BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 11d, 11h, 27m | CPU: 54% | MEM: 6671MB of 12287MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Garry's Mod problems        Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:51 pm 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm

Posts
2006

Location
United States

Favourite OS
MacOS 9.2.2
I have a newly installed copy of Garry's Mod, and yet, whenever I attempt to load it, Windows XP BSoD's. It works on 7 and Vista.

Intel Pentium Dual-Core 2GHz
2GB RAM
GMA4500M
Windows XP Professional

This shouldnt hinder the game, but I am using PacSteamT. (Dont tell me I need legitimate Steam to really play, but I cant afford Steam)

_________________
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Garry's Mod problems        Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:54 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12498

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I had this problem, and its down to directX. You need to run it in directX 7 mode. In the advanced settings, I think the switch is:

-dxlevel 70
or
-dxlevel 7


Put that and then load up again and it should be fine. I had the same issue on my laptop with XP and this fixed it perfectly.

I'm Googling for the correct switch but I'm sure it's one of those.

EDIT: Yep, I got it right originally.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Garry's Mod problems        Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:18 pm 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm

Posts
2006

Location
United States

Favourite OS
MacOS 9.2.2
Now how exactly do I force it to do that? It BSoD's before the game can load to main menu. PacSteamT is basically just pirated Steam, so the way the application works is no different.

EDIT: I think I got it, I just added that command Andy suggested into the properties right after -applaunch 4000
EDIT2: DirectX 7.0 didnt work properly, I saw glitches in graphics. DirectX 8.0 works tons better, and lets me use some more...Graphically enhanced elements :)

Thanks Andy for helping me fix this.

_________________
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer


Last edited by James on Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Garry's Mod problems        Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:28 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12498

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
In Steam you'd right click, properties and use the advanced settings box. In your case add it to the shortcut of the exe.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Garry's Mod problems        Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:31 pm 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm

Posts
2006

Location
United States

Favourite OS
MacOS 9.2.2
As I said in my edit, DirectX 7.0 didnt work right, so I used DX 8.0 :P, and it works 100%.

_________________
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Garry's Mod problems        Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 12:29 am 
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 12, 2009 11:22 pm

Posts
703

Location
/dev/urandom

Favourite OS
W7x64, OSX
If all else fails, a driver update should do the trick. It worked for me... This is just in case it screws up again...

_________________
Web developer, part-time moderator, full-time CSS wizard.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Garry's Mod problems        Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:33 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:38 pm

Posts
27

Favourite OS
6001
You should disable the auto reboot option so you can get a good look at the offending file that caused the BSOD. That way you can pinpoint what software it is part of to find the issue.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Garry's Mod problems        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 5:16 pm 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm

Posts
2006

Location
United States

Favourite OS
MacOS 9.2.2
pcgf340 wrote:
You should disable the auto reboot option so you can get a good look at the offending file that caused the BSOD. That way you can pinpoint what software it is part of to find the issue.


pcgf340, this issue has been resolved. 8-)

_________________
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Garry's Mod problems        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 5:57 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12498

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Question resolved. Topic locked.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS