BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 57d, 23h, 52m | CPU: 13% | MEM: 5830MB of 10257MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 7:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
i went to task manager and added up the ram usage for everything with all programs closed but task manager and calculator. i only got 125 so where are the rest of the processes that are using my ram??? i have processes from all users shown is there anything else im supposed to press?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 7:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:23 pm

Posts
592

Location
Dorset

Favourite OS
Windows 7
show all processes from other users?

_________________
http://shamil.la


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 7:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
zamadatix wrote:
i went to task manager and added up the ram usage for everything with all programs closed but task manager and calculator. i only got 125 so where are the rest of the processes that are using my ram??? i have processes from all users shown is there anything else im supposed to press?


yep :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:23 pm

Posts
592

Location
Dorset

Favourite OS
Windows 7
Sorry, which OS are you on? Some specs?

_________________
http://shamil.la


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
windows 7 6956, 1.8ghz with 2x 256 mb ddr ram, 120gb hard drive, dont know the gpu but shouldn't mater much.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:23 pm

Posts
592

Location
Dorset

Favourite OS
Windows 7
mine doesn't add up on 7, but does on vista, probably a slight bug in 7, nethertheless, should I report it?

_________________
http://shamil.la


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:03 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
doesnt add up in xp on mine either :/


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:26 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:23 pm

Posts
592

Location
Dorset

Favourite OS
Windows 7
run winver and tell me how much physical ram is available.

_________________
http://shamil.la


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:36 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
winver didnt give me that but i do knwo where ot find it and 486 is available with 64 mb vram.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:54 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
Ram usage is dynamic... Its very difficult to sample at a specific instance...

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:57 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
Frozenport wrote:
Ram usage is dynamic... Its very difficult to sample at a specific instance...


but 125 mb versus 350 as what it actually is, thats one heck of a difference and the numebrs wernt changing much at all (maybe a few score of kb nothing like 200,000 kb...)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:00 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:20 pm

Posts
214

Location
Kent, UK

Favourite OS
Windows 7
My guess would be that what you are seeing is the amount of physical memory the applications are using. By default, the meter for each process shows only how much physical memory is in use, but the overall total is a sum total of all the physical and virtual memory being used.

_________________
i7-2700K @ 4.8 GHZ, Kandalf LCS, ATI 6950, 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP, Asus ROG Maximus IV Extreme-Z, 60GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
if thats true... programs need to use more actual ram :P.

how can i see physical and paged usage?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: task manager just doesnt add up, literally        Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:09 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:20 pm

Posts
214

Location
Kent, UK

Favourite OS
Windows 7
In Vista / Windows 7, I am not sure which option shows virtual memory, in XP it is markedly easier to do. You don't need to worry about virtual memory anyway, as Windows can allocate more to itself if it needs to

_________________
i7-2700K @ 4.8 GHZ, Kandalf LCS, ATI 6950, 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP, Asus ROG Maximus IV Extreme-Z, 60GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AWindowsGuy and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS