BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 24d, 21h, 37m | CPU: 46% | MEM: 5619MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Weird Windows 1.x        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:38 pm 
Reply with quote
hi, everytime i install windows 1.x, all versions, i get this:

Image

i tried it on:
dos 4
dos 5
dos 6
dos 6.20
dos 6.22

all the same, windows 1.01 to 1.04 :cry:

perhaps you can help me


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:58 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:07 pm

Posts
422
Try this http://vetusware.com/download/Windows%201.01/?id=3574


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:04 pm 
Reply with quote
thanks, that works, but ive got this already, i need 1.01/1.02/1.03 and 1.04, its important, ive tried vmware and virtualpc too


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:03 am

Posts
386

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate
I'm pretty sure that Windows 1.0 didn't work well with anything DOS 4.0 up. So try it with DOS 2.0 and 3.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:17 pm 
Reply with quote
how to install it?

or can you send me a vm with dos 3x or 2x? vmware or virtual pc :)


thanks :D


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:18 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:07 pm

Posts
422
For Windows 1.x just use Dos 3.30


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:21 pm 
Reply with quote
that doesnt work for me,the dos, the disks are not installable :cry:

ok, i can boot, but the virtualpc 07 only supports 1 floppy


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:26 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:07 pm

Posts
422
Namronia wrote:
that doesnt work for me,the dos, the disks are not installable :cry:

ok, i can boot, but the virtualpc 07 only supports 1 floppy
Try install full version of MS-DOS 3.30 on virtual PC and install Windows on it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:31 pm 
Reply with quote
if i start from the disk:


MISSING OPERATING SYSTEM


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I think it is because Windows 1.xx doesn't support VGA graphics modes. I had a similar problem IIRC. Which graphics mode did you select when installing it? You should have more luck with EGA in Virtual PC. Also, as others have mentioned, try an old DOS version, I had it running on 3.30 and 5.0, stay away from 6.x for that.


Last edited by empireum on Tue Aug 07, 2007 1:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:51 pm 
Reply with quote
sounds logical :D

thanks, ill try


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:57 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Ah, something I forgot about the DOS 3.30 (and similarly old) disks: As long as they're bootable, they're also installlable, you just need to install the OS manually. :wink:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:59 pm 
Reply with quote
yeah, its much better now, but i cant use mouse or keyboard :)

Image

install manually? :shock:

only format fat16/12 and copy? cool :D


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:03 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Namronia wrote:
yeah, its much better now, but i cant use mouse or keyboard :)

Image

install manually? :shock:

only format fat16/12 and copy? cool :D

EGA, yes? I knew it was something like that :) As for the mouse, Windows 1.xx doesn't support PS/2 mice. But you should be able to use the keyboard AFAIK.

As for installing DOS manually, yes, create a partition that is not bigger than 32 MB (important!), format it as FAT12 and then copy the boot sector and the DOS system files over using the sys command. That's what it was like back then, no fancy annoying installers. :lol:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:07 pm 
Reply with quote
how to format fat 12?

oh, i tried other thing, so thats much better :)

Image

i can use the keyboard, but only press "w" and he jumps to "win.com" and so with all other letters, but not the arrow keys :P


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:31 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Namronia wrote:
how to format fat 12?

oh, i tried other thing, so thats much better :)

i can use the keyboard, but only press "w" and he jumps to "win.com" and so with all other letters, but not the arrow keys :P

Boot from a DOS 3.30 boot disk, use fdisk and format to set the disk up. You may be able to use a newer DOS version for this purpose, just make sure the partition size is less than 32 megabytes.

Yes, I also got it to run in color mode, EGA hi-res was the right one. I have the same problem with the keyboard, but well... BTW; I installed from my genuine disks, they were all still readable. :shock:

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:39 pm 
Reply with quote
yeah, ill try, thanks, but it looks very very cool :D


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
I've just installed it in a Virtual PC, and the keyboard only seems to work for me if i select US Keyboard during the installation :?

EDIT: Its working with a UK Keyboard now, but a lot of keys dont seem to work... :?

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 1:35 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Speaking of FAT12, has anyone got a VHD file of such a drive? I've tried to set one up using various versions of DOS; being able to format and install DOS afterwards, but on reboot after installing DOS, the drive becomes unreadable. Can anything be done about that?

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:10 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Maybe dubblepost but:

Install windows 1.x versions with display adapter 6 : EGA >64K Colour.

Keyboard in US works when Num Lock is off and 2-4-6-8 are keys are the arrows for down-left-right-up.
And the best option for the keyboard is the US-version its work always.

@hounsell: Maybe the layout of the UK keyboard has changed.

The mouse doesn't work because windows 1.x doesn't support PS/2, that is being used bij VPC and VMWare.

@namronia:


Quote:
The limited number of clusters allowable by FAT12 means that FAT12 can only be used for very small disks. In fact, FAT12 is used for floppy disks and hard drives smaller than 16MB. Although a more efficient file system could probably be developed for floppy disks, FAT12 is still used for compatibility. All Microsoft operating systems, from DOS to Windows 2000 TO VISTA, support FAT12. Even Apple Macintosh’s Mac OS can read the FAT12 file system, which enables Macintosh computers to read floppy disks from a PC.


Read all about File Systems here:
My schoolwebsite, this is the english version:

http://ienc.graafschapcollege.nl/ihsos/unit2/lesson5/25_14content.htm


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:35 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yes, I've already mentioned some of these facts in earlier posts.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:50 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
DjRob wrote:
Keyboard in US works when Num Lock is off and 2-4-6-8 are keys are the arrows for down-left-right-up.


Thanks, I couldn't get the arrow keys to work, this helps :D

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:09 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
How do I have to install Windows 1.0x in a vpc, that I can the see Bootlogo correct?
Every time I try it, it looks in such a way:

Image
Image

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:24 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
That happens if you use a version of Dos that is too new for Windows 1.0x - I had that once, it just gets stuck at the blue screen with the garbled text producing a lot of extremely loud beeping, and you can just make out the text "incorrect DOS version" in there.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:32 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
But which DOS version I should use? If I install DOS 3.30 first, the screen is garbled too, only the beeping isn't there anymore.

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS