BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 58d, 10h, 2m | CPU: 22% | MEM: 5089MB of 11933MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Reinstalling Windows ME with on a system with a ME COA        Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 4:28 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 02, 2015 6:20 pm

Posts
490

Location
Wisconsin, USA

Favourite OS
Windows 10
I've got a Gateway system with a Windows ME COA on the side and I would like to reinstall it. Is there a specific type of media needed (OEM) or would a retail one work?

_________________
Goldfish64


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Reinstalling Windows ME with on a system with a ME COA        Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 6:03 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:39 am

Posts
256

Favourite OS
Win95C & Win98SE
Probably need to use OEM media, I doubt a retail copy will take an OEM key.

_________________
Image
Author of FIX95CPU - Run Windows 95 on >2.1GHz Processors!
Author of XUSBSUPP - "NUSB for Windows 95!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Reinstalling Windows ME with on a system with a ME COA        Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:48 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:08 pm

Posts
397

Location
Planet Earth

Favourite OS
OpenNT
Goldfish64 wrote:
I've got a Gateway system with a Windows ME COA on the side and I would like to reinstall it. Is there a specific type of media needed (OEM) or would a retail one work?

There are some different versions of Windows ME
Retail-Full-boxed version, could be purchased in retail store
Retail Upgrade-boxed version, could be purchased in retail store, upgrades from 95, 98, 98SE
OEM Full-bundled with new PC
WIN98 Upgrade (Step-UP)-boxed version, could be purchased in retail store, upgrades from 98, 98SE
MSDN-could be downloaded from MSDN, same as retail, embedded cd key.
further reading
http://windowsitpro.com/windows-server/microsoft-explains-windows-me-step-edition-pricing
http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=17

I think you need OEM version. I have all these version, so if you don't want to waste time downloading possible wrong version, you could send me your CD key, and I will check which version is suitable. Windows ME keys are static, that means there is no activation, or installation count limit.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Reinstalling Windows ME with on a system with a ME COA        Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 02, 2015 6:20 pm

Posts
490

Location
Wisconsin, USA

Favourite OS
Windows 10
I downloaded the OEM version off the FTP which accepted the COA key. Looking in the system properties shows that is indeed an OEM-licensed product.

Does anyone know if it is possible to change the media between OEM and retail? With Windows XP and up it can be done either before or after the install.

_________________
Goldfish64


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Reinstalling Windows ME with on a system with a ME COA        Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:26 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:55 pm

Posts
1441
Goldfish64 wrote:
I downloaded the OEM version off the FTP which accepted the COA key. Looking in the system properties shows that is indeed an OEM-licensed product.

Does anyone know if it is possible to change the media between OEM and retail? With Windows XP and up it can be done either before or after the install.


Not really... iirc the licensing is in PRECOPY1.CAB, and again iirc, in SetupX.dll specifically. So you'd have to modify the install environment ahead of time...

_________________
~


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Reinstalling Windows ME with on a system with a ME COA        Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:32 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:08 pm

Posts
397

Location
Planet Earth

Favourite OS
OpenNT
Goldfish64 wrote:
I downloaded the OEM version off the FTP which accepted the COA key. Looking in the system properties shows that is indeed an OEM-licensed product.

Does anyone know if it is possible to change the media between OEM and retail? With Windows XP and up it can be done either before or after the install.


I think it's not possible. Could you please take screenshot of system properties and upload here?
And if you want retail you must install from Retail CD, with retail key.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2020

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS