BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 50d, 4h, 43m | CPU: 13% | MEM: 6092MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Longhorn 5048 DWM        Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 6:58 pm 
Reply with quote
i try to start aero in vmware (longhorn build 5048), yes i k now this is impossible, but look at the requirements for aero^^

no fake

http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/3613/5048rs1.jpg


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 9:02 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
161

Location
Melbourne, Australia
aero worked for my in virtual PC 2007 but yeh longhorn is buggy so you most likely will get errors like that lol


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 9:21 pm 
Reply with quote
does it works with vp07??? really, i try it ;)


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 9:56 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
DWM also worked for me, in both VMware and Virtual PC 2004. It was extremely buggy and rather slow, but I did get some transparency and cool effects on minimise/open etc (though it seemed very random which effects were active after each restart).

There's a few regkeys that need to be set for it to work, EnableMachineCheck being the most important if yuo are to avoid that error.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:57 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
you had to force it to work using some registry keys R2 said, once you had enabled them it is all luck to what you will get


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:55 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Will it work when you do like this:
http://emo.toastednet.org/iex_lh/Text/E ... n_5048.txt ?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:48 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
This is the exact .reg file you should use. Should work without reboot on next start of uxss.exe.
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\DWM
EnableMachineCheck=dword:00000000
ForceSoftwareD3D=dword:00000000


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 5:39 pm 
Reply with quote
thx :D

it works now a bit (ok, no aero, but "aero basic") in vpc 07


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 9:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
600

Location
Vienna, Austria
lol.... in the message it says 0.0GHz Prozessor..


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 9:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Ludacris wrote:
lol.... in the message it says 0.0GHz Prozessor..

That is the joke, exactly.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS