BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 22d, 0h, 0m | CPU: 21% | MEM: 5672MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Wake-On LAN        Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 16, 2008 7:30 am

Posts
705
Bit of a funny story for you all.

The IT department at our school is small. There's me, the network admin and the head of ICT. We manage around 450 computers, 90 printers, projectors, a boarding house off-site and about 15 servers. As you've probably realized, the job can get pretty intense and insanely busy. So sometimes, the simple things slip our minds and get lost among the plethora of jobs we have to do.

We've got a particular brand of computers in the school about 12-13 months now. One of the biggest complaints we had was that they aren't Wake-On LAN capable, which meant the residing technician had to go turn them on manually, then remote in and work away.

Fast forward to now. I'm now the residing tech, and we've just had 139 brand new Acer machines come in. And guess what? EXACT SAME ISSUE. I was furious, being the youngest and the lowest rank meant I was the guy who had to do the running and powering on, and now my job had just gotten bigger! So after much swearing, research and talking to Acer, a student suggested to us in passing "Have you checked in Device Manager? There's sometimes a settings on the cards". We all sort of stopped and paused. A Windows based setting for WOL? Is that true? But it HAS to be managed by the BIOS. Surely! We checked everything! Rushed to the nearest Acer, logged on, and THERE IT WAS. "Wake-On LAN After Shutdown = Disabled". Re-enable that, and presto it was working.

Then, the brainwave. What if the machines we got 12-13 months ago are the same? Rush to another lab, jumped on and checked device manager.

SAME. NETWORK. CARD. AS. THE. ACER.

So, as you can see, moral of the story is, don't assume and don't always look at the complicated. Sometimes the simplest is the right...est...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Wake-On LAN        Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:48 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:44 am

Posts
98

Location
Port Orchard, WA
*applaud*


reminds me of reading the good ol tech stories on rinkworks


Top  Profile  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Wake-On LAN        Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:50 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 16, 2008 7:30 am

Posts
705
I'm sitting here on Altiris, remoting into the machines a group at a time and changing the setting...

*cries*


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Wake-On LAN        Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:44 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12459

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Haha classic! I wish WOL worked on my PC's, but I've never really tested trying to get it to work. What software do you use to tell it to come on? I'd love to make it so I can switch my server or PC on remotely. My router claims it can do it but I've never had it work before.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Wake-On LAN        Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:01 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 16, 2008 7:30 am

Posts
705
Andy wrote:
Haha classic! I wish WOL worked on my PC's, but I've never really tested trying to get it to work. What software do you use to tell it to come on? I'd love to make it so I can switch my server or PC on remotely. My router claims it can do it but I've never had it work before.


Well, we use a big server based software package called the Altiris Deployment Solution. Basically does imaging, remote management, software deployment all in the one kit. One of it's features is to send WOL to any machine in it's database. Expensive, but best thing we ever brought in terms of management.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS