BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 52d, 7h, 7m | CPU: 24% | MEM: 6085MB of 11094MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Win ME MSDN?        Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 11:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
I am downloading this from the server, I just miss ME cos I sold my old HP Pavilion with it on. Just out of interest what is the difference between this and the normal ME

Anyways thanks to Ken0ath for uploading it and I would appreciate any light on this

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 2:58 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I've got this as well, and the differences to my "normal" Windows Me Upgrade CD seem to be (a) it's a full version, (b) it's bootable and (c) it does not require a product key to be entered during Setup.

You miss it? I'm somehow missing it as well... :wink:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 8:16 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
I just downloaded that file because i didn't have ME in my collection and wanted it. I used it on an emachines compy before and it was crap, but hey who cares when it completes your collection! :wink:

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 8:25 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Almost the same thing here, I have it but in German, French, Spanish and so on (from MSDN International discs), ME is/was the only Windows version I didn't have in English so I completed my collection, too. :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 8:46 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Wow! You have them in different languages!?! Would you mind uploading them to the server?

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 8:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
No, that'd be no problem when I find the time. But I have to warn you I only get ~12-16kB/s upload,so that's gonna take some time. And, IIRC, these versions are all stored together on a single DVD, so I'll upload the DVD's folders as a RAR archive and it'll extract to these folders, not to a bootable ISO like the one from KenOath. Would this be a problem?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 8:59 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
nope, not at all!

I most likely won't use it ever, but its still nice to have in a collection. :wink:

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:02 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Well, that's what I think, too! :)

By the way: I especially like Asian language versions of Windows (or any other operating system). Although I don't understand any of these languages, it's still great having an OS in them :) Especially Japanese and Chinese. Would anybody else be interested?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 8:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
Well Im pleased it bootable then, See the laptop lacks a floppy drive and I woudnt have to play around with a Custom dos 9 Boot CD i found.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:24 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yes, it's bootable, I just chcked it. I was disappointed when I found out that my Windows Me Upgrade CD (that could be used to perform a clean install on an empty HD) was not bootable... Only OEM CDs were, IIRC...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:29 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
So is this just a version made for Microsoft Developors then? Pity about ME it arrived far too late to make any difference.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I'd not say this version (you mean the MSDN one, right?) was just meant for developers. Big companies often have MSDN subscriptions to evaluate new OSes, and they could have used it as well. The MSDN versions just weren't meant and allowed to be installed on average Joe's home PC.

And which difference are you talking about?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:28 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
If the person wanted to evalute the product at home he could...

Furthermore I find that the most important part of MSDN is Visual Studios Team System and the other fun stuff that comes with it...

I have been encouraged if not practically asked to install MSDN at my home computer :D

(My employer does not believe in overtime just over work!) :twisted:

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:27 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1524

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
This isn't a beta, MOVED

w00t, first real use of my mod powers... yay

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 6:16 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
Well the CDROM can boot and thats about it at first glances. Oh and you dont need a CDKEY

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 7:15 pm 
Reply with quote
ewan275 wrote:
Well the CDROM can boot and thats about it at first glances. Oh and you dont need a CDKEY
The msdn version of
millennium wasnt supplied bootable, if the iso you have is bootable then
it was modified by someone prior to you getting it.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 7:32 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
Fair enougth it was probably made from a windows 98 OEM version but having it bootable is much simpler you dont have to play around with floppies

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Quote:
Fair enougth it was probably made from a windows 98 OEM version but having it bootable is much simpler you dont have to play around with floppies

Agreed. What to do if your PC doesn't have a floppy drive or you're on a laptop that can have either floppy or CD-ROM, but not both?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 6:54 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
Easy you don't use ME :D

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 6:57 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
You could put the files from a Win98 boot floppy on a CD, boot from it, then swap to the ME (or whatever) CD.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:13 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Also a possibility. I once had a laptop which supported either a floppy drive or a CD drive, but not both, and so, intalling an OS from an unbotable CD on a clean HD was a pain.I usually used to boot from a floppy, made a HD partition bootable with a minimal DOS install, swapped the floppy drive with the CD-ROM drive (after a reboot) and ran the OS install, then...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
I've actually seen a fairly recent laptop that had both a floppy and a cd drive.. i thought it was very interesting.

Also, the windows me bootable solution is very helpful when installing without a floppy drive.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Um        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:43 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
932
I got an MSDN ME cd right here in front of me, bootable, and $500 begging you to bet me.

It is the pressed cd that came in the big MSDN binder.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am

Posts
520

Location
Glendale KY USA
empireum wrote:
Also a possibility. I once had a laptop which supported either a floppy drive or a CD drive, but not both, and so, intalling an OS from an unbotable CD on a clean HD was a pain.I usually used to boot from a floppy, made a HD partition bootable with a minimal DOS install, swapped the floppy drive with the CD-ROM drive (after a reboot) and ran the OS install, then...

When KO made this It has all the options to format HD.
When it comes to the point to remove floppie before first reboot take out the cd or it will come back to the install point again.


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 8:21 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Quote:
I've actually seen a fairly recent laptop that had both a floppy and a cd drive.. i thought it was very interesting.

Also, the windows me bootable solution is very helpful when installing without a floppy drive.

I've seen that kind of laptops too, even recent ones, but they were all rather big and heavy.

Quote:
I got an MSDN ME cd right here in front of me, bootable, and $500 begging you to bet me.

It is the pressed cd that came in the big MSDN binder.

Lucky one, I got some MSDN DVDs that have 98, Me and some 2000 versions on them, but these aren't bootable...

Quote:
When KO made this It has all the options to format HD.
When it comes to the point to remove floppie before first reboot take out the cd or it will come back to the install point again.

Yeah, I know, I already tried KenOath's CD, but I was talking about having either floppy or CD-ROM and having to install from an unbootable CD. If I'd had a botable ME CD, that'd have been much easier for sure...


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS