BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 22d, 9h, 36m | CPU: 14% | MEM: 5491MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: How to boot from the VHD?        Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 7:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 27, 2009 7:00 pm

Posts
77

Favourite OS
Mac OS X 10.5.8
I just have a problem with leaked vhd images..

When windows 7 build 6956 leaked I just extracted files from the vhd and edited loader.
But now I have no free hdd to make this. So, can anybody help me to boot from the VHD?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to boot from the VHD?        Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 7:17 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:05 pm

Posts
638
bcdedit /copy {current} /d “xxx”
bcdedit /set {GUID} osdevice vhd=[locate]\folder\filename.vhd
bcdedit /set {GUID} device vhd=[locate]\folder\filename.vhd

http://blogs.technet.com/jamesone/archi ... r-two.aspx

That's what I always do, when wanting to boot from VHD.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to boot from the VHD?        Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 7:19 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2406
pkubaj, you might also want to add this
Code:
bcdedit /set <guid> detecthal on


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to boot from the VHD?        Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 7:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 27, 2009 7:00 pm

Posts
77

Favourite OS
Mac OS X 10.5.8
Thank you very much!

With this I'm going to use vhd images of Windows XP, Vista and 7 :wink:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to boot from the VHD?        Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 7:45 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
does booting Win Vista works for you? I've tried it but it failed for me.

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to boot from the VHD?        Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 8:31 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:35 am

Posts
201

Favourite OS
Vista RTM
I tried booting the leaked 7260 VHD and it worked.
Though I tried the x64 build leaked in VHD before that (dunno the number anymore :() and it didn't worked.

Guess you have to have 32 bit VHDs if you have a 32 bit OS and viceversa for 64 bit.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: How to boot from the VHD?        Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 8:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 27, 2009 7:00 pm

Posts
77

Favourite OS
Mac OS X 10.5.8
Luckie

So, did you hear about Citrix XenServer 5.0?
With XenServer installation disc you can make an iso of any OS. You just need to boot from this disc and select "Make VHD image of installed system" function. You can use this way if installed system isn't win-system (Linux, Hackintosh, etc).
But the second way is better for windows opearating systems.
Second way. With XenServer install disc you can download special utility. And this utility makes a VHD image of installed system. I'm going to do this.

If it will be successful, maybe I'll write a guide. :wink:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to boot from the VHD?        Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:51 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
Actually if you create a VHD using diskpart from a booted 7 dvd and install there, it's added to the BCD store automatically. I've done that once with Beta in HD and RC in VHD.

_________________
I am here in the shadows


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to boot from the VHD?        Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:11 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm

Posts
524

Location
Monson, MA

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
vm.Xeon wrote:
Thank you very much!

With this I'm going to use vhd images of Windows XP, Vista and 7 :wink:

You can't boot VHDs of xp and Vista, since xp and Vista don't know how to mount VHDs. You can only boot Windows 7 from a VHD.

_________________
............................Visit my gopher site!
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: How to boot from the VHD?        Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:18 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:52 am

Posts
890

Location
United States

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2008 Standard
Also, the only SKUs of Windows 7 that have the feature of booting VHDs is Enterprise and Ultimate. All other SKUs don't have that feature.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS