BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 30d, 5h, 8m | CPU: 37% | MEM: 5786MB of 10961MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Dual-boot vista with... vista?        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
So yeah I want to dual-boot Vista home basic with Vista home premium or ultimate on my laptop (same HDD)... but.... how?

:S

don't tell me to wipe and put only home premium on - I want to see if everything works before I go home premium blah blah blah only.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 2:05 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:18 pm

Posts
419
With no any problems. Install them on the different partitions.

_________________
Quod licet Jovi, non licet bovi


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 3:44 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 05, 2008 1:46 pm

Posts
682

Favourite OS
Windows Neptune & Longhorn
I don't think this is possible because they use the same installation bootfile. (like 95, 98 and ME).

Maybe it will work if you install them on both on an other partition, but i'm not sure.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 4:24 pm 
Reply with quote
It should absolutely work without any trouble.

Step 1 Install the first Vista copy on a partition.
Step 2 Install the other vista copy on the other partition
Step 3 Both should now appear in your vista boot menu.
Step 4 Thank JollyRogers.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 4:27 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Yes, you'll need to partition the hard drive though so if it only has one partition large enough for Vista then you will need to wipe out Home Basic anyway, unless you can find a reliable way of resizing partitions without formatting them.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 6:09 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm

Posts
197

Location
teen4m.net

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
If its any help, I blogged about dual-booting, here it is http://www.callumhaywood.com/blog/?p=93 but it describes XP and Vista.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 6:10 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
I believe the Vista installer has it's own partition resizing tool...

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:52 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
If its of any use I have 2x60GB partitions...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 12:13 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
That's fine then, just install the second Vista onto the partition that doesn't already have an OS on it. Start the installation from within the running copy to ensure that it uses the existing boatloader and adds an entry to there, though it should still work if you boot from the DVD. I still have an old copy of Vista Business on my PC from where I went over to Ultimate a while back and it all works fine like that (along with XP, 2008 and Leopard :)).

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 1:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
zeehonden_3 wrote:
I don't think this is possible because they use the same installation bootfile. (like 95, 98 and ME).

Maybe it will work if you install them on both on an other partition, but i'm not sure.

NT-based Windows versions are less stubborn than the 9x-based. The 9x-based only saw the need for one OS installed on a computer at a time. Therefore, if there was already a version of Windows on the computer, 9x would refuse to install unless you chose upgrade which is why Microsoft recommends that you install a version of 9x first before installing NT versions if your planing to dual-boot both kinds. However NT-based Windows seems to be a lot more dual-boot friendly.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS