BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 4d, 4h, 24m | CPU: 10% | MEM: 2276MB of 3717MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Found a pc and monitor        Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
I found a old IBM computer and big monitor next to my trash!!! The monitor powers up but the PC just has a little noise coming from it. i hope it powers up eventually. They are so cool!!!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 09, 2008 12:09 am

Posts
2480

Location
Bristol, UK

Favourite OS
Windows 8
What's the specs? (Give an estimate)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:43 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
I opened it and all I know for now is this:


1) It has no RAM
2) It does not power on
3) It has an IBM 20.4GB hard drive

The monitor works perfectly and I tried unplugging the display (blue) cable and it said no signal to receive so it works perfectly.

Is the PC's problem the RAM?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:51 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:52 am

Posts
890

Location
United States

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2008 Standard
Hmm... That HD is huge... And RAM for old computers are quite expensive so good luck getting RAM...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:04 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
Try buying or getting some PC66/PC100 SDRAM

http://www.18004memory.com/browse/cats= ... 82|0|0|0|0

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:25 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
So it doesn't boot up cause of the RAM right?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:28 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
That seems likely.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:36 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:53 am

Posts
428
MugenFox wrote:
I opened it and all I know for now is this:


1) It has no RAM
2) It does not power on
3) It has an IBM 20.4GB hard drive

The monitor works perfectly and I tried unplugging the display (blue) cable and it said no signal to receive so it works perfectly.

Is the PC's problem the RAM?


If there is absolutely no power going onto it (assuming the switch for the PSU is in the on position and that everything is hooked up properly), then, the computer should still "start." You won't get to the BIOS and there may be some beeps coming from the computer. If there's no RAM, it will fail the POST, but it should still turn on and get power.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:53 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am

Posts
748

Location
Guelph, ON, Canada
its always so awesome finding comptuers on the curb and wondering if they will power up, hehe I still can't believe someone tossed it away though.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:53 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Apr 12, 2008 6:26 pm

Posts
104

Location
Bristol

Favourite OS
Windows XP MCE Build 2600 ;)
Just sent you a pm as im selling loads of stuff like SDRAM on BA look at my post http://betaarchive.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6341

Jordan Bryant ;)

_________________
--Signature Coming Soon--
--------------------------


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:44 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
If the PC's fan whirs and the hard drive powers up, but there's no picture, it could well be the RAM as I've had this issue before.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:33 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Apr 12, 2008 6:26 pm

Posts
104

Location
Bristol

Favourite OS
Windows XP MCE Build 2600 ;)
Sane here but on my dads pc, sometimes even if you got the right type of ram for it sometimes the motherboard does not like it for some strange reason or one stick of ram intefears with the other stick of ram, i have experienced this on my server.

#J o r d a n :p

_________________
--Signature Coming Soon--
--------------------------


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:43 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
I hear a few noises from the PC and I think the fan is whirling a little.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:27 pm

Posts
70

Location
Staffordshire, UK
hypr wrote:
its always so awesome finding comptuers on the curb and wondering if they will power up, hehe I still can't believe someone tossed it away though.


Think how I felt when somebody gave me a PC with 2GB RAM and a 2.5GHz Dual Core Processor, after a bit of messing around I got it booting XP Pro SP3.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:54 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
Cursed wrote:
hypr wrote:
its always so awesome finding comptuers on the curb and wondering if they will power up, hehe I still can't believe someone tossed it away though.


Think how I felt when somebody gave me a PC with 2GB RAM and a 2.5GHz Dual Core Processor, after a bit of messing around I got it booting XP Pro SP3.

That's sooo funny. People say "It's not working anymore"
and suddenly, you just see it's a BSOD hahahah, and you insert your Windows DVD and when it's done you show it to the one who gave it to you who will say <OMG, tech support said the problem was unsolvable. You're quite a genius!.> Hahah, I love that. Has happened some times
xD


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:43 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:27 pm

Posts
70

Location
Staffordshire, UK
Quote:
That's sooo funny. People say "It's not working anymore"
and suddenly, you just see it's a BSOD hahahah, and you insert your Windows DVD and when it's done you show it to the one who gave it to you who will say <OMG, tech support said the problem was unsolvable. You're quite a genius!.> Hahah, I love that. Has happened some times
xD


Well this PC was no longer used, it was off someone my Mum works with, and he had a new one. It had no hard drive, and the ram had been removed from the slots and put in static bags. I put a hard drive from a Pentium III PC I had (Didn't work and its too crappy for me to bother fixing). Once I put that in and obviously the RAM, it was still not working properly (No Mobo screen). I just plugged a molex into the Mobo and it booted to a BSOD. Which I knew would happen because the Windows on the HDD was from another PC. I just reinstalled XP and it worked fine.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:09 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jul 10, 2008 7:50 pm

Posts
64

Location
France

Favourite OS
7601
Cursed wrote:
hypr wrote:
its always so awesome finding comptuers on the curb and wondering if they will power up, hehe I still can't believe someone tossed it away though.


Think how I felt when somebody gave me a PC with 2GB RAM and a 2.5GHz Dual Core Processor, after a bit of messing around I got it booting XP Pro SP3.

Someone gave me a Pentium D 3.4ghz PC with 1GB Ram and a 7600gs video card because he thought the cpu was burned, it was just the PSU and after I replaced it, the pc worked fine :D

_________________
Sorry for bad english i'm french :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:27 pm

Posts
70

Location
Staffordshire, UK
Yeah, if one of my PCs broke I would investigate it myself and fix it, I wouldn't ever throw it away.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 12:43 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
I don't think this one is fixable.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 12:59 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
SCREW WHAT I SAID!!
IT WORKS WITH 98!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm reinstalling it my way right now.
I will try Neptune.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:18 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:27 pm

Posts
70

Location
Staffordshire, UK
MugenFox wrote:
SCREW WHAT I SAID!!
IT WORKS WITH 98!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm reinstalling it my way right now.
I will try Neptune.


See, EVERYTHING is fixable if you try hard enough.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:26 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 09, 2008 12:09 am

Posts
2480

Location
Bristol, UK

Favourite OS
Windows 8
MugenFox wrote:
SCREW WHAT I SAID!!
IT WORKS WITH 98!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm reinstalling it my way right now.
I will try Neptune.


Excellent. Have fun with your new toy then!

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
128MB RAM
19.0GB Hard Drive
Runs Neptune 5111 like it has 2GB RAM
I am loving this PC!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 10:58 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 09, 2008 12:09 am

Posts
2480

Location
Bristol, UK

Favourite OS
Windows 8
Would it be possible for some photo magic :D

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 12:50 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
Rioter wrote:
Would it be possible for some photo magic :D

Great!!!!!!!!!!!
Share some pics with us!!
Cool you made it! Congrats!
BTW, can 98 handle with 2 gigs on RAM?


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS