BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 20d, 9h, 29m | CPU: 38% | MEM: 5821MB of 11560MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 11:39 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
Hi! I installed Windows/386 on VMware Workstation 15. When I type in win86 after I installed it, it works just fine but whenever I type win386, it pops up with a black screen. Can some help please?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 7:39 am 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:44 pm

Posts
351

Location
Russia

Favourite OS
Debian 10, 6002, 9600
Use 86Box.

_________________
quality signature


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:58 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed May 29, 2019 5:36 pm

Posts
71

Location
Somewhere near you, UTC+3

Favourite OS
Windows 3.2
Typing win386 causes it to crash.
Edit:Mixed it with another version.
MCpillager12 wrote:
Use 86Box.

Same. You can also use PCem or VARCem because they arenearly identical.
Edit 2: They are forks of each other.

_________________
Quote:
You have never seen Windows like this!
Free Windows 3.2!
Shareware featuring an upgrade for preexisting Windows 3.1 users and BONUS PACK
Distributed freely by PC World. March 1996


Last edited by Winins on Sat Aug 17, 2019 1:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:22 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:31 pm

Posts
57

Location
In a window

Favourite OS
Windows 7
Have you used other emulator to use it? Use older versions of emulators for virtual machines.

_________________
Windows 7's end support is on January 14, 2020! It's time upgrade to Windows 10! Windows 8.1 also is supported but not Windows 8!

Selected quote:
Caveria wrote:
I found BetaArchive, because I tried to get beta versions of Windows.


Image

1 Year on BetaArchive!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:49 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
2006

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
Winins wrote:
Typing win386 causes it to crash.

What build of 86Box did you use?

Winins wrote:
Same. You can also use PCem or VARCem because they are nearly identical.

That's not true at all.

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
The 86Box help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 5:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 23, 2015 5:52 pm

Posts
241

Location
State of Georgia USA

Favourite OS
Windows 1.0 DR5
Windows/386 2.11 can run on VirtualBox.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 5:42 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
MCpillager12 wrote:
Use 86Box.


I downloaded 86box. Which machine should I use to run Windows/386 2.11 in 86box?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 5:50 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am

Posts
289

Location
Wisconsin

Favourite OS
Probably 95 or XP
I’d recommend using these specs:
Machine: AMI 386DX
CPU: 386DX/33MHz
RAM: 8-16 MB (8192-16384 KB)
Hard disk size: 32MB-251MB

_________________
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN- BigBowb1e Productions

mrpijey wrote:
Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.
[/color]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 11:02 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN wrote:
I’d recommend using these specs:
Machine: AMI 386DX
CPU: 386DX/33MHz
RAM: 8-16 MB (<a href="tel:8192-16384">8192-16384</a> KB)
Hard disk size: 32MB-251MB



I used those specs but when I try to format the disk with fdisk on MS-DOS 3.30, it said "no fixed disks present." :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 11:09 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am

Posts
289

Location
Wisconsin

Favourite OS
Probably 95 or XP
I forgot what the 86-box menu looks like but I believe you need to go to the peripherals tab and select a hard disk controller

_________________
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN- BigBowb1e Productions

mrpijey wrote:
Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.
[/color]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 3:43 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN wrote:
I forgot what the 86-box menu looks like but I believe you need to go to the peripherals tab and select a hard disk controller



I selected a hard disk controller and it still says "no fixed disks present." :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 4:17 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am

Posts
289

Location
Wisconsin

Favourite OS
Probably 95 or XP
Try setting the Cylinders, Heads, and Sectors of the disk in the BIOS.
What version of DOS are you using?

_________________
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN- BigBowb1e Productions

mrpijey wrote:
Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.
[/color]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 4:43 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN wrote:
Try setting the Cylinders, Heads, and Sectors of the disk in the BIOS.
What version of DOS are you using?


I’m using MS-DOS 3.30 for the machine.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 4:54 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am

Posts
289

Location
Wisconsin

Favourite OS
Probably 95 or XP
What disk controller did you use? I would use the internal one if there is one or use the XTIDE and make sure to set your disk to the correct bus. Did you try setting the properties of the disk in the BIOS?

_________________
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN- BigBowb1e Productions

mrpijey wrote:
Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.
[/color]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 5:30 am 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:44 pm

Posts
351

Location
Russia

Favourite OS
Debian 10, 6002, 9600
Use the XTIDE controller, and also use MS-DOS 3.31.

_________________
quality signature


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 11:46 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:11 am

Posts
3531

Location
Italy

Favourite OS
Windows, OS/2, DOS
Don't use the XTIDE controller, either use SCSI or built-in IDE controller.

_________________
http://forum.softhistory.org


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 12:44 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
TheCollector1988 wrote:
Don't use the XTIDE controller, either use SCSI or built-in IDE controller.



I used the BusLogic BT-545S SCSI Controller for the machine and it still says "no fixed disks present."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 12:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:44 pm

Posts
351

Location
Russia

Favourite OS
Debian 10, 6002, 9600
TheCollector1988 wrote:
Don't use the XTIDE controller, either use SCSI or built-in IDE controller.

XTIDE works fine here.

_________________
quality signature


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 1:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:28 am

Posts
1591

Location
Slovenia

Favourite OS
5111
To get the harddrive working, you need to do the following:

1) Select an appropriate hdd controller for the machine you're emulating (SCSI or internal IDE recommended for 386-class machines)
2) If you chose a SCSI controller, you may need to enable its BIOS in the controller config and, depending on your other hardware options, possibly reconfigure it (IRQ, etc.)
3) Select an appropriately large harddrive for the controller you selected.
4) If you're using IDE (except XTIDE), you need to configure the harddrive type (CHS values) in the system BIOS

The controller and drive type must match. IDE drives must be configured in the system BIOS. If you don't do this right, DOS will not detect the drive.

Now, in order not to drag this out even more, I highly recommend you post your config file here so we can see what is potentially misconfigured.

_________________
Image

KRNL386 - my site about retro computing | My site about Windows 1.0 | My blog | 86Box Manager - my configuration manager for 86Box


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 2:56 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
Overdoze wrote:
To get the harddrive working, you need to do the following:

1) Select an appropriate hdd controller for the machine you're emulating (SCSI or internal IDE recommended for 386-class machines)
2) If you chose a SCSI controller, you may need to enable its BIOS in the controller config and, depending on your other hardware options, possibly reconfigure it (IRQ, etc.)
3) Select an appropriately large harddrive for the controller you selected.
4) If you're using IDE (except XTIDE), you need to configure the harddrive type (CHS values) in the system BIOS

The controller and drive type must match. IDE drives must be configured in the system BIOS. If you don't do this right, DOS will not detect the drive.

Now, in order not to drag this out even more, I highly recommend you post your config file here so we can see what is potentially misconfigured.




How can I configure the IDE drive in the system BIOS?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 4:49 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am

Posts
289

Location
Wisconsin

Favourite OS
Probably 95 or XP
Go to the BIOS, select the first option of the menu, and go down to Primary Master. Go to the USER value option and type in the CHS of your disk.

_________________
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN- BigBowb1e Productions

mrpijey wrote:
Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.
[/color]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:05 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN wrote:
Go to the BIOS, select the first option of the menu, and go down to Primary Master. Go to the USER value option and type in the CHS of your disk.




I tried that and it sill won't find the hard disk. :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:27 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:28 am

Posts
1591

Location
Slovenia

Favourite OS
5111
Again, post the config, you're just wasting everyone's time without that.

_________________
Image

KRNL386 - my site about retro computing | My site about Windows 1.0 | My blog | 86Box Manager - my configuration manager for 86Box


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 8:09 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am

Posts
289

Location
Wisconsin

Favourite OS
Probably 95 or XP
Yes, please post the config. It would help a lot instead of us guessing what's wrong.

_________________
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!
DVINTHEHOUSEMAN- BigBowb1e Productions

mrpijey wrote:
Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.
[/color]


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Black Screen on Windows/386 2.11        Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:27 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:01 am

Posts
48

Favourite OS
Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10
Here is the config for the 86box machine: https://www.betaarchive.com/imageupload ... .18229.jpg

Sorry if it is flipped


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS