Interesting DOS versions

Discuss MS-DOS, Windows 1, 2 and 3.
Post Reply
os2fan2
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Interesting DOS versions

Post by os2fan2 »

Among the interesting DOS versions i have managed to collect

IBM-DOS 6.0 (four diskette layout, different to PC-DOS)
MS-DOS 6.0 (entirely different layout, with DOSSHELL)
MS-DOS 6.21 (four diskette OEM version)
PC-DOS 6.1 (the usual fare + fixes and cid)
PC-DOS 6.3 (alternate upgrade/full diskette 1 + fixes and cid)
PC-DOS 7.0 (pre 2000, plus fixes)

Among the interesting Windows versions

Wfw 3.10 (eight disk layout, not wfw 3.11)
Win 3.11 (OEM version)
Wfwao 3.11 (= Wfw 3.11 with hacked install: original diskettes)

Looking for:

MS-DOS 5.00 (not the 1991-11-11 version, which is 5.02)
MS-DOS 7.00 b2 (not beta 1, i have this).

I have the china-dos kit for extracting MS-DOS 7.x or 8.x from Windows 9x.

Namronia

Post by Namronia »

what?

MS DOS 6 with shell?

i think with beta 2 of 7.00 you mean 7.10?

but dos 6 with shell would be intresting, could you post a screen please?

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Do you happen to have information about MS-DOS versions >6.22?

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Namronia wrote:MS DOS 6 with shell?
DOS Shell (a basic GUI for DOS) was included with quite a few versions, I have a boxed copy of 5 which says it was a new feature with DOS 5.
Image

Namronia

Post by Namronia »

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Namronia wrote:MS DOS 6 with shell?
DOS Shell (a basic GUI for DOS) was included with quite a few versions, I have a boxed copy of 5 which says it was a new feature with DOS 5.
afaik just DOS 4 and 5 had a shell, you can see some screens at my page

http://history.winusers.de/windows/dos.html#dos40
http://history.winusers.de/windows/dos.html#dos500

but never heard about dos 6 with shell

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Namronia wrote:
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Namronia wrote:MS DOS 6 with shell?
DOS Shell (a basic GUI for DOS) was included with quite a few versions, I have a boxed copy of 5 which says it was a new feature with DOS 5.
afaik just DOS 4 and 5 had a shell, you can see some screens at my page

http://history.winusers.de/windows/dos.html#dos40
http://history.winusers.de/windows/dos.html#dos500

but never heard about dos 6 with shell
DOS 6.x could also come with a shell. I have a copy of 6.22 here which consists of 4 disks instead of 3, and the 4th contains some tools mostly from older DOS versions, among them DOSShell.

edit: Typo fixed.
Last edited by empireum on Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Namronia

Post by Namronia »

empireum wrote:
Namronia wrote:
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Namronia wrote:MS DOS 6 with shell?
DOS Shell (a basic GUI for DOS) was included with quite a few versions, I have a boxed copy of 5 which says it was a new feature with DOS 5.
afaik just DOS 4 and 5 had a shell, you can see some screens at my page

http://history.winusers.de/windows/dos.html#dos40
http://history.winusers.de/windows/dos.html#dos500

but never heard about dos 6 with shell
DOS 6.x could also come with a shell. I have a copy of 6.22 here with consists of 4 disks instead of 3, and the 4th contains some tools mostly from older DOS versions, among them DOSShell.
are they somewhere or could you upload them? i would be really intrested, or could you please make screenshots, never heard about ms dos 6 with shell before

thanks

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Namronia wrote:are they somewhere or could you upload them? i would be really intrested, or could you please make screenshots, never heard about ms dos 6 with shell before

thanks
First 3 discs install a standard MS-DOS 6.22, the 4th contains the "MS-DOS 6.22 Supplemental Utilities"...
Image
Image
Image

Kenneth
Donator
Posts: 2407
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Post by Kenneth »

What does WfWAO stand for?

os2fan2
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Post by os2fan2 »

WfwAO is windows for workgroups add-on. It's a kind of stepup for Windows 3.x

MS-DOS 6.00 with dosshell is a very early of astro, as released to OEMS. The base diskettes include a layout without MSDOS.SYS + IO.SYS, but these are identical to the real version, so i fabbed these into a set of disks.
It is a base install.

DOSSHELL comes with DOS 4, DOS 5, PC-DOS 6, PC-DOS 7 in GA releases, but also this Astro version has it in the base install too. Have a look at the msdos 6.0 help file, which includes an entry for it.

MS-DOS 7.0 came with two betas, one based on the 6.00 distro (itemised at 6.07), and one based on the 6.22 version (ie 6.27). These have an io.sys and msdos.sys in DOS 6 style, not the winboot.sys and winboot.ini a la win9x.

os2fan2
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Post by os2fan2 »

duplicate of the previous. Will consider uploads when i get access.
Last edited by os2fan2 on Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Kenneth
Donator
Posts: 2407
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Post by Kenneth »

Can you up WfWAO to the ftp?

Battler
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia, Central Europe.
Contact:

Post by Battler »

Actually, any version of MS-DOS 6.00 comes with DOSSHELL in the base install, except, maybe, for the so-called "Base Version", that removed at least DoubleSpace.
Join [url=irc://irc.ringoflightning.net/softhistory/]#softhistory @ RoL IRC[/url], a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: [url=irc://irc.ringoflightning.net/aniboshi/]#doki-doki @ RoL IRC[/url], Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
The 86Box help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

os2fan2 wrote:I have the china-dos kit for extracting MS-DOS 7.x or 8.x from Windows 9x.
That sounds interesting. Can you elaborate on that one?

os2fan2
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Post by os2fan2 »

Basically, the 'ChinaDOS' set by wengier + roy, is based on a DOS with code page 936, and Windows 98FE.

The base DOS is a pretty simple install: a few string-hacks in the DOS files, for cosmetic reasons, and a bit of app substitution. I did a complete dismantle of it to see where the bits and peices come from (msdos, pcdos, dldos, assorted freeware &c), plus a bit of home-grown customisation.

You can in theory build a kit, that plucks out the necessary files from a running Windows 98/98SE/ME + source tapes for DOS/Windows 9x, and build the necessary DOS. It is pretty much supplying the less common pcdos/dldos/freeware stuff, and using local msdos install tapes.

Such a project was available at http://scp.gmxhome.de/msdos71/ for a while, but has since disappeared. I downloaded the files at the time, for the assorted projects (dos, windows 98 lite, windows 3.1 + lfn).

The advantage here is that you can build these DOS versions in your own native versions of Windows 9x, with the necessary files updated.

I had to hack one of the batches to make it default to building diskette images, rather than real disks,

The real benefit with the 'china-dos' version is that it has a very good configuration, and is well worth the look if you want to configure DOS + Windows 3.x for modern hardware. You can learn things about win95/98 as well (eg have DOS, windows 3.1, win95, win98 on same DOS and start menu.

A similar effect can be had with the DOS 7.1 diskette at powerload.

Kenneth
Donator
Posts: 2407
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Post by Kenneth »


os2fan2
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Post by os2fan2 »

That's it. You install it from the target OS (eg Windows 98SE + fixes).

The batch file for creating DOS needs a bit of editing to allow images. It is best to default this to images, and use an other util to make these diskettes as required.

W

jaclaz
FTP Access
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:29 pm

Post by jaclaz »

And it is still also available through archive.org :
http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://scp ... e/msdos71/

Please note that downloaded files from archive.org sometimes have a missing byte and will result as "corrupted archive" in 7-zip and most zip utilities, the fix is quite simple:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/index.p ... entry21784

jaclaz

Post Reply