BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 22d, 0h, 50m | CPU: 26% | MEM: 5461MB of 10769MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: WinXPe - Error c0000218        Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 9:54 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:11 am

Posts
168

Location
Brazil
Some time ago I tried to compile the WinXPe but had no success, today I decided to try again, but I'm getting the error c0000218

Image

I followed the following tutorial: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa460095.aspx
only changing the way we did the transfer of files, the. pmq file I saved in the HD and got the file opening the VHD with the WinImage. After compiling the XPe I saved in the WinPE disck and copied using robocopy.

Ty

_________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:52 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
1 advise.

Try this:

1) Create an VM (VMWare of VPC) and install XP Pro/sv2003, install all Embedded tools, server and creator and etc...

2) Then create an new VM, boot with an bootable PE cd (the ones downloaded from the Microsoft website aren't bootable, only thing you need to add is the XPE folder onto the PE bootdisk).

3) Then follow ALL steps, do not devide from it.

4) It should work, and the error you get suggests you got it wrong in the image compile, try to follow above steps and try again.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
I always thought that certain OSes don't like beign installed in VPC, especially the 2007 version?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:10 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
squidward_ wrote:
I always thought that certain OSes don't like beign installed in VPC, especially the 2007 version?


Well it works here.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2406
Quote:
I followed the following tutorial: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa460095.aspx
only changing the way we did the transfer of files, the. pmq file I saved in the HD and got the file opening the VHD with the WinImage. After compiling the XPe I saved in the WinPE disck and copied using robocopy.

Ty


Make a new project with the WinLogon Sample Macro Component, It has everything XPe needs to start.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:22 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:11 am

Posts
168

Location
Brazil
DjRob
Can I transfer files using the WinPE iso or only using NAT?

Windows OCManage
Image

_________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 12:40 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Robocopy does prepare the drive a bit.
So if you follow the guide from that site you can do it succesfully.

NAT is terms of VPC is that the VM has the SAME IP as your PC, so to be sure, both the target (VPC) and build machine should have different IP's.

If it really doesn't work I can make the example from the website and offer it as download for a limited time, (because its a trial).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:04 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:11 am

Posts
168

Location
Brazil
DjRob
I'm trying to make only to learn how ...

I know how the NAT works but i don't understand how to use it in WinPE

_________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
In some situations VPC has more trouble than its worth....

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:17 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Danielxv wrote:
DjRob
I'm trying to make only to learn how ...

I know how the NAT works but i don't understand how to use it in WinPE


Ok, i know who enjoyable it is to try it.

EDIT:
Its too much work and a bit of my target for my website.

Maybe later.


But for you problem, try to redownload the whole thing and try again.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:09 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
Wasn't VPC 2007 SP1 supposed to fix a few bugs that were in the original 2007 version, and if so, what were the bugs?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:48 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:11 am

Posts
168

Location
Brazil
Quote:
This update for Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 includes support for the following additional Host and Guest Operating Systems:

Additonal Guest Operating System support:
Windows Vista® Ultimate Edition with Service Pack 1 (SP1)
Windows Vista® Business Edition with Service Pack 1 (SP1)
Windows Vista® Enterprise Edition with Service Pack 1 (SP1)
Windows Server® 2008 Standard
Windows XP Professional with Service Pack 3


Additional Host Operating System support:
Windows Vista® Ultimate Edition with Service Pack 1 (SP1)
Windows Vista® Business Edition with Service Pack 1 (SP1)
Windows Vista® Enterprise Edition with Service Pack 1 (SP1)
Windows XP Professional with Service Pack 3


http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

_________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:00 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
Thanks, but doesn't the SP1 update fix any bugs or annoyances that could occur?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 7:59 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:11 am

Posts
168

Location
Brazil
In the release notes has nothing about bugs
http://download.microsoft.com/download/ ... lnotes.htm

_________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 10:50 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Danielxv,

have you checked if the file that the BSOD mentions is present in your image? It sounds as if it got corrupted or "lost" in the copy process, implying something went wrong when you built the image or copied the files. What I do is: Create the image including FAT32 support and then transfer the files to a VHD using WinImage. That was worked flawlessly so far.

And that error message you posted above complaining about Standard PC appears because your image includes both the Standard PC and the ACPI PC component. Remove Standard PC.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 11:41 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:11 am

Posts
168

Location
Brazil
Quote:
have you checked if the file that the BSOD mentions is present in your image? It sounds as if it got corrupted or "lost" in the copy process, implying something went wrong when you built the image or copied the files.

Yes. The MD5 is the same as the original file...

Quote:
What I do is: Create the image including FAT32 support and then transfer the files to a VHD using WinImage. That was worked flawlessly so far.

The Microsoft guide speech to format using NTFS, I will try FAT32.

Quote:
And that error message you posted above complaining about Standard PC appears because your image includes both the Standard PC and the ACPI PC component. Remove Standard PC.

But the Dependency Check always try to add the Standard PC when I put the WinLogon Sample Macro.

_________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 10:05 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:11 am

Posts
168

Location
Brazil
I tried again without changing anything and worked.

Thank you all.

_________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't.


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS