually.

Sent from my Redmi 6 using Tapatalk

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2020 7:45 am
by Battler
- SebOno: Try the Rise Computer R418, it has better PCI support than the Intel Classic/PCI.

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Sun Feb 16, 2020 6:22 pm
by DVINTHEHOUSEMAN
Here’s what works for me

Board: AMI WinBIOS 486
CPU: Intel 486DX4 at 100MHz
RAM: 64 MB
Graphics: Tseng ET4000AX
Resolution: 640x480x8bpp

If you think this is overkill, that’s your opinion.

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2020 5:54 pm
by 86Box
Use the Rise Computer R418 (66MHz), 16MB RAM, the Tseng ET4000AX graphics (1024x768 with 256 color) and you get better.

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 6:14 pm
by Battler
- 86Box: I'm quite sure that on the Rise machine, you would be able to even use the S3 801 or 805.

Re: What does the "S3" display mean in early Chicago builds?

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:04 am
by DJ Deedahx
Essentially, not all S3 drivers are created equal; using a display adapter such as the S3 ViRGE/DX or a Trio series with the S3 drivers included in Chicago 58s (and newer builds as well, I suppose) will cause severe problems in my experience.

The SPEA V7 Mirage, which is an S3 86c801 card, has been confirmed to function at 1024 x 768 x 8 bpp (256 colors) for me.
Image