m1rkd1rk.co.uk comedy video site - issues/problems

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
m1rkd1rk

m1rkd1rk.co.uk comedy video site - issues/problems

Post by m1rkd1rk »

Hello all.

m1rkd1rk.co.uk will be my main project from now on.

It will be a video site with comedy clips from around the web and my own creations.

Now, I dont want to splash out on renting a server from a datacentre so its gonna be hosted on a machine in my bedroom.

Heres the setup:

SERVER
3ghz CPU
512mb RAM
Windows XP home
Abyss Web Server X1
Own dedicated internet connection (NTL 512kbps)
FileZilla FTP server
and a DNS server so I can run the domain name

MAIN COMPUTER
1.3GHZ
512mb RAM
Win XP Pro
Shared internet connection with other pc's in home.

I think this is a good setup, once my dad has built my new computer desk I will be up, up, and away!

512kbps may be slow but all the vids will be 1 time download.

What do you all think of this?

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

512Kbps NTL has a very slow upload speed, 64Kbps (8KB/s ish) I beleive. You won't have much luck with this. You're better off getting the 4Mbps package for slightly more and getting 400Kbps (48KB/s ish) upload. The upload is the most important part of the setup, especially when you're thinking of sending very large video files.

Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Post by Bender »

((Just testing somthing, ignore this post))
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

RentedMule
Donator
Posts: 937
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

XP Home?

Post by RentedMule »

Why in gods name would you use XP home for a server connected to the internet?

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: XP Home?

Post by Andy »

RentedMule wrote:Why in gods name would you use XP home for a server connected to the internet?
The same reason I use XP Pro, its stable and reliable.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: XP Home?

Post by ___ »

Andy wrote:
RentedMule wrote:Why in gods name would you use XP home for a server connected to the internet?
The same reason I use XP Pro, its stable and reliable.
for some reason that made me laugh

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: XP Home?

Post by Andy »

___ wrote:
Andy wrote:
RentedMule wrote:Why in gods name would you use XP home for a server connected to the internet?
The same reason I use XP Pro, its stable and reliable.
for some reason that made me laugh
Well Windows 2003 Server decided it liked to crash and BSOD all the time. So I got rid of it for XP which hasnt crashed once.

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Re: XP Home?

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Andy wrote:Well Windows 2003 Server decided it liked to crash and BSOD all the time. So I got rid of it for XP which hasnt crashed once.
All I can say is that you must have had some dodgy driver or something, as 2003 Server is built off XP and is said to be, if anything, more stable.
Image

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Re: XP Home?

Post by Jeff »

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Andy wrote:Well Windows 2003 Server decided it liked to crash and BSOD all the time. So I got rid of it for XP which hasnt crashed once.
All I can say is that you must have had some dodgy driver or something, as 2003 Server is built off XP and is said to be, if anything, more stable.
Aggreed... however if XP suits you... then I guess it's fine to run.
-Jeff

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: XP Home?

Post by ___ »

Andy wrote:
___ wrote:
Andy wrote:
RentedMule wrote:Why in gods name would you use XP home for a server connected to the internet?
The same reason I use XP Pro, its stable and reliable.
for some reason that made me laugh
Well Windows 2003 Server decided it liked to crash and BSOD all the time. So I got rid of it for XP which hasnt crashed once.
wasn't laughing cause you are using XP, just ummm nevermind. im just weird

m1rkd1rk

Post by m1rkd1rk »

lol

Post Reply