BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 5d, 18h, 34m | CPU: 18% | MEM: 2068MB of 3637MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Xbox Controller Question        Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:25 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
hey guys

I dug out my old xbox controller and modded it to run on the PC. It works fine.

But I was wondering if there was a way for games to see it as an Xbox 360 contoller on the PC

The games I have are, Fallout 3 and Race Driver GRID. I would like to play these games with my controller.

any help would be appreciated.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 1:21 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
i remember trying to do something like this for halo 2, could never get it to work right


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 1:24 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
well it works ok on gears of war

i am going to buy a used wired 360 controller when i get the funds

i just wanted to see if i could use this one instead


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:49 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 27, 2008 1:57 pm

Posts
15
What is it currently detected as? If its detected as a gamepad should be able to bind controls. If its a joystick, use Joy2Key (input is recognized as keyboard input), and see if you can map the keys that way.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 10:42 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
its recognized as a XBCD Gamepad


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:32 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 27, 2008 1:57 pm

Posts
15
So you are using XBCD drivers?
In that case it *should* be recognized, shouldn't it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:39 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
the only game that recognizes it is gears of war


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 1:23 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 27, 2008 1:57 pm

Posts
15
Hmm well the only other thing I can think of right now is Xpadder:
http://xpadder.com/
Try that and see if it works.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:23 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
594
Isn't it recognized as a normal joypad?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:31 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
xpadder works

its recognized as XBCD Gamepad in device manager


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 8:45 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
when i used to us mine (can't get x64 vista drivers when i last looked), one of the joysticks never got detected in halo 2. i read something about it on the xbcd driver site


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 9:07 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am

Posts
544

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Mac OS Classic
i have discovered something

in fallout 3, i select key mappings, click device and i can set it up as a joystick

dumb old me for not noticing it.

thanks for your help though


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS