BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 22d, 20h, 24m | CPU: 27% | MEM: 5811MB of 10981MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 6:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Posts
192
I will be getting a new computer soon. Is this a good spec?

3x Nvidia GeForce 9500GT
Intel Core i7 920 Processor (2.66GHz)
Blu-Ray Re-Writer
12GB DDR3 Memory for i7 Motherboards
MSI X58 Pro iX58 Socket 1366 Motherboard
850W PSU

Is there anything else I should get? I'm wondering what I'll need to cool it down (heatsinks, fans, etc.)

I will be buying it off eBuyer.

Also, will this work with OSx86?

EDIT: I'll be going for this heatsink for the CPU:
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/158603

Is a heatsink fairly easy to fit? I've never had to do it before, so I don't know.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 8:24 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
You might want to take a look at your power requirements. Are you sure 850watts will run 3 graphics cards? Remember most cards recommend at least 400watts PER CARD. Wouldn't want you to be disappointed by a simple problem like that.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 8:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Posts
192
OK, I'm looking at a different PSU now. Do you reckon that 1000W would be enough? Or would I still need more?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 8:51 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page
Take a look at that compatibility list...

0-0-0
If I were you, I would save money and not buy the BlueRay drive...They are surprisingly expensive, and most times their other ways to procure media...

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 9:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
WeirdEars wrote:
OK, I'm looking at a different PSU now. Do you reckon that 1000W would be enough? Or would I still need more?

those cards need 350 watt or more per card, so you would be short of the minimum of 1050.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 9:11 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Jan 30, 2007 5:45 am

Posts
936

Location
New Zealand
Get a single Nvidia GTX 260 as that would be a simular price or to 3 9500gts but probably less so whatever single card you can get which isn't over the top yet costs the same so you get the same amount of gpu power with less energy usage and can add another gpu later you could potentially end up with 3 of the better cards if you added them as you needed them giving you wayy more power then maxing it out at the start with lowish end ones and wanting more later. What are you going to be using the system for as i7 may be overkill if you only want 9500gt as that would bottleneck it. Usally the power requirements on the box are for those using generic psus and fast cpus with fancy systems incase they skimp on the video because the psus are crap which means they don't do the rated wattage very well if at all and because those who are inexperienced usally make the generic psu for high end mistake. http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp Go there to calc your psu requirements.

_________________
PC Gamer and hardware plus software enthusiast (especially betas).


Last edited by win98 on Thu May 14, 2009 9:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 9:13 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Posts
192
zamadatix wrote:
WeirdEars wrote:
OK, I'm looking at a different PSU now. Do you reckon that 1000W would be enough? Or would I still need more?

those cards need 350 watt or more per card, so you would be short of the minimum of 1050.


Thanks to Frozenport's suggestion of not getting a Blu-Ray drive and seeing as I have 2 perfectly good DVD drives in my current computer I can use, I have a bit more money to spend on a power supply. So now I can afford a 1250W power supply with an 87% efficiency rating.

win98 wrote:
Get a single Nvidia GTX 260 as that would be a simular price or to 3 9500gts but probably less so whatever single card you can get which isn't over the top yet costs the same so you get the same amount of gpu power with less energy usage and can add another gpu later you could potentially end up with 3 of the better cards if you added them as you needed them giving you wayy more power then maxing it out at the start with lowish end ones and wanting more later. What are you going to be using the system for as i7 may be overkill if you only want 9500gt as that would bottleneck it. Usally the power requirements on the box are for those using generic psus and fast cpus with fancy systems incase they skimp on the video because the psus are crap which means they don't do the rated wattage very well if at all and because those who are inexperienced usally make the generic psu for high end mistake.


Well, I've already got 1 9500GT in my PC at the moment already, and it only costs about £100 for two more.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 9:17 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
If you go with win98's idea you could get 1 card that needs 700 watts get yourself a cheaper power supply and have a bit of cash for whatever.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 9:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Posts
192
zamadatix wrote:
If you go with win98's idea you could get 1 card that needs 700 watts get yourself a cheaper power supply and have a bit of cash for whatever.


OK, I will do that. Thanks.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 9:27 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
I usually use neweggs specifications as a quick sheet to see if I want to do something like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127361 and
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150319&nm_mc=OTC-pr1c3grabb3r&cm_mmc=OTC-pr1c3grabb3r-_-Video+Cards-_-XFX-_-14150319


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 9:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Posts
192
What about the heatsink? Are heatsinks relatively easy to fit? Do I need to buy anything to fit it (e.g. thermal paste)?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 9:57 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 09, 2008 12:09 am

Posts
2480

Location
Bristol, UK

Favourite OS
Windows 8
WeirdEars wrote:
What about the heatsink? Are heatsinks relatively easy to fit? Do I need to buy anything to fit it (e.g. thermal paste)?

Thermal paste would be well recommended. It improves thermal conductivity between the chip and the heatsink. So yeah do go for it.
Heatsinks, they should be ok to fit, depending what you get.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 9:58 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
From what I hear paste is cheap as crap and you mine aswell get some for the other computers in your house because the ones used by manufacturers as relatively cheap.

How hard something is is relative to a person so if you think http://www.pctechguide.com/tutorials/MBoard_Heatsink.htm would be hard then it would be hard :P.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 10:05 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:53 am

Posts
428
WOH WOH WOH!

When the video card manufacturers put out their PSU requirements, that takes in consideration the ENTIRE system.

When the 8800GT came out, the requirements were a 450W PSU with about 28A on the 12V rail. They said that they used a Intel Extreme processor (I think the X6800), that video card, 1 DVD drive and 1 HDD.

If you're doing SLI, you don't double the wattage needed.

The thing that's important when it comes to PSUs isn't the wattage, it's the amperage on the 12 V rail. A 850 W PSU with 20 A on the 12V rail is worse than a 450 W PSU with 32 A on the 12 V rail. Also, quality is VERY important. As the PSU's heat up, the power they've able to put out will drop. Some manufacturers only put on their maximum power output (which is when the PSU is first turned on) and others put the power output after it's gotten heated up. Because of this, name brand is very important when buying a PSU.

Lets talk about the 3 video cards. 9500GTs do NOT use much power. They are low end and low power video cards. Assuming that PSU is of decent quality, 850W should be MORE than enough. Remember, the requirements that are listed take in consideration the ENTIRE computer.

Taking in consideration the entire computer, the 9500GT's listed minimum wattage is 350W and 18A on the 12V rail. That doesn't mean that the 9500GT actually will USE 350W or that it draws 18A. And in fact, 350W is a very conservative number. Take a look over here:
http://www.legitreviews.com/article/760/13/

With the 9500GT in the computer, the ENTIRE computer uses 154W of power (remember, that number figures in the Hard drives, the CPU, the video card, ect). And when you start doing SLI, the power consumption won't double.

With that said YOU DO NOT need a 1000W+ PSU. You don't even need an 850 W PSU. If you bought a decent 600W PSU, that should be ample to power that system. People have the tendency to grossly overstate the power consumption of their systems.

With that said. The 9500GT is a VERY weak video card and doing tri-SLI is such a waste of money. You would be SO much better off buying a powerful single video card for the same price of 3 9500GTs. With SLI, two video cards won't double the performance over one, and SLI only makes economic sense with high end video cards. With low end video cards, such as the 9500GT, it's a huge waste of cash.

So the answer your question, no, as a whole, it is not a good PC. Drop the Tri-SLI 9500GTs and go with a powerful video card and get a lower Watt PSU. 850W is really overkill.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 10:13 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
Don't die of shock ;). You do know a lot more about SLI (I do not use Nvidia so I do not know much about it) but the last suggestion was get a 700 watt power supply and a higher end card instead of 3 anyway :p.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 11:26 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:53 am

Posts
428
zamadatix wrote:
Don't die of shock ;). You do know a lot more about SLI (I do not use Nvidia so I do not know much about it) but the last suggestion was get a 700 watt power supply and a higher end card instead of 3 anyway :p.


That was a long post to type out. :wink:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Thu May 14, 2009 11:43 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
lol :mrgreen:
Offtopic Comment
that smiley actually freaks me out


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Fri May 15, 2009 2:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
932
Those video cards are pretty mediocre. Youd do better with a couple of those $100 ATI 4*** something or anothers than 3 9500's


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Fri May 15, 2009 8:34 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Posts
192
Here's what I'm going to buy:

Intel Core i7 920 2.66GHz Socket 1366 8MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor (QuickFind 151477) (£236.46)
MSI X58 PRO iX58 Socket 1366 8 channel audio ATX Motherboard (QuickFind 160808) (£164.21)
Corsair 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz XMS3 Memory For i7 Motherboards (QuickFind 158370) (£150.00)
Antec 300 Three Hundred Black Case - No PSU (QuickFind 143854) (£46.99)
Scythe Mugen 2 Socket 478, 775, 1366, 754, 939, AM2+ Processor Cooler (QuickFind 158603) (£41.26)
OCZ GameXStream 850W PSU - SLI Ready, Silent 120mm Blue LED Fan (QuickFind 124736) (£89.99)
ZOTAC GTX260 192 Core SYNERGY EDITION 896MB DDR3 Dual DVI HDTV PhysX and Cuda ready PCI-E Graphics Card (QuickFind 160748) (£129.99)
Saitek Eclipse 3 Keyboard - Backlit with Touch Sensitive Control Panel - USB (QuickFind 152187) (£36.79)
Toshiba 1TB External Hard Drive USB2.0 - Retail (QuickFind 145041) (£74.95)
Creative Inspire A500 5.1 Multimedia Speakers - 47W RMS (QuickFind 132357) (£34.64)
Samsung SpinPoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB Hard Drive SATAII *32MB Cache* - OEM (QuickFind 143288) (£69.99)
LiteOn 20X DVD±RW DL & Ram IDE Black Bare Drive - OEM (QuickFind 134324) (£14.99)
Akasa AK-455 Thermal Compound Paste 1.5G (QuickFind 165340) (£0.83)
BenQ G2200W 22" TFT Monitor 1680x1050 300cd/m2 2500:1 (dynamic) 5ms 16:9 DVI-D/VGA (QuickFind 158460) (£119.33)

With £18.61 shipping, that brings me to a grand total of £1230.52, which I think isn't bad for that kind of spec. Thanks for helping me lower the price a bit with the advice about the graphics card and the Blu-ray drive.

Also, having looked at that page, fitting the heatsink looks pretty straightforward. I didn't know it was that easy.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Fri May 15, 2009 9:36 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
You missed off a hard drive unless you have one you're going to use already. I recommend 2x1TB in RAID0 if you're going to get some though, you'll need the speed for such a system!

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Fri May 15, 2009 12:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Posts
192
Andy wrote:
You missed off a hard drive unless you have one you're going to use already. I recommend 2x1TB in RAID0 if you're going to get some though, you'll need the speed for such a system!


I haven't.

Samsung SpinPoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB Hard Drive SATAII *32MB Cache* - OEM (QuickFind 143288) (£69.99)

Should I get a faster one?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Fri May 15, 2009 1:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
WeirdEars wrote:
Andy wrote:
You missed off a hard drive unless you have one you're going to use already. I recommend 2x1TB in RAID0 if you're going to get some though, you'll need the speed for such a system!


I haven't.

Samsung SpinPoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB Hard Drive SATAII *32MB Cache* - OEM (QuickFind 143288) (£69.99)

Should I get a faster one?


Whoops, you know I actually read the list at least 6 times before posting and I still didn't see it.

Thats about the best drive you'll get. I have 3 myself on my storage server. They hit about 120MB/s read/write on their own, but put two in RAID0 and you're laughing. Does the board you have support RAID0? If so it would be well worth it, just remember you're risking a loss of 2TB if either drive fails... Thats the only down side. The double in speed would be well worth it for such a high spec system though. Don't cut back on anything if you're going to do it right.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Fri May 15, 2009 7:25 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Posts
192
It's ordered! :D

I decided to get an extra hard drive and an extra DVD-RW drive as well. I just checked the item description for the motherboard and it says:

6 x 7pin Serial ATA - 6 Device(s) - RAID 0 / RAID 1 / RAID 10 / RAID 5

So that's good. I can set them up in a RAID 0 configuration as suggested. Will information on how to do this be in the motherboard manual?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Fri May 15, 2009 9:21 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Congrats!

Yes there will, but its fairly simple.

Normally you'll enable RAID in the BIOS and save/reboot, then you'll hit CTRL+I just after the BIOS (or similar key combination, it will tell you on screen) and it will take you into the RAID configuration manager. From there, add the two 1TB drives in RAID0 mode with the default configuration for block size. Don't partition the drive here, do that in your preferred OS if you wish. Save and reboot.

Remember because you're now running RAID, some OS's will need a RAID driver, but Windows Vista/7 should not, and neither should newer brands of Linux I expect too.

It's as simple as that. The drive will appear as a 2TB drive (Well, 1.86TB formatted) :)

Remember, you will lose ALL of this data if any one of the two drives fails. Just be warned. You get a nice speed boost at the expense of losing more data. That 1TB USB drive will be your only hope for backups!

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Is this a good spec?        Posted: Sat May 16, 2009 5:39 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Posts
192
Well, it arrived first thing this morning and it took me about 3 or 4 hours to build, but it's working apart from the second DVD-RW drive because the IDE cable wouldn't reach. I'll probably go out and buy a longer cable at some point. Garry's Mod and The Sims 2 run brilliantly on it.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS