BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 3d, 10h, 46m | CPU: 27% | MEM: 2343MB of 3707MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: PCem 386/286 rom?        Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:15 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
972

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Where can I get it from? I've been looking, but can't.

Would like to put OS/2 1.1 on it :).

Slightly unrelated: I emailed the fellow who wrote it, asking for fullscreen support and ability to ignore host keystrokes. Anyone agree?

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 9:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
http://www.geocities.com/tommowalker/pcem.html
Is this it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
972

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Yep, that's the right site, but it's not got the 286 rom on it.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 1:16 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
OK. I'll look for that.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 1:29 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:04 pm

Posts
2797

Favourite OS
Anything checked :P
http://sannata.ru/bios/286/amic206.1/

amazing what a little google search can do, isn't it ?

_________________
C H E C K E D . B U I L D S . A R E . A W E S O M E N E S S

Glitch City Laboratories ForumsSoftHistory Forumsirc.rol.im #softhistory,#galaxy

If you like my posts, donate me Dogecoin: DLnZV8DS3CaZmLKAVxL2aMijY2vUZeyjBi


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 3:27 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
972

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
There's no processor ROM, only the BIOS.

EDIT: and it won't let me save any changes in the BIOS setup program. No, the file isn't read only.
EDIT2: BIOS will write. Still won't boot.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 7:06 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7217
PCEm doesn't use any "processor ROM:s" at all (no emulator uses such ROM:s since processors doesn't even have any ROM data except for the microcode newer CPU:s uses). The 8088-286 emulation is coded into the emulator directly. The BIOS roms are only there to properly "emulate" certain machine types and video hardware. What you need is the proper BIOS ROM to "activate" the 286 machine emulation.

The Distractor posted a ROM that enables 286 emulation.

And FYI, OS/2 2.x doesn't work with PCEm anyway.

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: Online :: Offline
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 8:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:33 pm

Posts
3899

Location
Where do you want to go today?

Favourite OS
All Microsoft operating systems!
mrpijey wrote:
PCEm doesn't use any "processor ROM:s" at all (no emulator uses such ROM:s since processors doesn't even have any ROM data except for the microcode newer CPU:s uses). The 8088-286 emulation is coded into the emulator directly. The BIOS roms are only there to properly "emulate" certain machine types and video hardware. What you need is the proper BIOS ROM to "activate" the 286 machine emulation.

The Distractor posted a ROM that enables 286 emulation.

And FYI, OS/2 2.x doesn't work with PCEm anyway.
marktuson said OS/2 1.1, not OS/2 2.x. OS/2 1.x and 2.x are two very different Operating Systems. Infact, OS/2 1.x is probably closer to Windows NT 3.x than it is to OS/2 2.x (After all, OS/2 1.x and Windows NT 3.x are the same Operating System, or at least they're very similar).


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 10:52 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7217
Yes, sorry, misread that. But the fact remains even for 1.x, it won't work with PCEm. When you try to launch it the emulator just quits without any errors.

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: Online :: Offline
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 3:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
972

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Is there anything that I can run OS/2 1.10 on?

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 4:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Virtual PC 2007 or 2004 has OS/2 support. It should work there.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 5:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7217
Those old versions won't work. I've tried them in several emulators and I can't get them to run properly in any. I only tested them on a real machine to verify that the floppy images weren't damaged (which could have caused the VM crashes).

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: Online :: Offline
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 7:41 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
972

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
In that case, I'll put the OS/2 1.10 onto my ThinkPad 340 (got to love monochrome VGA) :) .

About those Windows versions (dr5 and alpha), has anyone got them working on real hardware? None of the three (including beta) would work on it when I tried - will I have to try and find a proper XT/clone?

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 7:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
You need to have an IBM AT/XT machine. mrpijey got them working on such a computer...

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7217
Yeah, I got them all running on both my XT (IBM XT with i8088) and also on an AT (with i80286) laptop - both equipped with a CGA/EGA video adapter. It can be a bit tricky to get them running since the releases were designed to run on more or less only TWO PC models, both which were a wee bit different in hardware. Back then PC:s were all different... you had IBM and their (not so always) compatibles, dirty hack'n'slash copy Compaq machines, Tandy and other brands - each with some subtle hardware differences that made you pull your hair out on a bad day.

And I guess you need this old hardware for any old OS, since they all were designed for a specific machine in mind, regardless if you want to run CP/M, DOS 2.0, OS/2 1.0 or old UNIX versions. Today you just pop in a CPU, some RAM, a harddrive and a videocard and call it a PC that will run everything your neighbors PC will run. Back then it was a whole different story. :P

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: Online :: Offline
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:18 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:58 pm

Posts
274

Location
The Bermuda Triangle

Favourite OS
WFW 3.11/Win 98SE
how about bochs? i can almost get os/2 2 from the BA server working, but the setup stalls due to a damaged floppy file...

sidenote: reupload anyone

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:21 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
972

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Oh, I've another question. When I run it in 5150 mode it freezes, doesn't boot up, I just get a flashing cursor. Is there something I'm supposed to do here, like press a key or something?

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS