BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 0d, 8h, 12m | CPU: 32% | MEM: 2301MB of 3537MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Installed my First Internal Hard Drive :)        Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:56 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:14 am

Posts
210

Location
Care-a-Lot
OK: "Please" Don't laugh at me for this, I know most of you guys already did this many times

Here is the story:

My External Hard Drive was starting to act up and I was thinking, I thought it was a power failure or malfunction, so I took the screws out of the drive and then I saw some parts that we're looking messed up, so I gave up on the drive and I then I thought to myself "I wonder if I can unscrew the drive out of it's placement and use it in one of my towers?" so I did and I then I took the tower I can easily take the cover off of and then I unscrewed the main box for where the Hard Drive and Floppy Drive resided and then unscrewed the rest of the screws holding the Hard Drive into place, took both plugs off of the hard drive and replaced it with the one that was included in my external drive and put everything back together, then finally I tested it with a Hard Disk Install Utility from Samsung to see if it worked and it pretty much, it was recognized :)

so now, here are the stats on which they will grow soon enough

Hard Drive Space: 80 Gigs (Was 20 Gigs)
RAM: 64 MB (Will Upgrade as soon as I get the right RAM, aiming for 512 MB)
Other Drives: Floppy Drive and CD-ROM Drive/Burner

The Project will live on :)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:09 am

Posts
368

Location
Sweden
Hehe, grats. I remember doing my first hardware installation back in the day. Was around the time cdrom drives started appearing and naturally I had to have one. The installation itself was fairly straightforward, only roadblock I encountered was the need for an ISA controller card for the drive.

Hopefully it's the first of many hardware installations you do, one day you might even start hacking up hardware of your own. :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
This is the first step of many to come.

But 1 advice, if there's an manual (mostly its in 20~25 languages, so the english or your language is shorts) please read it, it can contain simple instructions, but overtime you dont need it anymore, but stil comes in handy.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:32 pm

Posts
235

Location
New York

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Build 7600
Lol i remember when i first did mine. My grandpa yelled at me cuz he thought i was gonna static shock his computer. So i still do it without grounding myself. But i know thats bad and you shouldn't fallow my bad example lol.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:26 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:14 am

Posts
210

Location
Care-a-Lot
DjRob wrote:
This is the first step of many to come.

But 1 advice, if there's an manual (mostly its in 20~25 languages, so the english or your language is shorts) please read it, it can contain simple instructions, but overtime you dont need it anymore, but stil comes in handy.


Thanks for that, but these are used Hard Drives (One was stored in the external casing and the other was in the main tower I put the external one in) and they both didn't come with manuals

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:40 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Yeah, because an external uses an case for the drive and its actually not for mounting inside a machine.

thats why it doesnt come with an manual about mounting.

but a small manual about how to plug it in the pc.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
There's not usually any manual etc with a hard drive anyway as most are OEM (ie just the drive, no instructions/screws/packaging), and if you do find any retail ones it's cheaper to get the OEM anyway.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:52 am

Posts
538

Favourite OS
xboxkrnld.15574
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
There's not usually any manual etc with a hard drive anyway as most are OEM (ie just the drive, no instructions/screws/packaging), and if you do find any retail ones it's cheaper to get the OEM anyway.


Heh, I remember that the first HDD I actually bought seperately (A 160GB one) was an OEM, I went back to the shop and asked where the manual was :oops: Then when they said it didn't come with one I had to ask my dad to install it into my computer... and thats when my first DVD-ROM fried...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 8:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am

Posts
1103

Location
Brisbane, Queensland

Favourite OS
OS/2 Wrp 3.0
I remember installing a hard disk long time ago.

The kids got to the machine before i did. It went something like this. It's 1992 vintage. The usual main-stream stuff, ye know 4 MB ram, DOS 5.0, Windows 3.0, 33 MHz, 40 MHz, lots-a-dollars.

    1. Turn Machine On
    2. "Press Delete to enter setup"
    3. Page 1 of bios: Hard Drive .....
    4. We don't have no hard drive .... - delete
    5. Save + Exit
    6. Continue booting.


You then have some sort of idea for what happened next. No auto detect, the vendor did something like tone down the 120MB hd to get the required 40 MB


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JackT13 and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS