VGA & Sound configuration for Windows 3.11 in VMware

Discuss MS-DOS, Windows 1, 2 and 3.
Post Reply
irispolaris

VGA & Sound configuration for Windows 3.11 in VMware

Post by irispolaris »

Question for those of you that run windows 3.11 in VMware...

Is there any way to enhance the default vga display?
I've tried to enhance display using the 3.11 default driver, but just display got messed up.

And I installed Sound Blaster 16 driver, but MIDI sound doesn't work.

Anyone had success? , then please help me.

intellivision
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Post by intellivision »

I think that a vmware driver for 3.11 is out there somewhere, just google it. As for the midi, vmware has a history of midi issues. Is it really important?
Time can never catch up with me, Zeno proved it.

irispolaris

Post by irispolaris »

intellivision wrote:I think that a vmware driver for 3.11 is out there somewhere, just google it. As for the midi, vmware has a history of midi issues. Is it really important?
Thank you for reply. ^^
I searched over and over again, but I couldn't find out appropriate VGA driver for VMware - Win3.11. And frankly speaking, MIDI in not so important to me.(But I heard MIDI sound can be heard if it is set correctly by manual setting on VMware-Win3.11).

jaclaz
FTP Access
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:29 pm

Post by jaclaz »

Did you try the good ol' SVGA driver?:
http://www.gaby.de/ftp/pub/win3x/drivers/svga.zip

jaclaz

irispolaris

Post by irispolaris »

jaclaz wrote:Did you try the good ol' SVGA driver?:
http://www.gaby.de/ftp/pub/win3x/drivers/svga.zip

jaclaz

It also doesn't work. -_-
Anyway...Thank you very much for your interest and help!! ^^

jaclaz
FTP Access
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:29 pm

Post by jaclaz »

I am sorry , I posted just "half" of the link.

You also need Ken Kato's Patch, here:
http://chitchat.at.infoseek.co.jp/vmwar ... #win31svga

jaclaz

irispolaris

Post by irispolaris »

jaclaz wrote:I am sorry , I posted just "half" of the link.

You also need Ken Kato's Patch, here:
http://chitchat.at.infoseek.co.jp/vmwar ... #win31svga

jaclaz
Wow~~~ IT WORKS~~ Great~~ ^^/
Thank you so much.

(ps)
For the first 2 time, I failed to install the patched vga driver because I got wrong SVGA.exe file(There are many different version & size of it on WEB.) However, I finally found correct file and made it !! ^^

Image


Admin edit: Image made into a link. Please use the image uploader in future. It is a rule.
---> Ok. Sorry for the newbie behavior. ^^ I'll use image uploader from now on.
Last edited by irispolaris on Thu Nov 22, 2007 7:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

jaclaz
FTP Access
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:29 pm

Post by jaclaz »

Is not the one on the gaby.de the correct one?

If not, please post a link to or details about the right one you got working, so that we can call this thread "complete".

jaclaz

irispolaris

Post by irispolaris »

jaclaz wrote:Is not the one on the gaby.de the correct one?

If not, please post a link to or details about the right one you got working, so that we can call this thread "complete".

jaclaz

Ok..^^

VGA Driver file on gaby.de seems to be for native Win3.11 on physical HDD.
(VMware doesn't support Win3.1 officially and I was able to use only 640x480 on 'VMware' with it)

And the necessary VGA driver files for 'Win 3.11 on VMware' are...

(1) Ken Kato's Patch
(The one you linked for me)
http://chitchat.at.infoseek.co.jp/vmwar ... #win31svga

(2) SVGA.EXE
(Ken Kato's Patch needs this file and it is not provided in Ken Kato's Patch)
http://oldfiles.org.uk/powerload/download/svga.exe

This really works!! (1024x768, 256 colors)
Thanks again to jaclaz~

jaclaz
FTP Access
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:29 pm

Post by jaclaz »

irispolaris wrote:
This really works!! (1024x768, 256 colors)
Thanks again to jaclaz~
You are welcome, thanks for posting back the correct info, corrected my links collection.

jaclaz

Post Reply