BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 8d, 13h, 55m | CPU: 29% | MEM: 2969MB of 8095MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 103 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Change?
Yes 50%  50%  [ 48 ]
No 50%  50%  [ 48 ]
Total votes : 96
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Should I switch to Windows 7 as my main OS?        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 6:49 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
Hey!
Just wanted your opinion. Shall I change to Windows 7 as a main os?
Thanks


Topic title changed to be more descriptive.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 7:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 27, 2008 8:09 pm

Posts
3934

Favourite OS
OS X 10.8
I wouldn't. I've personally been plagued with tons of minor glitches that detract from the over all experience. I've experienced issues with getting 6801 to recognize that I've ejected and put in another disc, I've had issues with the start bar freezing up from time to time, and I've experienced some application incompatibility - Call of Duty: World at War, for example, seems unable to install. As I'm typing this, I've actually just noticed another bug with text fields in Chrome that doesn't appear in any install of Vista I have - letters will randomly be whited out, as I backspace they don't appear to be backspaced (but when highlighted disappear), and other such bugs.

All in all, I'd say no, it's not ready. It's further along than Longhorn was at the time - but not yet ready.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 7:05 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jun 02, 2008 1:06 pm

Posts
74

Location
St.Petersburg, Russia
I think, you should! It's very stable build. During 6 days I had no troubles with it (instead of problem with Daemon Tools). It works faster, then Vista, performance in games is much better.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 7:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
I already deinstalled it after 2 days of use. Yes, it is a very stable build, but the
performance isnt't that good (I am using the Vista SP 2 Beta now and It's much
faster I think), but the main reason I removed it was that my USB devices and
my W-LAN adapter did not work properly. I have no idea why, but Win7 did not
recognize my external harddrive. The wireless connection was quite instable, it
dis- and connected me all the time...
Well, I think its up to you to decide if you are going to use it as main OS or not.
Give it a try! ^^

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 7:22 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:32 am

Posts
263

Favourite OS
Windows 8 7955
I've been using it as a primary, dual booting with vista, but i haven't booted into vista since the PDC leak and it's been great! But it's even better with the new taskbar enabled.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 7:26 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
How about drivers and program compatibility?
I care none for games. I don't use any except for some old DOS ones.
I don't like Chrome, so np either, and well, when I installed my Vista drivers on 7 65xx they all worked neatly.
Is migration easy?
I mean, can I upgrade with ease? Does "upgrading" work?
Thanks!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:15 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:51 pm

Posts
181

Location
Czech, Moravia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM x86-64
I have no problem with drivers (Intel chipset, nVidia GPU, Realtek HD audio). If it reports something like "Non supported OS" just set Compatibility mod to Vista RTM. Upgrade from Vista works fine.
But there is problem with USB devices (flashdisk, external HDD...) they are not detected properly.

I use Win7 as the main OS, but still have Vista on another partition.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
as long as you can find the appropriate drivers and enable the new features i don't think you'll find a problem


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
is the usb problem too serious?


Last edited by Chicago on Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:32 am

Posts
263

Favourite OS
Windows 8 7955
Chicago wrote:
How about drivers and program compatibility?
I care none for games. I don't use any except for some old DOS ones.
I don't like Chrome, so np either, and well, when I installed my Vista drivers on 7 65xx they all worked neatly.
Is migration easy?
I mean, can I upgrade with ease? Does "upgrading" work?
Thanks!


Some of my hardware wasn't detected on first boot, but the Vista drivers from my oem worked without a hitch. So far all of my programs work, (even the obscure ones) and Avast! works fine. I haven't tried an upgrade, but dual booting works without messing up vista (as far as I can see)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:10 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:51 pm

Posts
181

Location
Czech, Moravia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM x86-64
Chicago wrote:
is the usb problem too serious?


it's not, but mass storage devices doesn't work. Other USB devices works fine (also card reader, webcam...). I am trying to solve this problem, because i need to connect external HDD (i am out of space).

About software compatibility - I use Win7 for 6 days and i detected only two problems. I was unable to install DaemonTools :( ( installer asked for reboot, and after reboot again and again... also Power4Gear (power management app.) crased after installation.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
baso wrote:
Chicago wrote:
is the usb problem too serious?


it's not, but mass storage devices doesn't work. Other USB devices works fine (also card reader, webcam...). I am trying to solve this problem, because i need to connect external HDD (i am out of space).

About software compatibility - I use Win7 for 6 days and i detected only two problems. I was unable to install DaemonTools :( ( installer asked for reboot, and after reboot again and again... also Power4Gear (power management app.) crased after installation.


Mass Storage Devices work fine for me, only thing that's a little hinky is my card reader, I have to reinsert the SDCard several times for 7 to recognise the device, but since I only use it for ReadyBoost, not a big problem.

Windows 7 isn't ready to be used for your main desk, I'm currently using it as mine at the moment, but it currently has some severe issues with standard devices at times, you can try it out, but don't don't come in 1 day and say it's working fine, give it more then acouple of days.

I've already had to do several system repairs to fix various device problems (OMG, your DVD Drive is set to default instead of your CD Drive! Let's BSOD and never restart again!!!), just little things that end up turning into big problems upon reboot.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:32 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:51 pm

Posts
181

Location
Czech, Moravia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM x86-64
Alexsis wrote:
Mass Storage Devices work fine for me...


What is your chipset? Intel? maybe it's only driver problem (but i detected same problem o 3 computers -all based on Intel chipsets)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:34 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
SiS Chipset on a GigaByte Mainboard.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:02 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:51 pm

Posts
181

Location
Czech, Moravia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM x86-64
Well it's not optimal solution but mass storage devices are detected correctly if conected during boot :idea: . Problem with DaemonTools is caused by SPT service, but standalone installation (with admin rights and compatibility mode) also failed :x

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:03 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:52 am

Posts
538

Favourite OS
xboxkrnld.15574
[quote="Derf"I've actually just noticed another bug with text fields in Chrome that doesn't appear in any install of Vista I have - letters will randomly be whited out, as I backspace they don't appear to be backspaced (but when highlighted disappear), and other such bugs.

All in all, I'd say no, it's not ready. It's further along than Longhorn was at the time - but not yet ready.[/quote]

I've had this with chrome in XP, 2003, Vista and 7, It might just be the GC drivers...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:21 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 am

Posts
79
I don't think you should because it has a timebomb on it. I could be a good idea when the final release comes out in stores.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:25 pm 
Reply with quote
Maybe you should switch.

I'm seriously considering it because its a lot faster than vista and my video driver works a whole lot better in 7 than in Vista.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:45 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:51 pm

Posts
181

Location
Czech, Moravia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM x86-64
AltecE wrote:
Maybe you should switch.

I'm seriously considering it because its a lot faster than vista and my video driver works a whole lot better in 7 than in Vista.


Well, disk and memory operations also Aero graphics (like Win+Tab flip) are faster (on my HW), but game graphics is same or slower (compare to Vista).

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:49 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Posts
303
AltecE wrote:
Maybe you should switch.

I'm seriously considering it because its a lot faster than vista and my video driver works a whole lot better in 7 than in Vista.

That's odd, my 6800GS get about half the performance in 7 as it does Vista.

Anyways if you don't care about playing games or what not, sure. But be prepared to upgrade your install several times over the next few months.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:24 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
to sum up things for most post just test it see if your hardware is supported better than in vista and activate the new taskbar then decide for yourself it will differ on every computer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:36 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:13 am

Posts
229

Favourite OS
Windows 7 SP1
I'm considering this, too. I have used it in a VM, but I would really like to test it on real hardware with Aero enabled and such - and unfortunately, I have only one physical computer!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:51 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:51 pm

Posts
181

Location
Czech, Moravia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM x86-64
XX55XX wrote:
I'm considering this, too. I have used it in a VM, but I would really like to test it on real hardware with Aero enabled and such - and unfortunately, I have only one physical computer!

Did you consider dual boot?

[offtopic related to zamadatix's signature] Actually most of gates in your computer are NANDs :D :wink: [/offtopic]

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 1:04 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:37 pm

Posts
2381

Location
United States
you've never dual booted with linux before? just make sure you defrag your vista partition and hen shrink it by 50% ( win7 will do that)

and yes but that isnt as fun to say ;)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 2:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
Windows 7 is still in alpha stage, why use it as a main OS? Remember that it would expire in half a year and an upgrade would be needed.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 103 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS