BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 7d, 18h, 15m | CPU: 22% | MEM: 2038MB of 3535MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: USB External HD Help Needed        Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 8:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
I have a External HD that is FAT32. I have a ISO which I want to copy from my HD to the USB HD. The ISO is 4.33GB and it says that the file is to large for the file system. I know the FAT32 limit is 4GB but I really need to copy this file. If it helps I'm on Vista Ultimate.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 9:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
It's a limit of the filesystem, it's impossible - can't you reformat the drive as NTFS, why are you still using FAT32 on it? Unless you need to be able to use it with something like OS X that can't write to NTFS drives then there is no reason not to use NTFS.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
I have 70GBs of stuff on it but my internal HD is only 20GB! Isn't there anything that can convert it to NTFS without formatting it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:07 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
FAT32 has less issues with removable devices. Unplugging an NTFS formatted drive without actually going through the removable devices thing ends up causing problems more often than it does with FAT32. I actually lost everything on one of my flash drives because of it once. Other than that, as long as you go through the remove hardware thing in the system tray there aren't any other reasons not to move to NTFS. If you have tons of stuff on your drive and don't want to move it around, but still have lot's of free space you can use something like Acronis Disk Director to resize the partition on the external drive and make an NTFS partition in the empty space.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:12 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
500 GB drives are dirt cheap nowadays, why are you still using a 20 GB one as your main drive? :P

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
MugenFox wrote:
I have 70GBs of stuff on it but my internal HD is only 20GB! Isn't there anything that can convert it to NTFS without formatting it?


You posted that while I was writing my post. :P

Yes, there are utilities that let you convert from FAT32 to NTFS. At least there was in Windows 2000, I haven't even thought about it since then. Just Google it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:28 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
Alright. I'm Googling it right now. And the biggest HD for my Dell Latitude D500 is 200. I will buy one for Christmas.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
500 GB drives are dirt cheap nowadays, why are you still using a 20 GB one as your main drive? :P


Because he has no money?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 12:42 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
I DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It's now NTFS thanks to Partition Magic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Here's a pic
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 3:55 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
OH! Try to stay away from Partition Magic. It's not supported any more, hasn't been updated in YEARS and can ruin your partition. It's happened to me a couple of times and now I NEVER use it. Use Acronis Disk Director, it does all the same Partition Magic does and more, plus it's supported and updated.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:58 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
I'm pretty sure the command line tool "convert" works and I think it's standard in Vista.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Why doesnt anybody use the FORMAT at the command prompt or even right click on the drive and FORMAT... 8-)

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:37 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
OK I read about convert and I think I did something wrong when using it. Anyways, can Partition Magic really ruin my HD?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:07 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
MugenFox wrote:
OK I read about convert and I think I did something wrong when using it. Anyways, can Partition Magic really ruin my HD?


It can screw up your partitions, and you'll need file recovery software to get all your stuff back. There are bugs in Partition Magic. Chances are that you won't have any problems. If you've already used Partition Magic to convert it then you don't need to use the convert tool in Windows. It's done, now copy stuff to it.

Quote:
Why doesnt anybody use the FORMAT at the command prompt or even right click on the drive and FORMAT... Roll Eyes


He has stuff on the drive that he doesn't want to loose and has no where to put it while reformatting. So the obvious solution is to convert from FAT32 to NTFS, no need for a format or to back anything up that way.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
How could I reverse it back to FAT32 and then you guys can tell me how to use convert in Vista to do it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:38 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
If it works right now, and you've converted it with Partition Magic, it's fine. If it screwed up you would know. When Partition Magic screws up you can't get anything off or put anything onto the drive and have to repartition/format it. If it's working then you won't have any problems.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
It's been working normally for over 12 hours now. It will be 24hrs at 8PM Eastern Time USA. I really hope it doesn't screw up.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
If it worked, it worked. You might run scandisk just to make sure everything is in order.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: olssonalf and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS