BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 7d, 18h, 6m | CPU: 24% | MEM: 2050MB of 3535MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Error while upgrading Vista        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:59 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
I tried upgrading XP Pro to Vista Ultimate but I get this error. It occurs after "Gathering Files (32%)". My installation media is a DVD.

I used the same DVD to perform a clean install at my sister's laptop but it worked for her.

Image

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 2:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
I generally always go with a clean install, otherwise existing problem's can be inherited by the new OS.
Mabye a clean install is the way to go...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 2:23 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
I thought that if an error occurs whilst copying the files, a lot of the time it is because the installation media is damaged.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 2:26 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
jabster wrote:
I generally always go with a clean install, otherwise existing problem's can be inherited by the new OS.
Mabye a clean install is the way to go...


I can't. There are important files on my disk. I don't have a storage device for them. I ran out of CDs.

squidward_ wrote:
I thought that if an error occurs whilst copying the files, a lot of the time it is because the installation media is damaged.


The files were copied successfully. Gathering them produced the error.

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 2:33 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
If you're using SATA/Raid, upgrade your drivers in XP before trying to do an Upgrade, it seems to be a common problem.

I know this may not help, but you're not the only person who seems to be having this problem:
http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q ... arch&meta=

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 3:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
Alexsis wrote:
If you're using SATA/Raid, upgrade your drivers in XP before trying to do an Upgrade, it seems to be a common problem.

I know this may not help, but you're not the only person who seems to be having this problem:
http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q ... arch&meta=


Thanks, I'll try that.

By the way, are you the same user as Dictator-of-Death back at AeroXP?

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 3:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
Indeed I am, my Avatar gave me away, eh? :D

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 3:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
What drivers do I need to upgrade and where can I get the driver files for upgrade?

Sorry, I'm new at this.

EDIT: Okay, I've decided to have a clean install from within Windows XP. But, can I keep the files at C:\Documents and Settings or at C:\?

EDIT2: Back to Upgrade portion, can I just gather the files manually?

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:03 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
There should be log files of what happened during the Setup. Check here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927521


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:06 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
Alexsis wrote:
If you're using SATA/Raid, upgrade your drivers in XP before trying to do an Upgrade, it seems to be a common problem.

I know this may not help, but you're not the only person who seems to be having this problem:
http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q ... arch&meta=


I have IDE drivers. Here are the specs of my laptop.:
http://www.ciao.co.uk/Toshiba_Satellite_M40X_119__6480593

EDIT: I ran a clean install. It worked.

Thanks for the help. It's way past my bed time (12:40 A.M.). Please close the topic.

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:37 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
It would probably be better if this topic weren't closed.
That way if someone had somthing more to add to the discussion, they could.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:19 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat May 03, 2008 4:28 am

Posts
253

Location
Metro
jabster wrote:
It would probably be better if this topic weren't closed.
That way if someone had somthing more to add to the discussion, they could.


Probably you're right.

_________________
Someday, I hope to contribute something to this site again. But I'm no computer programmer.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: olssonalf and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS