BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 23d, 7h, 38m | CPU: 37% | MEM: 5364MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: XP RAM query        Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 7:36 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 12, 2009 11:22 pm

Posts
703

Location
/dev/urandom

Favourite OS
W7x64, OSX
I have 4GB of RAM on my laptop, yet XP only picks up 2.92GB of RAM.

1. Is there any reason for this?
2. Does XP actually utilise all 4 gigs of RAM?
3. Is there a patch of some sort to fix this?

_________________
Web developer, part-time moderator, full-time CSS wizard.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 7:39 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:36 am

Posts
227

Favourite OS
Neptune 5.5.5111, ME Betas, OS/2
If it is XP 32 Bit it can only use 3 GB RAM. That's a 32 bit problem I think

_________________
nVidia Neptune drivers
Windows Neptune concepts...
Neptune 5111: problems of installing VMware Tools
Windows 2000 Embedded Myth


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 7:41 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12459

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Alpha-Critik wrote:
I have 4GB of RAM on my laptop, yet XP only picks up 2.92GB of RAM.

1. Is there any reason for this?
2. Does XP actually utilise all 4 gigs of RAM?
3. Is there a patch of some sort to fix this?


1. 32bit can never use all 4GB of RAM because 32bit addressing limits it.
2. No, only what you see in properties can be utilised.
3. No. See answer 1.

You'll see some server OS's capable of using more than 4GB on 32bit but it uses PAE (Physical Address Extensions) but every application can still only use 2GB of the total memory regardless of how much you have. XP doesn't and never will support this.

The amount you see available on XP will never exceed 3.5GB and can be less, in your case, due to motherboard differences or how large the memory on your graphics card is, as it all counts towards the 32bit addressing limit.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 7:58 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:36 am

Posts
227

Favourite OS
Neptune 5.5.5111, ME Betas, OS/2
I found something, look at this

http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system/pl ... AEdrv.mspx

_________________
nVidia Neptune drivers
Windows Neptune concepts...
Neptune 5111: problems of installing VMware Tools
Windows 2000 Embedded Myth


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 8:17 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 04, 2008 5:43 pm

Posts
1237

Location
Milky Way Galaxy

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2012 Dtc
Alpha-Critik wrote:
I have 4GB of RAM on my laptop, yet XP only picks up 2.92GB of RAM.

1. Is there any reason for this?
2. Does XP actually utilise all 4 gigs of RAM?
3. Is there a patch of some sort to fix this?


1. It actually should see 3.5 GB.
2. Yes.
3. Windows XP Proffesional in 64-bit :D

_________________
See my profile for my website link.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 8:36 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Posts
303
motherboardlove wrote:
1. It actually should see 3.5 GB.

Depends on the other system components.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 8:41 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
Your graphics processor may be stealing RAM

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 8:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7355
Uhm.

1: It sees as much as the hardware allows it to. 3.5GB, 3GB, it differs from configuration to configuration.
2: NO. Windows XP (32bit) itself can't use all 4GB RAM. The computer can however. On a 32bit system a lot of hardware addressing is put on the top of the addressing space since Windows XP (32bit) has no means to address it outside the 32bit range. XP may say you got 4GB RAM in total, but it can not utilize it all for applications.
3: No patch. Only to install a 64bit system such as mentioned - Windows XP Professional x64, but also any other 64bit version of Windows such as Vista, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2008. All 64bit of course. The same 32bit limitations apply to all OS:es that are able to only address 32bit of address space.

Remember also that a 32bit Windows can only assign up to 2GB RAM to a single application. This mean that if you got a game that uses a lot of RAM (Crysis etc) it can only use up to 2GB RAM, even if you happen to have 3GB, 4GB or 64TB of RAM. And that's not much at all for all those textures and stuff it needs. Unfortunately switching to a 64bit Windows will not automatically fix the problem, the 2GB limitation/process may be gone but the game itself needs to be able to support more since the software needs to be coded to address beyond the 32bit limit as well. This is why the developers need to make true 64bit applications and games, to fully utilize all the available RAM when needed. For games such as Crysis etc this is a huge problem since developers need to think 64bit as well, and not just make some cheap patches to temporarily address the problem. Software needs to be fully coded for a 64bit system, and preferrably multi threaded as well to make use of all available CPU cores as well. It's no fun to be a programmer during a platform change...

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: BetaArchive Database (beta)
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 11:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
And don't forget if you have a graphics card that can/does use normal ram as extra vram often times it reserves certain amounts away from the system on top of the 3.5gb limit.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 2:22 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:07 am

Posts
1252

Location
Los Angeles, California

Favourite OS
Windows 7 x64
Like others said above, Windows XP 32 bit cannot see all 4GB of memory. You will need to install Windows XP Professional x64 to use all your 4GB of memory.

_________________
Never leave home without PeerBlock, or you might not return at all.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 6:59 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Unless you don't have a 64 bit CPU, then your boned.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 11:24 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7355
True, but if you don't have a 64bit capable CPU then it's most likely too old to do any demanding tasks that would require 4GB+ RAM anyway. And frankly, even a low end 64bit CPU is very cheap today. Skip those two-three pizzas and you got your 64bit CPU, really. Even if it's low end. You won't run Crysis or heavy photoshop filters on an old Pentium 4 or Celeron anyway, and situations like those would benefit from a 64bit CPU and its extended addressing space (and extended RAM usage).

Then of course I know there are people that like the pleasure of torturing themselves by running these softwares on old hardware, but that's a different matter :).

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: BetaArchive Database (beta)
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 5:31 pm 
Reply with quote
My Laptop has 1GB of Ram but XP said it had 768mb but i have a 256mb graphics and thats where its going


Top
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:00 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
aaronc12321, Your Graphics is using your RAM.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 9:26 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
Thats what was said wasn't it...
aaronc12321 wrote:
but i have a 256mb graphics and thats where its going


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 9:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12459

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
It would seem Josh was still half asleep when he posted :) lol.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:33 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 12, 2009 11:22 pm

Posts
703

Location
/dev/urandom

Favourite OS
W7x64, OSX
Andy wrote:
It would seem Josh was still half asleep when he posted :) lol.

Offtopic Comment
Heh, seems like it. XD


It's kinda strange though, because my x86 Vista Home Basic picked up all 4GB's just fine. I guess Vista just fixed that... Bug/glitch?

_________________
Web developer, part-time moderator, full-time CSS wizard.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:44 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
It's not a bug/glitch. 4GB is the limit for 32-bit addressing. That's how it is, and it's never going to change. A 32-bit address space can accommodate 2^32 bytes, which is 4GB. It's a hardware limitation.

You're always going to be able to use less than 4GB because the rest of your hardware needs address space within that limit in order for Windows/drivers to be able to access it. You can even see the range that is being used if you open Device Manager and open any devices properties dialog.

I can guarantee you that the highest end on the listed address space on a 32-bit system is NEVER going to be higher than FFFFFFFF, which is 4GB (in bytes) in hexadecimal. All of those devices are taking away, starting from the top, of the 4GB of addressable space.

So instead of addressing the RAM, your system is addressing the video card, sound card, COM ports, etc.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: XP RAM query        Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:22 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Alpha-Critik wrote:
It's kinda strange though, because my x86 Vista Home Basic picked up all 4GB's just fine. I guess Vista just fixed that... Bug/glitch?


SP1 fixed x86 so it reported the correct amount of RAM, but it still can't use that much.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS