BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 52d, 6h, 10m | CPU: 16% | MEM: 5616MB of 10534MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Black sidebar-like space occupies my laptop's monitor        Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 11:56 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
My laptop's monitor is experiencing this severe problem. I know that it is more of a hardware issue since both OS installed in my computer exhibit this weird problem.

Here are some images:

Image

Safe mode in Build 6956

Image

TOSHIBA Splash

Image

Windows Boot Manager

Image

Welcome Screen of Build 6801

Image

"Welcome"

Image

Desktop

How do I fix this problem? I need to use this laptop tomorrow for school. My graphics card is Intel GMA900 i915.

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:34 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Looks like the LCD panel is damaged

ADD: Actually, something else is screwed up, it looks like its damaged but everything fits in before the gap if you get what I mean


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:45 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 01, 2008 4:06 pm

Posts
171

Location
Computerland

Favourite OS
Always newest but not this time
check for BIOS update uninstall any newly installed hardware or goto customer care of toshiba


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 1:14 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Did this start when you installed this build, or just bad timing?
Any chance you could open up the laptop, and check the connections to the LCD?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 1:26 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
jabster wrote:
Did this start when you installed this build, or just bad timing?
Any chance you could open up the laptop, and check the connections to the LCD?


It was fine when I installed 6956. The problem started when I brought this to my school for a report earlier today. It showed this problem. Luckily, my teacher was absent, and so I did not need to report. :P

This is just a bad timing.

I'm not much of a hardware genius so I guess I can't open up my laptop.

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 1:50 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Google Toshiba name/model here Hardware Manual. They will tell you how to take apart your laptop


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 5:06 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Just reread the topic - using any build of windows other than RTM for important stuff, in your case school work is a VERY Bad idea.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:58 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Double posting is also a VERY Bad idea :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
happy dude wrote:
Just reread the topic - using any build of windows other than RTM for important stuff, in your case school work is a VERY Bad idea.


to fun to show off really ;), besides if you save every 10 minutes on a thumb drive there's really not that much of a problem if it all decides to blow up in your face.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:03 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
jabster wrote:
Double posting is also a VERY Bad idea :P


A day seperates the two *punch*


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 7:55 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
I'm back. Reinstalled XP then I still had the problem.

Oh well, I decided to remove my LCD completely and hook my laptop up to an old Windows 98-era monitor my late grandfather used to run. Works like a charm.

Then, I reinstalled Vista SP1, then 7 build 6801 and then build 6596. That's a lot of work! 8o|

Thanks for all your help anyways.

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Um. Did you try unplugging the LCD connecter then plugging it back in before completely removing it? :^)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 3:07 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
happy dude wrote:
Um. Did you try unplugging the LCD connecter then plugging it back in before completely removing it? :^)


Yup. Problem still remained.

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re:        Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:59 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 20, 2008 12:24 am

Posts
140

Location
Fort Washington, MD USA

Favourite OS
OS 7
Emir214 wrote:
happy dude wrote:
Um. Did you try unplugging the LCD connecter then plugging it back in before completely removing it? :^)


Yup. Problem still remained.



Silly question have you droped it recently ?

at any rate the LCD Panel is probably buggered .... also if you took off the panel, take apart the back, some times the connector ribbons come loose @ the panel


if you have funds available I would start looking @ second hand places .... Ebay also

_________________
No Matter Where You Go, There You Are ....

If you can't prove it didn't happen then it must be true and you are probably part of the cover-up.


Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS