BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 6d, 1h, 58m | CPU: 57% | MEM: 3137MB of 8095MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: DOS Question        Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:19 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
Is there a way that i can change the command prompt (C:/>) font color from white to green? I know this may be a dumb question, but i think it looks cool.

ive MS-DOS 6.22


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:26 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2404
Add these lines to your config.sys
(replace "C:\DOS\" with your DOS Directory)

Code:
device=C:\DOS\ANSI.SYS


Add this to your autoexec.bat:

Code:
set prompt=$e[1;32;40m$p$g


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
and that will change my prompt color?

cool

thanks


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 6:17 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
I think so however if you want to change colours during the command prompt, you use "color XY". Replace X and Y with the colours you want. Typing "color /?" will give you a hint to what letters/numbers are what colours.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 7:34 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
mdogg wrote:
I think so however if you want to change colours during the command prompt, you use "color XY". Replace X and Y with the colours you want. Typing "color /?" will give you a hint to what letters/numbers are what colours.


I'm not sure if that command works on DOS 6.22, I think that command is only for Windows 2K/XP's Command Prompt ...

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 11:55 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
mdogg wrote:
I think so however if you want to change colours during the command prompt, you use "color XY". Replace X and Y with the colours you want. Typing "color /?" will give you a hint to what letters/numbers are what colours.

Will only work on NT. There you don't need ansi.sys either.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 2:17 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
Well some monitors allow you to adjust the RGB...

If you need the color changed for some kind of theatrical production...

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:10 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
it worked

on DOS 6.22


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 1:28 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 02, 2007 5:29 pm

Posts
48
inxsfan92 wrote:
it worked

on DOS 6.22


What do you do with DOS? 8-)

Is it possible to play UT3 or CS:S on DOS?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 3:41 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
flashstar wrote:
inxsfan92 wrote:
it worked

on DOS 6.22


What do you do with DOS? 8-)

Is it possible to play UT3 or CS:S on DOS?


Is it possible to play UT3 or CS:S on Windows 1.x? 2.x? 3.x? You'd be hard pushed to install it on 95 even. This being a site about betas (which may or may not include those prior to Whistler) one might be forgiven for discussing older OSs. ;)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:15 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 02, 2007 5:29 pm

Posts
48
moonlit wrote:
flashstar wrote:
inxsfan92 wrote:
it worked

on DOS 6.22


What do you do with DOS? 8-)

Is it possible to play UT3 or CS:S on DOS?


Is it possible to play UT3 or CS:S on Windows 1.x? 2.x? 3.x? You'd be hard pushed to install it on 95 even. This being a site about betas (which may or may not include those prior to Whistler) one might be forgiven for discussing older OSs. ;)


Just curious... I suppose that it makes sense for an i386.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS