BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 0d, 18h, 41m | CPU: 24% | MEM: 4934MB of 8191MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Sun Sep 01, 2019 10:03 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:37 am

Posts
563
I tried to recover the files using root directory entries found in the slack space instead of using SCANDISK. I am pretty sure DIAG.EXE was original. I am now trying to find the grabber file for the driver then I can try it on Windows 2.x.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Mon Sep 02, 2019 7:01 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:28 am

Posts
1639

Location
Slovenia

Favourite OS
5111
The grabber and logo files are not of critical importance, I'd say, since many drivers don't even have their own variants and instead just use the CGA ones. The grabber is mainly used for winoldap, so you can try the driver without it.

_________________
All roads lead to Neptune™

KRNL386 - my site about retro computing | My site about Windows 1.0 | My blog | 86Box Manager | LeakDB - list of PC OS warez leaks


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Mon Sep 02, 2019 7:18 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:37 am

Posts
563
You can download recovered driver files here: https://mega.nz/#!UANXVIAT!h3OR13TWCisi ... 2943KMtlLk

It hang the machine at boot screen when when using the same config as my Windows 1.04 installation. I guess the emulation doesn't cover everything for the Windows 2.x driver or the grabber file is important. The grabber file is so hard to recover because it is just a pure headerless binary file.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 7:57 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:37 am

Posts
563
johnlemon647 wrote:
Can patch work on Windows 1.0 Premiere Edition

Image
Yes, it does!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:45 pm 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed May 15, 2019 2:40 pm

Posts
45

Location
Czechia

Favourite OS
Windows, Lubuntu
John Elliott wrote:
OK, I think that's squashed all the crashes and visual glitches, or at least the ones I can find. PCEM patch submitted.

Let's have this one in the Windows 1.x standard colour scheme for a change:

Image

I think we can now say that the thread title has been answered: Yes, Windows 1.0x can have 256 colours.

It support 86Box?

_________________
OS/Browser:
Windows 10 Home
Google Chrome

Virtual environment:
86Box
VMware


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:52 pm 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed May 15, 2019 2:40 pm

Posts
45

Location
Czechia

Favourite OS
Windows, Lubuntu
John Elliott wrote:
New patch submitted. And with the 12x18 system font, the scrollbars now don't look oversized:

Image

Where i can get the patch?

_________________
OS/Browser:
Windows 10 Home
Google Chrome

Virtual environment:
86Box
VMware


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:04 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:37 am

Posts
563
Just download PCem 15.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:34 pm 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed May 15, 2019 2:40 pm

Posts
45

Location
Czechia

Favourite OS
Windows, Lubuntu
ComputerHunter wrote:
Just download PCem 15.

So it doesnt work for 86Box? :x

_________________
OS/Browser:
Windows 10 Home
Google Chrome

Virtual environment:
86Box
VMware


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:52 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:44 pm

Posts
357

Location
Russia

Favourite OS
Windows 10 LTSC
Here are the roms for pcem: https://github.com/BaRRaKudaRain/PCem-ROMs

_________________
i have nothing to put here so yeah...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed May 15, 2019 2:40 pm

Posts
45

Location
Czechia

Favourite OS
Windows, Lubuntu
So if it doesnt work in 86box, i need use VESA 800x600

_________________
OS/Browser:
Windows 10 Home
Google Chrome

Virtual environment:
86Box
VMware


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 3:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm

Posts
2050

Location
Czechia
Here is a response that actually answers the question instead of a link to a PCem romset.

Yes, 86Box does support the IM1024, based on John Elliott's PCem patch. It hasn't been committed to GitHub yet, but you can ask for preliminary builds at the Discord. You just need to drop the im1024font.bin file from a prior post to the roms\video\im1024 directory and you should see "[ISA] Image Manager 1024" in display settings.

_________________
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed May 15, 2019 2:40 pm

Posts
45

Location
Czechia

Favourite OS
Windows, Lubuntu
It works! :D

Specs:
AMI 386DX clone
1MB RAM
10MB HDD
(ISA) Image Manger 1024
OS: MS-DOS 3.30, Windows 1.01
Image

_________________
OS/Browser:
Windows 10 Home
Google Chrome

Virtual environment:
86Box
VMware


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 4:29 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 17, 2019 2:31 am

Posts
6

Favourite OS
Windows 7 SP1
Now, this is certainly interesting. I'll see if I give it a go sometime! Never thought 1.0 could run with 256 colors...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Sat Nov 09, 2019 4:20 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:37 am

Posts
563
Overdoze wrote:
Not really, since the images were given to me directly by the owner of the floppies. But you can download the original broken images here, and the ones with files I managed to recover here.

Sorry for the bump but I just found my recovered copy of the Cobra drivers disk which I think is slightly better than the one above. I wasn't able to get anything to work but here it is: https://mega.nz/#!9BlU0Ija!Ueg41t_RAwnj ... 0zqPy924hA


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 3:23 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:07 pm

Posts
10
Is there someone tried to run Windows 1.04 with 256 color in VMWare?
I think to develop drivers for Windows 1.x for VMWare because it is may very fast and fun with VMWare Tools (There is exist an open source of it for linux, and port it for earlier version of Windows will be amazing! :) )


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Can Windows 1.0x have 256 colors?        Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2019 2:52 pm 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed May 15, 2019 2:40 pm

Posts
45

Location
Czechia

Favourite OS
Windows, Lubuntu
arielu wrote:
Is there someone tried to run Windows 1.04 with 256 color in VMWare?
I think to develop drivers for Windows 1.x for VMWare because it is may very fast and fun with VMWare Tools (There is exist an open source of it for linux, and port it for earlier version of Windows will be amazing! :) )


Windows 1.04 with 256 colors is not possible on VMware, and VMware tools cant be patched to Win1.x. VMware also isn't good software to run older Windows than 95 or 3.x, i prefer 86Box for it.
:)

_________________
OS/Browser:
Windows 10 Home
Google Chrome

Virtual environment:
86Box
VMware


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2020

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS