Windows 95/98 Setup Files

Discuss Windows 95, 98 and ME.
Post Reply
4tified
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am
Location: TeXaS

Windows 95/98 Setup Files

Post by 4tified »

In Windows 95 and 98, what list or "file" tells Windows what to copy during setup? Say for instance, in one of the Memphis Builds (Build 1511 to be precise), both of the aol3.0 files are missing. Not that I mind this, but I'll like to be able to make Windows bypass that and not even look for those particular files and move on to the next ones. Is there anyway to do this or how does it work? Thanks!
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7

TheWahbinator
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Post by TheWahbinator »

Do you mean unattended setup? if so the file is msbatch.inf

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

Try extracting layout.inf from precopy2.cab and finding the filenames in the file and take them out. With the 98/95/ME setup you won't have to repack the cabs if you've modified a file just put the file in the setup folder e.g. X:\WIN98
Image

4tified
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am
Location: TeXaS

Post by 4tified »

mdogg wrote:Try extracting layout.inf from precopy2.cab and finding the filenames in the file and take them out. With the 98/95/ME setup you won't have to repack the cabs if you've modified a file just put the file in the setup folder e.g. X:\WIN98
That's the answer I was looking for. I think I'll give that a shot when i get home.
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7

4tified
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am
Location: TeXaS

Post by 4tified »

TheWahbinator wrote:Do you mean unattended setup? if so the file is msbatch.inf
So is the msbatch.ini file equivalent to an answer file in Windows NT versions of setup?
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

I think MSBATCH.INF will make it an automated setup and therefore skip all errors in the setup.
Image

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

4tified wrote:
TheWahbinator wrote:Do you mean unattended setup? if so the file is msbatch.inf
So is the msbatch.ini file equivalent to an answer file in Windows NT versions of setup?
Yes, you could say so.

Post Reply