BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 54d, 1h, 19m | CPU: 38% | MEM: 5818MB of 10787MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: nVidia 8600GT will not display analog output        Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:07 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
I installed my 8600gt into this new Precision 490 machine, which was hooked to my test station, to a monitor that only supports VGA. Never had a problem before, but the very next day I turned the machine on, nothing would display on the monitor. I thought I killed the card somehow, but it still displays DVI! What in the heck happened here? Here are the things I checked:

1. VGA monitor works fine with other computers.
2. Video card shows same symptoms inside other computers.
3. When enabling dual monitor out, my main monitor hooked up digitally works fine. The secondary monitor (the VGA one) is detected by the video card, but nothing will display when enabling that monitor. The refresh rate and resolution are within acceptable range.

Any ideas?

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: nVidia 8600GT will not display analog output        Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:37 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
Blank, no singal, or is that information not available?

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: nVidia 8600GT will not display analog output        Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:49 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
Frozenport wrote:
Blank, no singal, or is that information not available?


It's just blank. The monitor will display no signal when not connected to a card.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: nVidia 8600GT will not display analog output        Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 10:38 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Stay's it black or does it light up a bit.

1) Turn the monitor on (wich you have)
2) If it lights up, then maybe the cable is broke somewhere or some pins are not straight.
3) If it doesn't light up, then the monitor screen itsself is broke or just the power to the screen.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: nVidia 8600GT will not display analog output        Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7462
Check drivers. Sometimes an update of drivers can break dual monitor setup.

Does the analog output work by itself (i.e if you disconnect DVI and use only analog)? The VGA port works without any drivers, since during boot etc Windows logo is output to all output ports at the same time, at least until drivers kick in.

If everything else checks out fine (monitor etc) then perhaps the VGA port is fried. Unlike DVI, HDMI and DisplayPort VGA doesn't have any current protection, so hooking up a monitor when system is on, or even if the cable as some static charge built up it can fry the port when connecting. If your monitor is connected to the wall the cable still outputs some power, even if monitor and computer is turned off. The VGA port in the computer is also emitting some charge even if the computer is turned off.

I've fried a VGA port myself this way, fortunately I didn't have any need for it when it happened, but in your situation it's worse.

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: BetaArchive Database (beta)
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: nVidia 8600GT will not display analog output        Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
mrpijey wrote:
Check drivers. Sometimes an update of drivers can break dual monitor setup.

Does the analog output work by itself (i.e if you disconnect DVI and use only analog)? The VGA port works without any drivers, since during boot etc Windows logo is output to all output ports at the same time, at least until drivers kick in.

If everything else checks out fine (monitor etc) then perhaps the VGA port is fried. Unlike DVI, HDMI and DisplayPort VGA doesn't have any current protection, so hooking up a monitor when system is on, or even if the cable as some static charge built up it can fry the port when connecting. If your monitor is connected to the wall the cable still outputs some power, even if monitor and computer is turned off. The VGA port in the computer is also emitting some charge even if the computer is turned off.

I've fried a VGA port myself this way, fortunately I didn't have any need for it when it happened, but in your situation it's worse.


I think I may have fried the port then because the monitor doesn't display anything, even by itself.
it doesn't display when the PC is starting up, so definately not a driver issue. Worse case is I'll have to get another 17" secondary screen with DVI input I guess.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS