BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 51d, 7h, 28m | CPU: 19% | MEM: 5520MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: AOL on Windows NT 4.0        Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 1:56 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 am

Posts
79
Can you you use AOL on Windows NT? Which Version?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 2:04 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
errr... why? and 7.0 works according to google


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:16 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 am

Posts
79
I have an aol acount.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:10 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Dad used AOL on Windows NT 4, but the 32bit versions wouldn't work - Just use AOL 3 to sign in, and then use a different browser to access the Web with (I can recommend Mozilla or Firefox).

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:12 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 am

Posts
79
marktuson wrote:
Dad used AOL on Windows NT 4, but the 32bit versions wouldn't work - Just use AOL 3 to sign in, and then use a different browser to access the Web with (I can recommend Mozilla or Firefox).


How can i set it up? I don't have a modem :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:25 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Dukenukem5 wrote:
marktuson wrote:
Dad used AOL on Windows NT 4, but the 32bit versions wouldn't work - Just use AOL 3 to sign in, and then use a different browser to access the Web with (I can recommend Mozilla or Firefox).


How can i set it up? I don't have a modem :(

Well the answer's easy - get a modem.

If your home Internet connection is Broadband/Ethernet-based, though, just get a network card for your PC and use that. AOL software's a waste of time. You want to browse, use Firefox 1.5; you want Email, use Thunderbird, or AOL's web-based client.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 3:39 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
How are you posting here? Is your computer already online?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 3:51 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 am

Posts
79
QuiescentWonder wrote:
How are you posting here? Is your computer already online?

The Windows NT 4.0 I have is on a VPC. And i was using Internet Explorer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 4:18 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
Wait... what? You want to install AOL 3.0 on to Windows NT 4.0 in a virtual machine? :? To use AOL? But you're already online? Why are you installing AOL?

You know, you can browse the AOL website and check your email without having the AOL client installed.

OR

Instead of it being really slow, why don't you just use the AOL client that's on your computer?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 9:18 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 am

Posts
79
QuiescentWonder wrote:
Wait... what? You want to install AOL 3.0 on to Windows NT 4.0 in a virtual machine? :? To use AOL? But you're already online? Why are you installing AOL?

You know, you can browse the AOL website and check your email without having the AOL client installed.

OR

Instead of it being really slow, why don't you just use the AOL client that's on your computer?

I think is a Great idea. Thanks! Topic can be locked now.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS