BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 50d, 13h, 40m | CPU: 21% | MEM: 6627MB of 11231MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:34 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
hi guys
I want to have my PS2 online. I'm getting a network adapter for it. Now I need to somehow connect it to the back of my router, which is in the other room. Anyway, I don't want to get a long Ethernet cable because I don't particularly want to have a cable coming out of my PS2, into the hallway, into the other room, and into the computer area. I was thinking of something wireless, but I don't know what.

Hence, why I am asking for help.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:48 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
You could buy a DSL router that is capable of running in client mode, and connect to your wifi using that. All you would need then is a small ethernet cable from the PS2 to the second router running in client mode. You would have to configure the router with a PC first though. That's the only real way of making ethernet wireless.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 5:04 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
You could buy a $40 Linksys router and run DD-WRT on it in client bridge mode, I have two rooms in my house connected wirelessly this way. If you have any old linksys equipment laying around... or any old routers for that matter there's a chance you can use them. You can see if your routers are supported here: http://dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv3/dd-wrt/hardware.html

You would only need to run it on the hardware that you want to connect to your wireless.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:51 pm 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:25 am

Posts
2688

Location
Earth.

Favourite OS
Real Life
run the wires through your duct work, that is how I do it =P

_________________
Visit my BLOG!
Wanna play a fun browser based game that plays while you're away? Click here.


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 7:06 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1524

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
Get a wireless access point for like $30, and set it to client mode. Then you can connect wirelessly to other wireless networks.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:06 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
I didn't think about the router idea. Thanks.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 10:17 pm 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:25 am

Posts
2688

Location
Earth.

Favourite OS
Real Life
As long as you are getting the network adapter (I'm assuming this is for the "fat" ps2 sytles, seeing as the "slim" ones have one built in) You should add a HDD to it too, it will take any IDE HDD, and then you can load up stuff like FreeMcBoot and HDLoader to save your disks\decrease access time.
-pizza

_________________
Visit my BLOG!
Wanna play a fun browser based game that plays while you're away? Click here.


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:10 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
Bender wrote:
Get a wireless access point for like $30, and set it to client mode. Then you can connect wirelessly to other wireless networks.


What $30 wireless router operates in client bridge mode out of the box?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:50 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
The Linksys WAP54g AP can do this out of the box with Linksys firmware. However it costs more than $30... more like $80 when I got mine.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 2:35 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
That expansion bay is for a hard drive? cool. I thought it looked about that size. I might just have to do that.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:08 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
You can get a WRT54G2 from here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... _-33124321

Here are instructions to install DD-WRT, make sure you follow them exactly: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=40142

Information and downloads here, type in WRT54G2 and click on it, then make sure you select v24 SP1 [Stable]: http://dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv3/dd-wrt/hardware.html

There might be a different cheap router that will support client bridge mode out of the box, but I don't know of any. Take into account that you can NOT go back to the Linksys firmware if you upgrade this router to DD-WRT.

Once you have it installed come back here and we can help you get it configured correctly if you need.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 4:05 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
Thanks guys


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 5:12 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 18, 2008 3:04 am

Posts
556

Location
Minnesota, USA
QuiescentWonder wrote:
You can get a WRT54G2 from here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... _-33124321

Here are instructions to install DD-WRT, make sure you follow them exactly: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=40142

Information and downloads here, type in WRT54G2 and click on it, then make sure you select v24 SP1 [Stable]: http://dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv3/dd-wrt/hardware.html

There might be a different cheap router that will support client bridge mode out of the box, but I don't know of any. Take into account that you can NOT go back to the Linksys firmware if you upgrade this router to DD-WRT.

Once you have it installed come back here and we can help you get it configured correctly if you need.


NO! Do NOT use SP1 builds, they dont work well on broadcom chips (NEARLY ANY LINKSYS!), instead use SP2 Beta builds they work GREAT.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 5:30 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
I have the SP1 build on Linksys WRT54G v8 and v6, Buffalo WHR-G125 and a Linksys WAP54G v2, and those are just the ones I can actually get into to check their model numbers right now, I haven't had any problems personally.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 4:03 pm 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2648

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
pizzaboy192 wrote:
As long as you are getting the network adapter (I'm assuming this is for the "fat" ps2 sytles, seeing as the "slim" ones have one built in) You should add a HDD to it too, it will take any IDE HDD, and then you can load up stuff like FreeMcBoot and HDLoader to save your disks\decrease access time.
-pizza

Wow.
I'm interested in that! What would you need to do it?

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Playstation 2 Help        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 4:13 pm 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:25 am

Posts
2688

Location
Earth.

Favourite OS
Real Life
A "Fat" PS2, a network adapter from Sony, and an IDE HDD. You also need to learn how to setup FreeMcBoot if you want to load off the HDD. (Or google HDLoader PS2) (You can also google FreeMcBoot to find how to install it, but you need something like a gameshark or Action Replay MAX or Evo (has to load off USB)
I'm not sure what the rules state on console hacking, so i shall leave the rest to Google (pretty easy to find)
-Pizza

_________________
Visit my BLOG!
Wanna play a fun browser based game that plays while you're away? Click here.


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS