BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 52d, 21h, 14m | CPU: 61% | MEM: 5804MB of 10646MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Anyway to boot this laptop AT ALL?        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 3:18 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 18, 2008 3:04 am

Posts
556

Location
Minnesota, USA
I have an old laptop (Compaq 1245) with no OS and was wondering how i could install one/boot it up from a source. My cd drive is jammed inside the case so i cant boot from cd. I have no completely working floppies. I cant boot from USB. I want to boot from a d-link DFE-690TXD card but I am not sure how to do network booting. I hope that made sense. Please help.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 4:23 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:15 am

Posts
121

Favourite OS
Mac OS X 10.7&Ubuntu 11.04
Of the top of my head... You can take the hard drive out plug it into another computer and install an OS on it. Also you can pick up a external CD-Drive. You can also break up vista into 3 CDs if you want Vista.

_________________
TheTutorial


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 4:45 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 18, 2008 3:04 am

Posts
556

Location
Minnesota, USA
1. When i said this was an old laptop i meant that it couldn't run xp at a decent speed, so no vista.
2. My cd drive is jammed inside the laptop case because i put it together wrong.
3. I don't have a laptop compatible with my laptop.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 4:58 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 18, 2008 7:28 am

Posts
333

Favourite OS
Windows 7
considering there is no OS present, you'd have to use floppies to net boot..

so from my point of view you have either two options:

1) buy more floppies
2) take apart the laptop and fix the CD drive


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 5:17 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:52 am

Posts
890

Location
United States

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2008 Standard
I think you really should fix the CD device. DOS is the only OS I can think of that you can install with just 1 or 2 floppys, and if since the laptop is old, the latest OS it can probably run is Windows 2000.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 6:42 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
In the short term this isn't a very viable solution, but:
Keep your eyes on local seccond hand stores, you'd be amazed how often external floppy drives turn up in those places.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 6:45 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 18, 2008 3:04 am

Posts
556

Location
Minnesota, USA
I actually did install windows 98, but it didn't install completely or something, maybe cause i installed from usb after getting dos usb drivers. i actually do have 1 floppy but i can only use about 1mb/1.44mb of it because of cyclic redunacy.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:22 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Look in your BIOS, see if you can boot from PCMCIA instead of the HDD... I can on my semi-dead P4 laptop but I don't exactly know what I need :/


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 18, 2008 3:04 am

Posts
556

Location
Minnesota, USA
Nope, it doesn't support that either. BTW, when i said it was an old laptop i mean its OLD. From 98-99 so no advance features.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 3:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
You should be able to find a floppy quite easily, loads of people have them and don't use them any more. There's a floppy edition of Windows 95 and 98 which you can download the images of and write them to the floppy on another PC - you only need a minimum of one disk if you just write the image required by the installer every time it asks for the next disk.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 4:03 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 09, 2008 12:09 am

Posts
2480

Location
Bristol, UK

Favourite OS
Windows 8
The best and more convenient way is to unjam that CD-Drive. It will make everything else a lot easier to cope with in my view.

Otherwise find a FDD based OS (i.e. Windows 95/8)

_________________
Image


Last edited by Rioter on Sun Nov 09, 2008 6:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 6:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
Take all the screws out that are underneath the CD drive, then see if the drive works. Maybe you put a screw that was too long in the wrong place, I've done that before.

Also, you can use the Ultimate Deployment Appliance to install over the network... if you can figure it out. http://www.ultimatedeployment.org/

Are you saying that you only have one floppy disk or you only have one drive? You could just go out and buy some more floppy disks, they don't cost a lot, if you can find them.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:09 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 18, 2008 3:04 am

Posts
556

Location
Minnesota, USA
I have one floppy disk that isn't even fully usable, but I am installing windows 98 from flash drive now.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 12:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Just walk into a computer store and ask them if they have any floppy disks, chances are they'l just give them to you.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 1:50 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Though pretty much outdated and abandoned, floppy disks are still on the market. The post office near me still sell them. I wonder how much they actually sell?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 18, 2008 3:04 am

Posts
556

Location
Minnesota, USA
My dad found me an unopened pack of floppies so it looks like im set!


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS