BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 5d, 4h, 45m | CPU: 66% | MEM: 5964MB of 11941MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

How big is your download cap
0-1Gb 16%  16%  [ 7 ]
1-5Gb 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
5-10Gb 2%  2%  [ 1 ]
10-20Gb 11%  11%  [ 5 ]
20+ 70%  70%  [ 31 ]
Total votes : 44
Author Message
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:05 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:14 am

Posts
210

Location
Care-a-Lot
I accidentally selected 0-1 Gbps, but I believe it's unlimited for me too, I use Verizon DSL, the only for me is that my highest with Internet Download Manager is around 390 Kbps

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:34 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
595
My upcoming 3000/500 has 30GB/month cap, reduced speed (whew, they no longer bill by extra megabyte!). No peak-like caps. My current dial-up has no cap of course.

Had to be 6000/500/60GB, but I'm broke...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 11:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Not capped

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 12:43 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
What really pises me off is that some isps say that there service is ''unlimited'', but they say about a ''fair usage policy''. I watched a TV show last night, and they happened to be doing a campaign about all of this, and they interviewed a representetive at o2, and the person said something about imagine it beign like going to a restraunt and they say about an ''all you can eat'' offer. If somebody else had already eaten everything they could before you, and there was barely anything left, you would be complaining to the restraunt staff. So its the same with your internet service, you use it excessively, and other people are just want to do simple things like emailing, going on forums and just generally browsing the web, even that will be extremely slow.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 7:32 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
Unlimited, untrottled

Scandinavian internet supremacy 8)

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 2:15 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:13 am

Posts
229

Favourite OS
Windows 7 SP1
Verizon DSL. 768kbp/s (a little slow, but fine for me). No cap. I use about 20-40GB of bandwidth a month, depending how much crap I download that particular month.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 3:57 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:04 pm

Posts
2797

Favourite OS
Anything checked :P
No cap, afaik. I love the UK....

_________________
C H E C K E D . B U I L D S . A R E . A W E S O M E N E S S

Glitch City Laboratories ForumsSoftHistory Forumsirc.rol.im #softhistory,#galaxy

If you like my posts, donate me Dogecoin: DLnZV8DS3CaZmLKAVxL2aMijY2vUZeyjBi


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:50 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:18 am

Posts
51
My mobile broadband is rumored to cap at 5gb, but that's not really an issue as I don't exactly download torrents on my smartphone.

For desktop, I'm not capped as far as I know, but my ISP shuts off high bandwidth users under suspicion of piracy. You also have to call ahead to tell them the MAC address of any non-Windows device (including things like PlayStations or XBoxes) if you want their internet service to work for you...they have a Windows-only login scheme that don't play nicely with routers.

I'll be glad when I've moved into an apartment complex where I can choose my own ISP. I'll have to pay more for it, obviously, but at least it will my my own connection, rather than a nanny-cam via ethernet cable.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 5:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2365
Comcast here, finally they've let the public know what they're monthly bandwidth cap is. We've gone over twice, still I had no idea how much it was because we just received a letter in the mail telling us we'd used more than 100x the national average.

250GB is tough to break.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:02 am 
Reply with quote
I have limits per hour periods. 3GB 16:00-21:00. 6GB 10:00-16:00. Unlimited the rest.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:23 am 
Reply with quote
No cap, I download around 1600 kbps and it's pretty decent. My line speed is 16mbps.
Virgin media is good, but Be is better.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:23 am 
Reply with quote
Officially, there's no cap for my service, but I've heard the ISP sends out letters around 80GBs. This month I've used a bit over 100 and so far I haven't gotten anything from them.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:10 am 
Reply with quote
Unlimited


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:35 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:40 pm

Posts
10
mine is unlimeted too. But about a few months ago, i downloaded 600GB in a month and I got a call if I REALLY REALLY REALLY wanted to upgrade becuz i was using so much bandwith xD


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 12:41 am 
Reply with quote
Unlimeted as its collage and piggybacked :D


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 2:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am

Posts
750

Location
Guelph, ON, Canada
I think my monthly download cap is like 10 GB


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 2:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Unlimited. IMO all the connections in holland are. Love it :D


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:06 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:42 am

Posts
72

Favourite OS
Haiku OS
I've got unlimited as well, but they start to nag you after 400 or 500gb a month. :)

Using Netcabo (Portugal) 18mbps\1mbps.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:59 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
595
Got more info about my cap. It just reduces me to 512kbps if I exceed 30GB.

For a detailed view, look at the plans:
Download-Upload-MaxGB
1000-?-10
3000-512-30
6000-512-60
12000-?-90


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 5:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:52 am

Posts
890

Location
United States

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2008 Standard
QuiescentWonder wrote:
Comcast here, finally they've let the public know what they're monthly bandwidth cap is. We've gone over twice, still I had no idea how much it was because we just received a letter in the mail telling us we'd used more than 100x the national average.

250GB is tough to break.

I read about the Comcast cap limit too, too bad they don't let you find out how much you downloaded.

Anyway, my ISP allows unlimited, but I have a 1384 kbps download connection so it wouldn't have mattered


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 5:35 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
Make that 80GB now, TPG brought out some new plans...had to "upgrade" even though it was the same price, in that same time of upgrading, they accidently somehow managed to put me onto a Business Plan, freaken glad that trouble is over now.

35GB Onpeak, 45GB Offpeak. Better then the 25GB/25GB I was on before at the same price.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 5:56 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Posts
303
Thlump wrote:
QuiescentWonder wrote:
Comcast here, finally they've let the public know what they're monthly bandwidth cap is. We've gone over twice, still I had no idea how much it was because we just received a letter in the mail telling us we'd used more than 100x the national average.

250GB is tough to break.

I read about the Comcast cap limit too, too bad they don't let you find out how much you downloaded.

Anyway, my ISP allows unlimited, but I have a 1384 kbps download connection so it wouldn't have mattered

Yeah Comcast doesn't tell you how much bandwidth you have used. However since I'm running a router with DD-WRT on it (a custom firmware) I have a meter telling me how much I've used.

I used 24.8GB Down and 1.5GB Up. Which averages out to about 800MB per day down, and 52MB up.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 2:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Unlimited. DD-WRT says that I've used almost 50GB last month.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:22 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Alexsis wrote:
Make that 80GB now, TPG brought out some new plans...had to "upgrade" even though it was the same price, in that same time of upgrading, they accidently somehow managed to put me onto a Business Plan, freaken glad that trouble is over now.

35GB Onpeak, 45GB Offpeak. Better then the 25GB/25GB I was on before at the same price.


Hmm, dissapointed theres no 500GB ADSL2+ plan as promised ($79.99/mth.) Who cares, for $5 less a month I can get 2.5x the downloads and unlimited uploads. I think I know who I'm switching to when we move. :evil:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:41 pm 
Reply with quote
My download cap is unlimited


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS