BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 0d, 13h, 38m | CPU: 49% | MEM: 1932MB of 2985MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Laptop server        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
I'm bored, downloading crap in uTorrent plus I've got a spare laptop, thus came the idea of a laptop server. After searching here on BA, someones done it before.

I'm just wanting to know how I can keep the heat down preferably by passive cooling and maybe a very very rough estimate of its power usage (yeah I should buy a kilowatt meter but I just spent the majority of my spare cash on getting my licence.)

Will consider other suggestions (such as omg installing linux)

P3 1Ghz (700Mhz speedstep), 256MB SDRAM, 40GB IDE.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:48 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Laptops generally use less than 60watts at full power, normally 25watts or less. Its pennies to run so I wouldn't worry about it.

If the laptop is decent, it won't need additional cooling. Some people seem to think laptops can't run 24/7. Twoddle. It can run 24/7 like any other computer can.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
this laptop is notorious for warming up ><
think it's due to not having enough RAM - always hot in that area
Might remove some of the bottom panels for ventilation


edit - its an IBM Thinkpad r30


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:56 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
happy dude wrote:
this laptop is notorious for warming up ><
think it's due to not having enough RAM - always hot in that area
Might remove some of the bottom panels for ventilation


edit - its an IBM Thinkpad r30


Laptops get hot by nature, unless it overheats and crashes, don't worry about it. Just put it on a desk with plenty of ventilation and leave it be. When it becomes a problem, then do something about it.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:59 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
As you live in Australia, theres two thing's you need to consider:
1.Its summer soon, meaning you could be looking at 40+ day's with hot winds
2.You live in Australia man, you may not be stuck with bigpuddle, but I'm betting you don't have that "world class broadband" Kevin promised us...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:03 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
jabster wrote:
As you live in Australia, theres two thing's you need to consider:
1.Its summer soon, meaning you could be looking at 40+ day's with hot winds
2.You live in Australia man, you may not be stuck with bigpuddle, but I'm betting you don't have that "world class broadband" Kevin promised us...


Regardless of ambient temperature it should still be able to keep cool enough to run.

And he has 24Mbps/1Mbps broadband ;) Its capped, but then who isn't in Australia...

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Andy wrote:
jabster wrote:
As you live in Australia, theres two thing's you need to consider:
1.Its summer soon, meaning you could be looking at 40+ day's with hot winds
2.You live in Australia man, you may not be stuck with bigpuddle, but I'm betting you don't have that "world class broadband" Kevin promised us...


Regardless of ambient temperature it should still be able to keep cool enough to run.

And he has 24Mbps/1Mbps broadband ;) Its capped, but then who isn't in Australia...


1. no word of a lie, if I can run a desktop in 48c heat I can run a laptop
2. yes 24/1mbps, capped 20gb, but I have free data...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:07 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Andy wrote:
Its capped, but then who isn't in Australia...

Kevin Rudd


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:10 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
jabster wrote:
Andy wrote:
Its capped, but then who isn't in Australia...

Kevin Rudd


Congratulations sir, that was the 8000th post in Computer Discussion.

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
If I run my laptop for ages and ages without a cooling device under it, it gets so warm, it almost feels like the equivalent of my radiator, the air vents make the sound of a car engine, and the laptop does a series of beeps. When I shutdown the laptop, the battery is often still red hot even if the rest of it has cooled down.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:15 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
My laptop has run for a period of 4 days once where it was never turned off. It was perfectly fine, it was cool and didn't overheat. Even my crappy old laptop which used to overheat when running intense games doesn't overheat anymore when used for days.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Andy wrote:
My laptop has run for a period of 4 days once where it was never turned off. It was perfectly fine, it was cool and didn't overheat. Even my crappy old laptop which used to overheat when running intense games doesn't overheat anymore when used for days.

Aah, those cool england day's, how I long to return to the mother country.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12408

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
jabster wrote:
Andy wrote:
My laptop has run for a period of 4 days once where it was never turned off. It was perfectly fine, it was cool and didn't overheat. Even my crappy old laptop which used to overheat when running intense games doesn't overheat anymore when used for days.

Aah, those cool england day's, how I long to return to the mother country.


Believe me the cold days now are nothing to look forward to, even if it does help keep the servers cool 8-)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:45 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
When a laptop is overheating, which component exactly is it that beeps to warn you that it is over heating?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:06 pm 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
I have a 500mhz P3 i might rack for lulz as it's really not good for much anymore and I have a better laptop for personal usage, and yeah power will cost about the same as a cup of coffee (it averages .3 amps what i hear, I don't have a kill a watt so I can't test). We came to the theroy atleast in a rack if you place it LCD down (lying on the LCD) it will stay cool enough, but then again a 500mhz P3 won't heat up that much anyway.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:17 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
I just retired my PIII 700Mhz Laptop today, but I can tell you, I used to have heat issues with it quite often until I noticed that the heat sink plate bolted onto the PIII CPU was off kilter just a fraction of mm, the moment I bolted it down really hard and snug, the temp started dropping off from 40C idle to 26C Idle, and at full pelt, 45C.

It took me months to relise it was the heatsink plate that was just a fraction off, and by that, less then mm, it was only until I pressed it down a little I noticed the temp drop way back.

Never know, your problem might be just something simple.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
I read the title and it made me think of installing windows server 2008 on my laptop the other day.
Well, this yopic has nothing to do with it, but laptops could become servers.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:43 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
I've previously had Server 2003 installed on this laptop but not actually doing any server stuff.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:56 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:14 am

Posts
210

Location
Care-a-Lot
I want to install WHS on my Inspiron 6000, but my Hard DIsk is too small

I have 55 Gigs and it needs 70 Gigs, I currently have it emulated on VMWare, but I want to do the real deal, too bad there is no way to edit it to bypass the Hard Disk Check and no I don't have any money to upgrade my drive

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:27 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
LotsaHeart wrote:
I want to install WHS on my Inspiron 6000, but my Hard DIsk is too small

I have 55 Gigs and it needs 70 Gigs, I currently have it emulated on VMWare, but I want to do the real deal, too bad there is no way to edit it to bypass the Hard Disk Check and no I don't have any money to upgrade my drive

That will wipe my hdd clean, therefore I will not install WHS on my laptop.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS