BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 1d, 17h, 48m | CPU: 31% | MEM: 2824MB of 8095MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

How many old computers do you have ?
Less than 5 49%  49%  [ 29 ]
5-10 27%  27%  [ 16 ]
10-20 14%  14%  [ 8 ]
20-50 7%  7%  [ 4 ]
more than 50 3%  3%  [ 2 ]
Total votes : 59
Author Message
 PostPost subject: [Poll] How many old computers do you have ?        Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:07 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
Hello,
Another poll ;)
In my situation, I've ~200 old computers. Here is a small picture of my first removal, when I need to transfer them
http://www.anotherworld.eu.org/photos/R ... 271155.JPG

In fact, I have :
~40 Apple
Apple II, IIe,IIc,128,512,SE,Classic(color,color2,classic2...),Classic,Performas,quadra,lc, powermac ...
IBM/Goupil and other old Pc's (8088/8086) : ~15/20
Z80/Amstrad/Atari/Amiga ... ~50
Unclassed (Kaypro and other old computers ... )
n

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:41 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Just 2, at the moment.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:59 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:09 am

Posts
361

Location
China

Favourite OS
Win2000
Geez I really want an AppleII.... :?

I currently have 4 computers and 3 of them could be considered "old."
2 of them were rescued from dumps... :)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 11:42 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Too many :oops: I have quite a few old Apple Macs, an Acorn RiscPC, some old PC laptops, an Apple Newton MessagePad, and an IBM PS/2.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:06 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Too many :oops: I have quite a few old Apple Macs, an Acorn RiscPC, some old PC laptops, an Apple Newton MessagePad, and an IBM PS/2.

I'd really like to get a RiscPC too...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:11 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
A school near here gave away a load of old Acorn machines on Freecycle recently - that's where it came from. Despite being a school machine, it looks as though it's almost brand new, there is not a mark on it or any yellowing :D Also, my dad has just scored me that free Apple Beige G3 minitower and Apple Studio Display LCD screen from his office that I mentioned a while back were a possibility :D Free stuff rules!

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:18 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
Only really 2.

My Sun Server, and my Powermac 5500.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:29 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
Alot less than I used to, sadly... I've had Acorns, numerous Amigas, Spectrums, classic IBM compatibles and Macs but all I have left now are my main machine, a couple of mobos from the PII-PIII era, my Mac Classic II and my Powerbook 140.

Man do I miss all the old kit... it's a lack of space that does it though, that and my unquenchable thirst for unscrewing anything I can take a screwdriver to :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:45 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
A school near here gave away a load of old Acorn machines on Freecycle recently - that's where it came from. Despite being a school machine, it looks as though it's almost brand new, there is not a mark on it or any yellowing :D Also, my dad has just scored me that free Apple Beige G3 minitower and Apple Studio Display LCD screen from his office that I mentioned a while back were a possibility :D Free stuff rules!

That's great. I don't think I'll ever be lucky enough to pick up one of these for free. I mean, it doesn't have to be free, I'd be willing to pay something for it, but the price needs to be adequate. As for the Apple LCD screen, congrats, I have one as well and just love it (and I mean that the way I say it :lol:)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:44 am 
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:07 pm

Posts
422
I have two. Old computer 66 mhz and 16 mb ram and Toshiba 233 mhz 64 mb ram :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:31 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
the only old one i have is a VIC-20


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:45 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Jan 30, 2007 5:45 am

Posts
936

Location
New Zealand
Hp Pavilion 8201 233MHZ Pentinum with 32MB RAM at one stage it was 160MB (The old screen died so bye bye in built microphone). and it has a few mods like I took out the PCI soundcard(Which was a weird stuff all compatibile one) and put in a more compatible ISA one I found lying around. :D. I also have a busted Acron Risc down in the grage that after the screen died I managed to get it hooked into my tv since It had a video av port and I had a cable and I got mono sound out of it. I could never figure out why though that it was displaying in black and white even though it was colour. So it took to it with a screw driver one day when I was especially pissed off with it and accidently dropped a hammer I was using a for another job on top of its Hard Drive. (It had one but the OS was in a ROM and I never figured out how to save anything to it. because each time I tried to it errored it also would not install any extra discs that I got with it when I got it second hand. Maybe the HDD was dead you never know. Well know its in the garage waiting to be chucked out one day. I also used have had other old computers over time which ended up being used as parts becaude I no longer needed them.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:14 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:53 am

Posts
120

Location
Australia
I'd have about 10 to 15 old computers.

_________________
Evan supports minimal Sigs! :P.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 10:48 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
Hey,
The Apple II is a nice computer. I'm looking for an Atom from Acorn, if you know where can I found one, it could be great.
I've recently found a IBM RS6000, nice PPC ^^

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 2:34 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 11, 2007 4:48 pm

Posts
148

Location
UK
One older Computer with Windows ME on it currently collecting dust should make it into something someday...


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject: about 10        Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 7:52 pm 
i have about 10 old computers laying around, ranging from pentium pros to 754 athlon 64's, and one imac snow 600mhz. which i still use the imac, still in good shape.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 8:31 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 07, 2007 11:08 pm

Posts
399

Location
Copenhagen, Denmark

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 95 OSR 2.1 RTM
Nice collection atomcomputer :D

I have around ~25 computers

_________________
My gaming machine: AST Advantage 6066d. Cyrix 66MHz 486DX. 4MB RAM. 512KB Cirrus Logic onboard graphics. Creativa Vibra 16 ISA. 520MB HDD, 3.5" FDD, 40x CD-ROM. MS-DOS 6.22/Windows 3.1


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Poll] How many old computer do you have ?        Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 9:12 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
atomcomputer wrote:
Hello,
An another pool ;)
In my situation, I've ~200 old computers. Here is a small picture of my first removal, when I need to transfert them
http://www.anotherworld.eu.org/photos/R ... 271155.JPG


:o ... that's a big collection!

Is that a Commodore Amiga 500 box in the background .. you should do something with it, apparently it's capable of so much stuff :D


As for my collection, i've got about 10 old machines which I'm going to do something with eventually. I can't just let them rot away...

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: [Poll] How many old computer do you have ?        Posted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 5:30 pm 
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
atomcomputer wrote:
Hello,
An another pool ;)
In my situation, I've ~200 old computers. Here is a small picture of my first removal, when I need to transfert them
http://www.anotherworld.eu.org/photos/R ... 271155.JPG

In fact, I have :
~40 Apple
Apple II, IIe,IIc,128,512,SE,Classic(color,color2,classic2...),Classic,Performas,quadra,lc, powermac ...
IBM/Goupil and other old Pc's (8088/8086) : ~15/20
Z80/Amstrad/Atari/Amiga ... ~50
Unclassed (Kaypro and other old computers ... )
n


Is that what a "car boot" sale is?

Anyway, all my systems are 600mhz or higher. And i have like 20 systems. Yes, old, but not that kind of old. Anything lower than 600mhz i trash.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:37 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
5-10 PC's (and macs)

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 2:33 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
If you consider 500MHz or less old, I've got 4.

One of them (150MHz) is running Neptune as it's my test machine.

Second, there's another (not sure how many MHz) that doesn't work since we took some wires out and used them on an Core 2 Duo computer.

Third there's yet another (400MHz) that is currently running Windows Me. It would have been running Windows 98 if my dad hadn't given it to a friend that installed XP on it and really messed with it so it didn't boot anymore. Got to the Welcome Screen and rebooted on us. Not being able to find the Windows 98 CD, we installed Windows Me.

Fourth is the one I got from school (500MHz). Yes I got it early! My school was doing renovations and tossed out all the old stuff that they didn't need and I got the computer because I asked if I could have it earlier in the year.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 4:05 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:23 am

Posts
36

Location
C:\Documents and Settings\gparker
Hrrrrmmm...
2 old Kaypros, one Pentium 60Mhz, a Mac II, and a Commodore 128. Unless you only count working ones, then scratch off the Mac II. So, 4-5. I would have more, but I just threw out 2 AMD K6's, and a Pentium 133Mhz.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 9:59 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:34 pm

Posts
39

Location
Poland
I've got 4 "old" computers - Celeron 533, Pentium I, 2 x 486DX2. And I've got one newer computer which I don't use, it's Athlon 1700+


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:39 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
3 old comuters here: Macintosh Performa 630, Pentium I 120 MMX and Schneider CPC 6128 :D


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 3:20 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Posts
128
Dam, I only got the one. Its a netvista and its running ipcop. i was thinking of expanding to include an old laptop but i dunno.

_________________
Time can never catch up with me, Zeno proved it.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS