BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 18d, 15h, 22m | CPU: 17% | MEM: 5316MB of 11804MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:44 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:28 am

Posts
1586

Location
Slovenia

Favourite OS
5111
You're using the PC/AT IDE adapter, which works with the same config on my end. Therefore, the problem must be elsewhere. Did you configure the AMI BIOS correctly (Standard CMOS config, set drive C type to 47, then enter your CHS values and leave the other two at 0, exit and save)? It's also worth deleting the NVR folder and starting over just in case something has glitched out. You may as well switch to the internal IDE controller, as this board has one and it usually works best (but as said, PC/AT IDE also works fine).

Also, the PS/2 mouse won't work on this board because it doesn't support PS/2, switch to Microsoft serial mouse. Windows/386 2.11 works fine in 86Box once you get these issues sorted out, by the way.

_________________
Image

KRNL386 - my site about retro computing | My site about Windows 1.0 | My blog | 86Box Manager - my configuration manager for 86Box


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 1:01 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am

Posts
284

Location
Wisconsin

Favourite OS
Probably 95 or XP
I usually leave one of the other two as “65535”, I believe it’s the second to last one. Correct me if I’m wrong.

_________________
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN- BigBowb1e Productions

mrpijey wrote:
Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.
[/color]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 1:43 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:28 am

Posts
1586

Location
Slovenia

Favourite OS
5111
I forgot that most 386 and later BIOSes actually support auto-detecting the hard drive. So basically, you don't even need to bother with values, just chose "Auto detect hard disk" instead of "Standard CMOS setup", verify that the detected CHS values are correct and save the changes.

_________________
Image

KRNL386 - my site about retro computing | My site about Windows 1.0 | My blog | 86Box Manager - my configuration manager for 86Box


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 2:15 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
Overdoze wrote:
I forgot that most 386 and later BIOSes actually support auto-detecting the hard drive. So basically, you don't even need to bother with values, just chose "Auto detect hard disk" instead of "Standard CMOS setup", verify that the detected CHS values are correct and save the changes.


It won't detect the hard disk automatically. :(

Here is an image: https://www.betaarchive.com/imageupload ... 32227.jpeg


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 3:52 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am

Posts
284

Location
Wisconsin

Favourite OS
Probably 95 or XP
Seems your HD values are 963 4 17 in CHS, respectively. Enter this under value 47 in the standard CMOS setup:
Cyl: 963
Heads: 4
WPcom: 0
LZone: 65535
Sect: 17

_________________
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN- BigBowb1e Productions

mrpijey wrote:
Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.
[/color]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:07 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:28 am

Posts
1586

Location
Slovenia

Favourite OS
5111
It detects the same type of drive fine for me. Make sure the hard disk image file is writeable and that the path to it doesn't containy any non-ASCII characters and no spaces. If that still doesn't work, try creating an entirely new image.

EDIT: These are the parameters it detects for me and which you should use if you want to manually set them:
Image

Also, did you try any of the other steps I mentioned in my previous posts?

_________________
Image

KRNL386 - my site about retro computing | My site about Windows 1.0 | My blog | 86Box Manager - my configuration manager for 86Box


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 12:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm

Posts
2007

Location
Czechia
What about just posting the entire configuration, including NVRs and hard disk images to a file host instead of posting photos like if Ctrl+C/Ctrl+V and print screen never really existed?

_________________
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 2:33 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am

Posts
284

Location
Wisconsin

Favourite OS
Probably 95 or XP
-TheBetaFan18329

Your image seems to be in your “media_iso” folder. Maybe remove the underscore or move the disk images to a folder like “86boxhdd” or something like that.
Heck I leave all my hard disk images in the PCem folder.

_________________
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN- BigBowb1e Productions

mrpijey wrote:
Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.
[/color]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:44 am 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 28, 2019 10:11 am

Posts
98
Don't waste your time on Windows/286 or /386 on VMware. Install them on VirtualBox.

_________________
The developer of Win1 Packet - viewtopic.php?f=59&t=40233
The developer of IM1024 INSTALL.BAT Patch: viewtopic.php?f=59&t=40317


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:47 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am

Posts
284

Location
Wisconsin

Favourite OS
Probably 95 or XP
He is installing them in 86-Box, not VBox

_________________
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN- BigBowb1e Productions

mrpijey wrote:
Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.
[/color]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 3:05 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN wrote:
-TheBetaFan18329

Your image seems to be in your “media_iso” folder. Maybe remove the underscore or move the disk images to a folder like “86boxhdd” or something like that.
Heck I leave all my hard disk images in the PCem folder.


I removed the underscore on the media_iso folder and it still won't detect the hard disk.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:08 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:28 am

Posts
1586

Location
Slovenia

Favourite OS
5111
Well since you just won't post more than one sentence in your replies, I guess there's not much left for us to do here. You were given plenty of steps to take, but if you only give us feedback on one of them then that's about it.

_________________
Image

KRNL386 - my site about retro computing | My site about Windows 1.0 | My blog | 86Box Manager - my configuration manager for 86Box


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
2006

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
- TheBetaFan18329: Look at 86Box's status bar, and tell me if you see the hard disk icon there.

Edit: Looking at your photo, it's there. That's strange, CMOS Setup should detect it then.

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
The 86Box help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 10:45 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
Battler wrote:
- TheBetaFan18329: Look at 86Box's status bar, and tell me if you see the hard disk icon there.

Edit: Looking at your photo, it's there. That's strange, CMOS Setup should detect it then.



I don't know why the CMOS Setup is not detecting the hard disk.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
2006

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
Did you try deleting the NVR file?

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
The 86Box help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:57 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
Battler wrote:
Did you try deleting the NVR file?




I deleted the NVR file and it still won't detect the hard disk. :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:11 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am

Posts
284

Location
Wisconsin

Favourite OS
Probably 95 or XP
I know it’s a lot worse than 86-Box but it works for me on PCem v12. Please don’t start fights about if 86-Box is better than PCem, etc. Thank you.

_________________
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN- BigBowb1e Productions

mrpijey wrote:
Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.
[/color]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 25, 2019 9:52 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
2006

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
- TheBetaFan18329: Could you post your current 86Box config?

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
The 86Box help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 1:34 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
Battler wrote:
- TheBetaFan18329: Could you post your current 86Box config?




Here is my current 86box config: https://www.betaarchive.com/imageupload ... .84464.PNG


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:33 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am

Posts
284

Location
Wisconsin

Favourite OS
Probably 95 or XP
I don't see a Hard disk.

_________________
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN- BigBowb1e Productions

mrpijey wrote:
Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.
[/color]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:31 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN wrote:
I don't see a Hard disk.



That is strange because I see a hard disk icon on the status bar


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:42 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
2006

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
Well, the configuration has no hard disk set. It looks like for some reason, the emulator failed to open the hard disk image and therefore quietly removed the hard disk from the configuration. Add it again.

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
The 86Box help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:56 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
Battler wrote:
Well, the configuration has no hard disk set. It looks like for some reason, the emulator failed to open the hard disk image and therefore quietly removed the hard disk from the configuration. Add it again.



I added the hard disk again and it detected it! Whenever I try to run setup for Windows/386, I get an error. Here is what the error says: Sector not found error reading drive A. Is there a way to fix this error?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
2006

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
Make sure you you have set the floppy drive type correctly in both 86Box settings and CMOS Setup.

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
The 86Box help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 3:26 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
Battler wrote:
Make sure you you have set the floppy drive type correctly in both 86Box settings and CMOS Setup.



How can I configure the correct floppy drive type in the 86box settings and the CMOS Setup?


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS