BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 29d, 8h, 2m | CPU: 22% | MEM: 6187MB of 11306MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Change amount of mb of graphic card in VPC        Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 7:46 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 05, 2008 1:46 pm

Posts
682

Favourite OS
Windows Neptune & Longhorn
Does anyone know how to change the amount of the graphic card in windows VPC? I've got a 512 mb graphic card in my computer, but when I'm running Windows 7 (build 7000) in VPC, and start media center, it says that my 64 mb graphic card is to less.

How can I change it into something like 256 mb?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Change amount of mb of graphic card in VPC        Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 8:21 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
according to http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t27953-vram-in-virtual-pc.html
Quote:
In the settings tab before starting the VM and in the Memory option


hope that helps :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Change amount of mb of graphic card in VPC        Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 8:27 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
The memory is 8mb if the VMAdditions are not installed and when installed is 16mb.
You can change it to something of 32mb somewhere, but the link zamadatix posted is for the SYSTEM RAM, you can change that anyway, but it's somewhere in the .vmc file.

But you can't put it above 32mb, then the VM fails to boot or even open-up.

In VMWare 6.5 the maximum memory for the VideoRAM with DirectX 9.0c (only for XP) is 128mb.
Otherwise it's 32mb.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Change amount of mb of graphic card in VPC        Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 8:28 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
use virtual box you can set it high as you want there :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Change amount of mb of graphic card in VPC        Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 8:54 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 05, 2008 1:46 pm

Posts
682

Favourite OS
Windows Neptune & Longhorn
zamadatix wrote:
use virtual box you can set it high as you want there :P


Really?

I mean, 32mb (the maximum of vpc as DjRob said) is not so much for windows versions as seven.

Set it as high as you like would be perfect :D

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Change amount of mb of graphic card in VPC        Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:15 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
VPC etc don't use your real graphics card


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Change amount of mb of graphic card in VPC        Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 6:00 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
Right but to an extent it supports Direct3D acceleration (but crappier than VMware/Vbox)

_________________
I am here in the shadows


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Change amount of mb of graphic card in VPC        Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 6:16 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 31, 2008 7:29 pm

Posts
1428

Location
SE Asia

Favourite OS
MS-DOS 3.30a & Windows/386!
In VirtualPC the line in the vmc files is:


<vram_size type="integer">8</vram_size>

But again no matter what it emulates some ancient S3 chip that probably will *never* run the media centre.

If you want to run videos or anything like that you'll probably need another emulator....

Sorry for the bad news.

Oh yeah don't go above 32 as it'll freak the virtual video card out.

_________________
"Those who don't understand UNIX are condemned to reinvent it, poorly." – Henry Spencer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Change amount of mb of graphic card in VPC        Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Virtual PC was not designed (nor any other) to replace and real computer.
Meaning, no have applications with graphics intense or really need a videocard, this one is simulated.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Change amount of mb of graphic card in VPC        Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 6:12 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:52 am

Posts
890

Location
United States

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2008 Standard
Are you sure it goes all the way to 32MB? When I edited my vmc file so that it says 32 instead of 8 and when I tested that out in Longhorn 4074, the properties window said that there is only 16MB of video ram, not 32. Also, I have VM Additions installed

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MrPinball64 and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS