BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 4d, 10h, 51m | CPU: 35% | MEM: 2527MB of 5633MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Build Version in Windows 3.x builds...        Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:03 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
I was looking through my pile-o-crap box of software and came upon a build of Windows for Workgroups 3.11 (Release Candidate), but I'm not sure how to verify the version number of these older 3.x builds. Can anybody help me out? I'm hopin' this may be a version that noone has yet...

Note: I've already looked at the properties for the Setup.exe file, but nothing was listed under the version number.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:35 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
1834

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
For Windows for Workgroups 3.11, I'd suggest you to check FAX.CPL, because that one has the real build number.
For the other Windows 3.x versions, SETUP.EXE will show a version number. ;)

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
PCem help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:27 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
OBrasilo wrote:
For Windows for Workgroups 3.11, I'd suggest you to check FAX.CPL, because that one has the real build number.
For the other Windows 3.x versions, SETUP.EXE will show a version number. ;)


Ok, well I searched for the FAX.CPL, but instead found FAX.CP_ (I don't know whether or not they are the same, but it doesn;t seem like a truncated version of FAX.CPL, there are not enough characters to cause that.) Plus, how would I get the version number from that? I checked the properties and there was nothing there.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:31 am 
Reply with quote
i think u can use expand command in cmd

example:

expand C:\Win311\fax.cp_ C:\fax.cpl

then it should work 8)


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yes, you need to expand the files first using the command Namronia showed above.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 3:24 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
Namronia wrote:
i think u can use expand command in cmd

example:

expand C:\Win311\fax.cp_ C:\fax.cpl

then it should work 8)


Ok, I'll give that a try when i get home. I'm not as profficient with DOS as I thought :P Thanks!

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
Ok, I tried what you guys said...the file has been expanded to fax.cpl....now what?

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
4tified wrote:
Ok, I tried what you guys said...the file has been expanded to fax.cpl....now what?

Right click and Properties?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 8:14 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
ppc_digger wrote:
4tified wrote:
Ok, I tried what you guys said...the file has been expanded to fax.cpl....now what?

Right click and Properties?


I already tried that to the expanded file...what am I missing here? I hae no idea where to go from here.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 8:44 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 07, 2007 11:08 pm

Posts
398

Location
Copenhagen, Denmark

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 95 OSR 2.1 RTM
4tified wrote:
ppc_digger wrote:
4tified wrote:
Ok, I tried what you guys said...the file has been expanded to fax.cpl....now what?

Right click and Properties?


I already tried that to the expanded file...what am I missing here? I hae no idea where to go from here.


Try to open it with notepad

_________________
My gaming machine: AST Advantage 6066d. Cyrix 66MHz 486DX. 4MB RAM. 512KB Cirrus Logic onboard graphics. Creativa Vibra 16 ISA. 520MB HDD, 3.5" FDD, 40x CD-ROM. MS-DOS 6.22/Windows 3.1


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 8:55 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
1834

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
- 4tified: Then just send me the file, and I'm going to check the build number. ;)

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
PCem help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 9:17 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
hjort wrote:
4tified wrote:
ppc_digger wrote:
4tified wrote:
Ok, I tried what you guys said...the file has been expanded to fax.cpl....now what?

Right click and Properties?


I already tried that to the expanded file...what am I missing here? I hae no idea where to go from here.


Try to open it with notepad


Tried that too, I think I'll just send it to OBrasilo.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 9:23 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
I got it! File Version: 3.11.409

So the build is 409....do we have that yet?

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 9:26 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
1834

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
- 4tified: Yes, both tpemail and I have copies of this build. It's dated October 1993.
However, you said it's a Release Candidate - could you tell as more about? Especially, whether it's RC 0, 1, 2 - so yeah, I'd like to know the RC number very much, for example. ;)

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
PCem help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 9:36 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
OBrasilo wrote:
- 4tified: Yes, both tpemail and I have copies of this build. It's dated October 1993.
However, you said it's a Release Candidate - could you tell as more about? Especially, whether it's RC 0, 1, 2 - so yeah, I'd like to know the RC number very much, for example. ;)


Well, that's the thing...it says Release Candidate on the outside of the floppies, but not which version is... would I be able to find a file name concerning which build this is within the files? Something that designates which the release candidate number? To save some of the trouble, I can just send you the entire disk set in .RAR format via MSN or yahoo messenger so you can take a look.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:34 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
1834

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
Alright, add me on MSN. My MSN address is: obrasileirotrue@gmail.com . ;)

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
PCem help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS