BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 24d, 19h, 57m | CPU: 47% | MEM: 5666MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Broken Graphic Card        Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 19, 2008 7:23 pm

Posts
163

Location
India
I had been using a nvidia 6200 gt on a AGP slot in my old pc but i unfortunately spoilt it and now i was wondering how i could reset my motherboard to use its internal graphics
pls help as now i cant use my old pc because the settings in bios tell it to use the graphic card which is now not working


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:36 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
Just reset the BIOS, there should be a jumper on your Motherboard to reset it, it will probably be close to the onboard USB pins, just look around the board until you find the work reset, clear, or bios, then put a jumper over the pins.

If you can't find it, grab the model code of your motherboard and go to the makers website to find the manual for it, it should be listed there.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:38 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
In witch way did you ''spoil it'' may I ask?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:53 am

Posts
428
Take out the old video card and plug the monitor into the VGA/DVI plug on the motherboard. Turn it on. If you didn't have to change anything for the 6200 to be recognized, it's doubtful you'll have to do anything to get the integrated GPU to be recognized.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 9:24 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 19, 2008 7:23 pm

Posts
163

Location
India
well i think ive broken output plug wires
and i had to make some changes in the bios settings to get the graphic card to work
well the only problem is that i dont really know the model of the motherboard(its a old pc i didnt really care about all this when i bought it) that is the only reason i posted here to find out if there was another way to reset the bios settings anyway ill try to find the jumper


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 12:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
930
During POST, your motherboard will clue you into its model and its BIOS version, SOMEWHERE on the screen (you may have to disable OEM logos)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:06 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
You don't need to change any settings. Just take out the video card and it should work. Those settings in the BIOS are simply which it should try to use first, the onboard or the AGP/PCI/PCI-Express. If you have it set to anything other than the onboard graphics, if it can't find any other graphics card, it proceeds to use the onboard graphics.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:25 am 
Reply with quote
You shouldn't have to change anything, I'm pretty sure most motherboards will revert to the on-board graphics if no discrete graphics card is detected.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:56 am 
Reply with quote
Just take out your broke graphics card.
If the motherboard even wont show any picture, then just take out the mainboard battery for about 5-10 minutes.
Put it back in and have fun with your onboard chip :)


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:41 am 
Reply with quote
Just take out dead card . PC will boot from onboard video.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:52 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 19, 2008 7:23 pm

Posts
163

Location
India
thanx problem solved borrowed my friends graphic card got the display working and changed the settings to normal


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
I hate having to hold back all the time, it's really frustrating, but if we're doing a noob crackdown, I call out these posts:

Quote:
You shouldn't have to change anything, I'm pretty sure most motherboards will revert to the on-board graphics if no discrete graphics card is detected.


Quote:
Just take out dead card . PC will boot from onboard video.


Quote:
Just take out your broke graphics card.
If the motherboard even wont show any picture, then just take out the mainboard battery for about 5-10 minutes.
Put it back in and have fun with your onboard chip


If they had simply read the other posts they'd know that all of that had already been said more than once.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS