BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 8d, 17h, 48m | CPU: 5% | MEM: 2217MB of 3581MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows NT 5.0 build 1585: 2 problems        Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:41 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 am

Posts
79
Is there a way to install a fresh copy and does it have a timebomb? Problem 1: I try installing it and it gives me the BSOD. Problem 2: I want to keep unlimited time like Windows NT 4.0.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:52 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:52 am

Posts
890

Location
United States

Favourite OS
Windows Server 2008 Standard
1. Start the setup by going in DOS. To do that type the following

Code:
D:\
cd I386
winnt

And don't forget to turn off ASCII boot or else it you'll get another BSOD. Also the setup may fail and you'll need to use another build.

2. Use NTTweak?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 4:01 am 
Reply with quote
Doesn't anyone use the bootdisks in the "BOOTDISK" folders on the ISO these days,
It'll install 1st go if you use them, as is the case with all the early NT5 betas...
& tweaknt won't work with this build, it'll most likely destroy it...

EDIT: It took all of 30 seconds to patch & upload a setupreg for this build...
Download this patched setupreg & replace the one on the ISO with this one prior
to installing the OS, you wont have a timebomb then...


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:26 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 am

Posts
79
Thank you. But I still have a problem. I can't make the bootdisk on setup because it has to much it's to much space. Is there a way to fix this problem?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:16 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
I thought that even if you have a patched setupreg.hiv, you may still run into problems with the setup program because of the NT5.CAT file.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2404
It does not really check it squidward_. It only asks you to reset the date.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 2:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Dukenukem5 wrote:
Thank you. But I still have a problem. I can't make the bootdisk on setup because it has to much it's to much space. Is there a way to fix this problem?

Not sure what you mean when you say - "because it has to much it's to much space"
Does your ISO not have a bootdisk folder on it with the bootdisks..?


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 8:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 am

Posts
79
Sorry. This is what i meant
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:28 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2404
1. Do you have that file in the ISO?
2. Do you have enough free memory in DOS?
3. Redownload ISO to make sure that it's not corrupted.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 10:00 am 
Reply with quote
I think I know what he means now, he can't make a bootdisk from the winnt /b command
because the files don't fit the floppy disks, 1585 was mostly un-compressed in the I386
folder as it turns out...

Still, you should be able to boot it from the bootdisks in the BOOTDISK folder, unless his
ISO is a minimum I386 & tag files ISO, as seems to be the case a lot of times, because
misers are too stingy to take the extra effort in upping the whole ISO, in an effort at
cutting down on either bandwidth, or time...

If that's the case, let me know & I'll rip the bootdisk folder from the ISO I have &
post a link of it here...


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 12:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
The one here is without bootdisk.

Most of those .iso are even not bootable.
+ It only contains the I386 folder and 1 other file in the root.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 12:45 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 am

Posts
79
I can't find the bootdisk folder anywhere. :( Does anyone know where it is or can someone put a link of it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:05 am 
Reply with quote
Here's the download of the bootdisk folder
I'd appreciate it that if anyone hosted these bootdisks, that they left
the readme.txt in the folder...
Thanks..!


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:32 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 am

Posts
79
Thanks everybody. After I got the patched setup.hiv on the iso and on one of the disks, still got this.
Image
Are you sure this can help my timebomb problems?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 1:47 pm 
Reply with quote
Dukenukem5 wrote:
Thanks everybody. After I got the patched setup.hiv on the iso and on one of the disks, still got this.
Are you sure this can help my timebomb problems?

Removing the timebomb will allow you to still run it for any length of time,
AFTER you have installed it, you still have to set the date back to around
the time it was compiled, then set it to whatever date you want when installed...
As is the case with 90% of alphas/betas that weren't publically released by MS
themselves...


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 9:54 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 am

Posts
79
KenOath wrote:
Dukenukem5 wrote:
Thanks everybody. After I got the patched setup.hiv on the iso and on one of the disks, still got this.
Are you sure this can help my timebomb problems?

Removing the timebomb will allow you to still run it for any length of time,
AFTER you have installed it, you still have to set the date back to around
the time it was compiled, then set it to whatever date you want when installed...
As is the case with 90% of alphas/betas that weren't publically released by MS
themselves...


What is the date you have to set to? :?


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS