BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 53d, 12h, 19m | CPU: 18% | MEM: 5717MB of 10620MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Intel Core i7 with Dual Channel?        Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:57 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:07 am

Posts
1252

Location
Los Angeles, California

Favourite OS
Windows 7 x64
Intel Core i7 come with support for triple channel memory support but if I buy a dual channel memory, will I suffer much performance loss? Also, is dual channel still better than single channel?

_________________
Never leave home without PeerBlock, or you might not return at all.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Intel Core i7 with Dual Channel?        Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:06 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 04, 2008 5:43 pm

Posts
1237

Location
Milky Way Galaxy

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2012 Dtc
Day2Die wrote:
Intel Core i7 come with support for triple channel memory support but if I buy a dual channel memory, will I suffer much performance loss? Also, is dual channel still better than single channel?


dual channel is better - it can access 2 memory sticks simultanously. tri- is three. You will suffer a performance loss over three or 6 sticks, but not over 1, 5, 7, or a prime amount of stick or not divisible by 2 or 3.

_________________
See my profile for my website link.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Intel Core i7 with Dual Channel?        Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:17 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:07 am

Posts
1252

Location
Los Angeles, California

Favourite OS
Windows 7 x64
motherboardlove wrote:
Day2Die wrote:
Intel Core i7 come with support for triple channel memory support but if I buy a dual channel memory, will I suffer much performance loss? Also, is dual channel still better than single channel?


dual channel is better - it can access 2 memory sticks simultanously. tri- is three. You will suffer a performance loss over three or 6 sticks, but not over 1, 5, 7, or a prime amount of stick or not divisible by 2 or 3.

Actually that's true for Intel Core 2. Intel Core i7 require a set of three. Read here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Core_i7

_________________
Never leave home without PeerBlock, or you might not return at all.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Intel Core i7 with Dual Channel?        Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:52 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
Looks like you answered your own question?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Intel Core i7 with Dual Channel?        Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 5:11 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:07 am

Posts
1252

Location
Los Angeles, California

Favourite OS
Windows 7 x64
zamadatix wrote:
Looks like you answered your own question?

No I mean, Intel Core i7 is design to use a triple channel bit because a dual channel is much cheaper than a triple channel, can I use a dual channel on it anyway.

_________________
Never leave home without PeerBlock, or you might not return at all.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Intel Core i7 with Dual Channel?        Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:19 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:02 am

Posts
65

Location
NJ
The Core i7 Chips only support DDR3 ram. Therefore you need to purchase DDR3 memory, and im pretty sure you only get the triple channel if you are using 3 sticks of ram. No dual channel with them.


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Intel Core i7 with Dual Channel?        Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:55 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Posts
303
Bigern1990 wrote:
The Core i7 Chips only support DDR3 ram. Therefore you need to purchase DDR3 memory, and im pretty sure you only get the triple channel if you are using 3 sticks of ram. No dual channel with them.

Correct. The i7 only gains a performance boost when using 3/6 sticks of RAM, as they are Triple-Channel, you won't see any boost with 1, 2, 4, or 5 sticks of RAM besides the increase of capacity.

Most companies (OCZ, Corsair etc) sell a Tri-channel pack specifically made for i7 platform.

Example: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820227388


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Intel Core i7 with Dual Channel?        Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 3:12 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:07 am

Posts
1252

Location
Los Angeles, California

Favourite OS
Windows 7 x64
Considering the price of a ram stick per kit, the dual channel is much cheaper than the triple channel and that's why I asked.

_________________
Never leave home without PeerBlock, or you might not return at all.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Intel Core i7 with Dual Channel?        Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 3:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:29 pm

Posts
43

Location
Southampton, UK

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows Vista x64 SP1
I didn't think DDR3 ram could be used in Dual Channel. Triple channel only making an i7 upgrade expensive at the moment.

_________________
We're all gonna die anyway, so what's the point?

Windows Vista Ultimate SP1 64bit, AMD Phenom 9950BE OC to 3.01GHz, 8GB OCZ Platinum 1066MHz, 1TB HDD, BFG nVidia GeForce GTX 285 OC 1GB, SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Edition Champion Series


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Intel Core i7 with Dual Channel?        Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:39 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
Day2Die wrote:
Considering the price of a ram stick per kit, the dual channel is much cheaper than the triple channel and that's why I asked.


That'll change soon enough. DDR3 RAM has gotten cheaper already since the first DDR2/DDR3 hybrid motherboards came out. I'm looking to upgrade within the next year or so.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS